We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move On” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Estates
Save
You added Manuel Antonio Estates to your Saves list
Manuel Antonio Estates, Quepos 12-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
free Canopy tours
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Augusta, GA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Move On”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place is a dump and way overpriced. We could not get rid of the bugs - there were even bugs in the beds. The mold is everywhere. We would have moved after the first night but the owner would not refund our money. So, don't pay cash. The maids do not speak or understand english. Therefore, we could not communicate. Next time we visit Costa Rica we will stay in a resort which will cost us less and where we will have a comfortable vacation. Multiply all the negative comments in the reviews by 100 and that will provide you with an accurate assessment of this property.

Room Tip: stay anywhere else but this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemire, Owner at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, I'm very sorry to read your comments,
Could you please let us know the dates of your visit and the villa you stayed?
Will be happy to review the your reservation and if appropriate credit you for your next visit in Costa Rica.
I may add that the maids been working for over 5 years and they may not speak English but they do understand the basic cleaning issue with the villa. And we also offer a concierge service that do speak English, German, Spanish and French it is to bad you couldn't communicate with her directly not sure why!
As the owner I do not recall having a discussion about a refund, please refresh my memories,
as you can read most clients that stay with us have a very good experience. and it is unfortunate that you would go on and write this after your stay with out mention any during your stay!
Look to heard back from you!

richard lemire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Loved living room and pool but those teeny weeny ants/spiders/bugs were way too much! Great master bedroom and view. Several safety issues and parking is not user friendly. Once mold and bugs removed would be totally awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything in one place!!! we had an amazing time in Manuel Antonio’s, We stay in two beautiful houses with all services, gorgeous private and secure houses. This magical place has the perfect location and offers one of the most incredible views, this house has a nice and private pool with incredible view, right in the middle of the jungle, so We had a super exciting and unique monkeys experience. Manuel Antonio's Suites is really close to Quepos and Manuel Antonio town, so is easy and practical to find restaurants, bars and many activities for everyone, day spa, canopy tour or national park tour. You do not have to be lucky for have one or two monkeys knocking at your door or swimming in your pool, fortunately our house has full equipped kitchen, so we could keep the beer cold and food safe from the monkeys.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our stay at Manuel Antonio Estates "Casa Peces" in Santa Ana, San Jose was wonderful! My friends and I went to Costa Rica for a guys weekend getaway and we stayed in this villa throughout the duration our visit (4 nights). This house is gorgeous and it's in a prime location close to everything you need (restaurants, bars, grocery shopping, etc). Dorit was superb from the point of our reservation booking to making sure we get settled into the house upon our arrival in San Jose. Fernando, the custodian made our stay very pleasant. He arranged for a maid that came to clean the house/swimming pool, did the laundry and prepared meals for us everyday. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and I would stay here again on my next visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had an amazing time in Manuel Antonio and the nice apartment with my family!
Close to quepos and Manuel Antonio, monkeys running on the roof, great swimmingpool... we would come back with no hesitation
thank you for everything!!!

Room Tip: the master room gets noise from the laundry (downstairs) which they run in the middle of the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just returned from a week in Costa Rica where we enjoyed our stay at Manuel Antonio Estates. We were a group of 10 (two families traveling with teenagers and young adults). Dorit was very helpful in the process of selecting our accommodations. Though we originally were booked in Villa Tanger, we learned the week before our travel that the home had been sold. I was disappointed to learn that we were being moved to Villa Manakin, but after speaking with Dorit she suggested we would be very happy there. The home was perfect for our crowd. The house actually has 8 bedrooms available for rent but we needed far less. The design allowed privacy for everyone yet the gathering areas were sufficient. The view of Quepos and the ocean was lovely. The pool was refreshing any time of day. We enjoyed the twice daily visits of the white face and spider monkeys and the sightings of other wildlife. The villa was like a great big tree house in the rainforest…it was fun! Our agenda was so packed that we didn’t discover the trails and roads on the property until the very last day. I wish we had spent a little more time exploring our own backyard. Some of those vistas were spectacular!

Other reviews I had read on Trip Advisor warned about such things as poor AC and lack of towels. The bedrooms were air conditioned quite well if needed, though we enjoyed the evening breezes much better. The maid service was acceptable and they were very accommodating. On our first day, Richard, the owner of the estate stopped by to greet us. He was friendly and offered some fun suggestions on things to do while in the area. Dorit was wonderful to work with. She helped me plan our excursions including mangrove tours, ziplining, white water rafting and an ATV rainforest trip. She also connected us with Desiree, a local chef who prepared one of our most special evenings during our stay. We also took the time to visit the Raindrop Spa on the property. The services were quite good…the atmosphere even better.

The estate is in a gated community with an easy walk into the little town of Quepos. We took advantage of many of the restaurants there. Sometimes we’d walk, but we also found the local taxi service to be easy and inexpensive even for a group of 10. It was always a pleasure returning to our villa in the evening to find George, the night watchman. Safety was never a concern for us, but it was especially comforting to know that he had been watching over our home while we were out having fun. To George, we were his family while staying at Manuel Antonio Estates :) Everyone there helped to make our vacation one of the most memorable yet!

Room Tip: Villa Manakin is great for groups needing 5-8 bedrooms. The main house has 3 bedrooms on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just returned from a week in Quepos/Manual Antonio and the Manual Antonio Estates were perfect. I have stayed there a few times about 5 years ago and to my surprise nothing had changed. The apartments are still beautiful with their own pool at the bottom of the steps. Even with the majority of them filled, it was quiet enough to keep all the windows open and still have privacy.

They are close enough to walk to Quepos for everything you need (groceries, buses, etc) and it was only 1000 colones ($2) to get a taxi home. The office was also extremely helpful in arranging tours, trips and transfers.

And one of the best parts is around 4:30 each day, we had a bunch of mono titis playing in the trees (and on the balcony). They are noisy little things when they bang on the roof, but talk about the National Geograpic in High Def, you cant believe they are so close. One even put it's hands and face on the window screen to see what we were doing inside. Too cool.

If you're not looking for a hotel scene, this is the perfect place for you and your family (or stay there alone in the studio apt)!!

Room Tip: can't go wrong with any of the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuel Antonio Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Estates

Address: Manuel Antonio Estates, Quepos 12-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas, homes and condos at Manuel Antonio Estates, offering rentals by the week for all group sizes & budgets! All villas offer private pool, blue Pacific Ocean views, proximity of the bustling fishing village of Quepos, spectacular famed beaches of Manuel Antonio nearby, monkeys, 180 species of birds, essence of luxury & pure tranquility. Peacefulness awaits in our lush tropical jungle w/world class Spa. Our accommodations suit every need and taste from cozy eco condos for 1-4 people to premier/deluxe homes for 18 of your closest amigos. Exciting Tours! Rainforest Canopy, Horseback, Mangrove Monkey, ATV Sportfishing, much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Estates Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.