We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Estates
Save
You added Manuel Antonio Estates to your Saves list
Manuel Antonio Estates, Quepos 12-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
free Canopy tours
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just returned from a week in Quepos/Manual Antonio and the Manual Antonio Estates were perfect. I have stayed there a few times about 5 years ago and to my surprise nothing had changed. The apartments are still beautiful with their own pool at the bottom of the steps. Even with the majority of them filled, it was quiet enough to keep all the windows open and still have privacy.

They are close enough to walk to Quepos for everything you need (groceries, buses, etc) and it was only 1000 colones ($2) to get a taxi home. The office was also extremely helpful in arranging tours, trips and transfers.

And one of the best parts is around 4:30 each day, we had a bunch of mono titis playing in the trees (and on the balcony). They are noisy little things when they bang on the roof, but talk about the National Geograpic in High Def, you cant believe they are so close. One even put it's hands and face on the window screen to see what we were doing inside. Too cool.

If you're not looking for a hotel scene, this is the perfect place for you and your family (or stay there alone in the studio apt)!!

Room Tip: can't go wrong with any of the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    31
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at MA Estates for 2 weeks this month with our 3 kids (12, 10 and 7) and really enjoyed our time there. We had no vehicle and could easily walk to town for anything we needed. There's a couple of close supermarkets within minutes of the entrance.
We LOVED the pool - especially in the afternoons when we could swim and watch the monkeys in the trees nearby. Many days they came onto the roof of the condos and even right onto the balconies. We saw one push over a rocking chair on the balcony and even try the door handle! (You may want to keep your balcony door closed if you're swimming in case they get really brave and enter into the condo).
Dorit at at the front desk is wonderful. She was really helpful and knowledgeable. She helped us arrange two tours (Rainmaker Jungle Hike and Mangrove Tour). We would highly recommend BOTH tours.
Things to know about:
1. the hill going up to the condos is STEEP and you'll be sweating by the time you get to the top - it definitely burns off the sweets you should try out at Musmanni Bakery in town.
2. The air conditioning is only in ONE bedroom, not the whole condo.
3. The kitchen supplies are minimum. There was one pot and one saucepan in our condo. There were no baking dishes for the oven but we did get one brought over when we asked for one. We had to eat cereal and oatmeal out of a cup because there were not enough bowls.
4. There are tiny ants that get into everything that's left out on the counter. You'll want to use zip-lock bags or tightly sealed containers to store any food items not in the fridge.

Room Tip: If you don't want more stairs besides the big steep hill, choose a bottom floor room. View is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in Villa Jacana in 2012.

Pros:
- Dorit (in the main office) was VERY helpful and nice
- Requests were followed-up on
- Good Excursion recommendations
- Affordable
- Could accomodate a large group
- Didn't have to book for a full week
- Relatively near a bus stop (and the bus is inexpensive and reliable)
- Private pool
- Safe

Cons:
- MAE's pictures made it look nicer than it was (we were extremely disappointed with the house upon arrival, poor construction that has been through lots of wear and tear)
- Air conditioning only in bedrooms (made common areas of the house unbearable)
- We did not rent a car and Villa Jacana is up a very steep long hill
- The "short walk" into town was at least 15 - 20 minutes and was through unpleasant areas
(We also found that being near the town of Quepos did not have any advantage, we wished we were much closer to Manuel Antonio park area.)

Notes:
- They do not provide towels for the pool or beach. Only bath towels that they instruct you from using otherwise.
- Grocery stores were small and expensive. Cooking for ourselves was a bigger inconvenience than anticipated.

In the end we were very disappointed and would not recommend MAE (with the exception of the great service from Dorit). If we return to Quepos/Manuel Antonio we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelAntonioEstates, Front Office Manager at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Luv2Travel6,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your constructive feedback. We appreciate you pointing out the pros and contras you perceived during your stay and we assure you to always do our best and work hard on improving every single point.
Since you stay with us we have already fixed most of the things mentioned, and we do have A/C in all bedrooms, just as advertised.
We find it unfortunate we did not get your feedback while you were here, which would have given us the chance to fix things right away and make your stay most pleasant.
We would furthermore like to offer you a complementary stay during your next visit to Costa Rica and convince you that Manuel Antonio Estates is an excellent options for families and large groups!

All the best,

Dorit Wendrock
Manuel Antonio Estates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I just spent a wonderful vacation with the kids and grandkids at Manuel Antonio Estates near Quepos, Costa Rica. We had booked a 5 bedroom home and were upgraded at no additional cost to a 7 bedroom estate at the top of the hill overlooking Quepos and the bay. The house was elegant, clean, well maintained, and very convenient to Quepos, the national park, and the beaches. This was our fourth "grandkids" summer trip and the best by far. The kids especially enjoyed the pool built into the deck. We saw monkeys in the trees next to the house, as well as many birds including Toucans. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We rented this property for one of my tour groups as an upgrade. Usually we don't stay in luxury but if you divide the price between 14 persons it comes even less than a hotel but gives you much more!
I prefer this type of accommodation instead of boring big hotel chains. You are close to everything yet separated on a small hill (which can be frustrating to climb in a heat if you are without a car or taxi). Its not the most modern, highest luxury, but a very comfortable, affordable place for up to 14 persons. The rooms have with private bath and AC plus there is a little pool and the really big sun deck where we all fit during the night barbecue. The living area could need an A/C but apart from this you have everything here!

Room Tip: the one with a tube in the main house over viewing the coast can be a good choice if you are with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelAntonioEstates, Front Office Manager at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi EncanTours,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us!
We very much appreciate your feedback and are glad you and your group enjoyed your stay at our ocean view villa.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Manuel Antonio Estates in the near future!

Pura Vida,

Dorit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the eco apartment #8 for 3 nights. The best thing was the feeling of being at home instead of a crowed hotel. We had privacy and there was only one other family that we saw in the apts. Which meant that we had the pool to ourselves all the time except for the little dude that lived at the pool. A large iguana which would come out during the day to sun himself on the pool side lounge chairs. It was great and you knew you were in Costa Rica. The apt was a nice size and the bedroom had AC which was perfect for the hot and humid nights. Yes, the whole apt does not have AC and it is hot but not too many places that you will travel to during the day have AC so it is better to adjust to the temp. You have AC at night to sleep in so it was fine for us. We also had a kitchen with some cooking supplies and so we went to the farmers market on Friday night in Quepos and bought some fresh food to cook up for breakfast the next morning. I would recommend the market on Friday nights and Sat mornings. We walked to the market and back. The walk is not far but the hill up to the apt is very steep so be prepared. It was our daily exercise. The guards at the gate our friendly and called us a cab a few times when we wanted to go out for dinner up the road in Manuel Antonio. We had no problem walking to Quepos but I would not recommend walking up the hill toward "tourist road" towards MA. The restaurants and bars on this road are much better to visit then anything in Quepos. Head to Byblos bar down this road by taxi which cost about 3 mil for drinks, watching sports on their TV, billiards and music. Friday nights was ladies night with free drinks. MA national park is at the end of the road and the estates apartments are at the start so taking a taxi is costly and it is not in walking distance. Take the local bus which the bus stop is down the hill toward Quepos a few blocks on the left side of the road. The bus is cheap maybe like 50 cents to the park and runs every half hour during the day. Dorit was the host at the office and was very helpful. She told us fun places to go and things to see and even gave us her personal cell phone if we had any problems because we checked in on Friday and the office was not open Sat afternoon and Sunday and we were leaving on Monday. I think it was a good value. The rooms are older but well maintained and if you have any issues just bring them up to the office staff. We would have loved to stay here longer! We did not use the spa so I'm not sure how that is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hola ifrom!

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments.
We enjoyed having you here and sharing the PURA VIDA with you!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and this time maybe for a longer stay!

Thanks again,

Dorit Wendrock
Manuel Antonio Estates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Fabulous place to stay for our 4 families. The night guard was awesome and brought us fresh Mangoes off of the trees. This place is awesome, beautiful and amazing!

Room Tip: There are 7 rooms. Main House has 3 rooms Master - Queen bed, jacuzzi tub. Cons are w/ curtains o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hola Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your nice comments!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Manuel Antonio Estates, as well as the monkey and iguana visits at the villa.
We hope to be able to welcome you and your family & friends again in the near future!

Pura Vida & Hasta Luegeo in Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Manuel Antonio Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Estates

Address: Manuel Antonio Estates, Quepos 12-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas, homes and condos at Manuel Antonio Estates, offering rentals by the week for all group sizes & budgets! All villas offer private pool, blue Pacific Ocean views, proximity of the bustling fishing village of Quepos, spectacular famed beaches of Manuel Antonio nearby, monkeys, 180 species of birds, essence of luxury & pure tranquility. Peacefulness awaits in our lush tropical jungle w/world class Spa. Our accommodations suit every need and taste from cozy eco condos for 1-4 people to premier/deluxe homes for 18 of your closest amigos. Exciting Tours! Rainforest Canopy, Horseback, Mangrove Monkey, ATV Sportfishing, much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Estates Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.