We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost pristine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Priss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Priss to your Saves list
Hotel Le Priss
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mtrs north from the catholic church, Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
London
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Almost pristine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The recent reviews of this hotel were not promising but it seemed fine to me. The room was clean and spacious and the hotel's site near the middle of Quepos was more convenient than some of the places strung out along the road to Manuel Antonio. I rather liked the sounds from a live band next door (their version of Santana's Oye Como Va!) and there was no disturbance from this in the room itself.

Room Tip: If the street noise disturbs you, ask for a room facing into the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
9
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I think I never slept in a harder bed.
There was black mold in the bathroom.
light bulbs were missing.
The tv remote some buttons worked and some not
we had to adjust the cable tv cable to be able to watch tv
The noise was unbelievable and the sad part is that the staff were making the noise
Just do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The room was clean but small, the bedlines were clean, the bed itself is too short. The bathroom is really very poor, no window, NO VENTILATION!!!, no hot water from the tap! The shower has a small electric heater in the shower knob(!), the bad isolated wires leading to the heater looks very dangerous! There is no ascensor in the building, you have to carry your luggage to the upper floors. The WIFI is available only in the near of the entrance, outside of your room. The yard is very cramped, full of parking cars, not enough space to move. The outside stairs are very slippery, the whole building seems to serve only for quick and cheap accomodation for as many tourists as possible. Tipp: do not book here- if you book in advance you pay 3 times more then if you just come in and take a room, this was my experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in March 2010 after a 'blind' booking on the internet, having read just the other reviews here on Tripadvisor. The reviews on t.adv. are all relevant and 'true' - of course every traveller has a subjective view of things and at different seasons, different situations and prices might be influencing factors for a review.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, (tried to pitch their tours to the various sites in the area - well okay) the rooms are pretty simple (for the seasonal price of $80/night!) but clean and the beds are comfortable, if you like a tougher style of mattress, not a lot of lighting in the room, but suffcient for a vacation stay (no desk to comfortably work on your laptop ...). The swimming pool on top of the hotel is neat for kids, but for swim fans too small. Very nice panoramic view however that invites to have a drink or two to relax. As this hotel does not serve anything at the pool you have to bring your own stuff!
The real issue at the hotel inside the city of Quepos is the city, the traffic noise level, the bad waste water drains (mostly open systems and it stinks at some areas like hell), an ugly city for the most part.
The hotel is directly at the main road coming from the Manuel Antonio Park and it's very noticable by the noise, specifically in the early morning hours.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amariejosee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I stayed here for a week! Well, I had booked it in advance and unfortunately I couldn't cancel. Yes there is a nice wading pool (gets to my knees) on the roof, and a "hot tub" which isn't hot, but don't be fooled. That's the only good thing about the hotel!

First they couldn't find my reservation, I had to use my cellphone (and roam!) and handle everything because the guy at the desk would not let me use his phone to contact easyclick (where I booked this hotel). Then I go in the room and there is one towel, and very thin sheets on the bed. My son was very disappointed, and so was I. After a few days I couldn't understand why I was always itchy everywhere, I used mosquito repellant but to no avail. There were no mosquitos that I could see. I can't be 100% sure, but I think there were bed bugs on my bed because I couldn't stay still once I laid down. I hope that wasn't the case...but let's just say I didn't want to take a chance and I washed everything once I got home.

Furthermore, we had no access to any phones, neither in the room or at the reception area...they probably thought I would call international (I asked them to borrow the phone twice, to make a local call and they said they had no phone, altough it rang few seconds before...lol).

Anyway, I didn't enjoy my time here, and I'm not one to complain. There are stores nearby, and the beach is not close at all. We took a bus to Manuel Antonio almost everyday to get to the beach, and it was about a 25 minute ride with all the stops.
For the price i thought i would be better, but I was wrong. You're better off waiting until you get there and go to a hostel, at least they have great prices for average accomodations. I saw many hostels on my bus ride to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunal89
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

This place is a dump. The parking is terrible and you have to do some tricky moves to get in and out. Hot water did not work after repeated attempts by the non-english speaking staff. The hotel did not have blankets, it just had sheets. Anyway, there are better places in better locations. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I took a trip with my girlfriend to Costa Rica to visit my family in San Jose for a couple of weeks. I asked if they knew of an affordable hotel by the beach that I could take my girlfriend for a long weekend. They highly recommended Le Priss, so I decided to book my room.
I was pleasantly surprised with how beautiful the hotel was! The rooms were super clean and comfortable. The best part of the hotel was there amazing rooftop pool, that overlooked the whole town. The people at the hotel took care of planning white water rafting and ATV tours for my girlfriend and I. These tours were the highlight of my trip, and I would not have known about them without the helpful people at the Le Priss. I strongly believe that you get the best bang for your buck at Le Priss.

If you find yourself in Costa Rica staying at Le Priss is a must!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Priss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priss

Address: 100 mtrs north from the catholic church, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Priss 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Priss hotel is located in Quepos only 7 km from Manuel Antonio Beaches in the Central Pacific coast area of Costa Rica. An excellent placement to be used as a hub base to visit the Quepos, Manuel Antonio main attractions. It is very close to main facilities, like restaurants, coffee shops, drug stores, supermarkets, post office, and hospital. Also we are 5 kilometers from the Quepos airport and 4 blocks from Quepos main bus station. The hotel has very reasonable rates. Also we are so near to the restaurants and other facilities that you can leave your car in our safe parking lot and take a walk to downtown stores. Enjoy our magnificent roof top swimming pool...While looking towards the mountains of Quepos and relaxing in a private environment! Come and enjoy with us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Priss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Priss Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Priss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.