We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Banyan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Banyan Inn to your Saves list
Blue Banyan Inn
2000 m NE Finca Azul | Finca Azul, Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Quepos B&B and Inns
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

While our family of 5 (stayed in 2 of their cabins) stayed in plush high end lodges throughout Costa Rica, this was our favorite. While we all enjoyed our rooms, the experience as a whole was outstanding. Yes, it is far off the beaten path (and main road) but that adds to the experience. We were away from the crowds and really felt like we were spending a true Costa Rica experience. While it took about 15 minutes to drive into town, much of which is on a rough road, we still enjoyed the trip and had no problems coming and going at night. The breakfast was excellent and the help and the owner were quite friendly and very helpful. The facilities were very tastefully decorated and up to date in great shape. Our kids did have trouble with the openness of the bathroom facility (separated from the bedroom by a stone wall), the rooms had a ton of room as well. The grounds were beautiful and the visit to the monkey sanctuary a real treat. We can easily see spending more time here on our next visit and using it as a home base.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jJFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The cottages were large and very tasteful. And as other reviews have mentioned, the owners are friendly and helpful. The breakfast excellent. The pool beautiful and the overall grounds make it a very special place. A visit to the monkeys is a must and we liked what they are trying to do here. I think the only downside is the road in and the drive to town -- it's about 4-5kim on a bumpy dirt road through the plantation. But if you want to "be away from it all" then that's perfect. We just found once we were there in the evening, we weren't inclined to get in the car and drive back to town....we had one night there on our own with no other guests and totally enjoyed the quiet and privacy. A special experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This inn was unique and gorgeous. Once a pig farm, the acres and acres of land are now beautiful and green with individual mini-cottage-like rooms on the grounds. The owner, Barb, was not only very friendly and kind, she was incredible with the monkeys. Yes, monkeys! There is a monkey refuge on the grounds and we got to see a variety of different types of monkeys and learn loads about them. Her brother Chip also came to the inn to visit (he owns a bunch of the hotels near the main town), and he was also friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about Quepos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ineffluence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Secluded location with well groomed grounds. BBI is just into in the jungle about 35 minutes from Manuel Antonio. Really beautiful property (landscaping, pool, and buildings). He room we stayed in was the 3rd floor.of the tower building and the website does not do it justice. It was very attractive inside and out and also clean and comfortable. Fist rate staff and and the owners and managers were friendly and engaging. We spoke with them for an hour at breakfast while we ate the best banana pancakes I've ever tasted.
We spent the weekend at the beach but the drive to and from the hotel was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comstock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Banyan Inn with our 2 year old son in January.

We promised to write a review on our return and have been very busy with the birth of our second child.

I have to say we had a wonderful time on our travels through Costa Rica (just hire a 4x4) the roads and driving conditions are fantastic and distances easily covered.

The Blue Banyan is serene and isolated in a palm plantation that is a 10/15 minute drive to Quepos.

The rooms are Nice, location tranquil, hosts fabulous, pool is amazing you won't want to go exploring but there is plenty to do in this area.

Costa Rica is an amazing location for small children and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogzkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Blue Banyan was an interesting place to stay, it wasn't like any of our other destinations in Costa Rica. It's both a place to stay and a place to learn and escape. First, Beth and Barb are great hostesses and make you feel right at home. There is even a pet parrot to greet you. The grounds are beautiful and they have a nice pool. The common areas are very nice and the cabins are nice and private. This place is off the beaten track, but still close to Manuel Antonio and local beaches. One of the coolest things about this place is that they also host a primate sanctuary, rescuing various breeds of monkeys from the illegal pet trade and other less-than appropriate situations for wild animals. These animals can't be re-released into the wild. We got to help feed the monkeys one morning, we didn't get to do that anywhere else. We also met the primatologist and interns helping to care for these noble creatures. Our family left with an experience beyond what any hotel offers. The breakfast was also a great way to start the day. Bannana pancakes...yum. If you are looking for something more meaningful than the Marriot, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_Stark_Zatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I spent a week at the Blue Banyan as a chaperone with a group of high school seniors that volunteered with Kids Saving the Rainforest (KSTR). We all had an amazing time. The Blue Banyan is gorgeous. It has luxury cottages, an excellent volunteer center and the grounds are a manicured tropical paradise with awsome views of the mountains. We were entertained by Tiki the resident Blue and Gold Macaw that loves interacting with people and will dance if you sing "living the vida loca". The dogs that run free on the property are sweet and made us feel like we were at a home away from home. Our group of volunteers learned a lot and had a great time feeding the rescued monkeys that are in the KSTR wildlife sanctuary next to the property, gathering fruit for the monkeys, transplanting crops, making souvenirs and ofcourse swimming in the beautiful pool after a day of working. Going on a trek into the virgin primary rainforest that is adjacent to the Blue Banyan is an extraordinary experience. At the Blue Banyan and/or in the adjacent rainforest and entance road we saw poison dart frogs, two types of snakes (if you are afraid of snakes, not to worry, we would not have seen them if not for the the special interest of some of the volunteers in looking for them and the help provided by the staff in finding them), toucans and wild titi monkeys. The toucans can be heard at the property every morning but you have to look for them. I finally saw them on our second to last day. The special thing about our week is that it was not a touristy vacation although we did go on a couple of excursions... you cannot take a group of teenagers to Costa Rica and not go ziplining. The volunteering experience made this trip something more which everyone in our group will remember always. Thank you Beth, Ezekiel, Barbara, Jim, Chip and Jennifer for making us feel like part of your Blue Banyan / KSTR family and allowing us the opportunity to have such a special experience. Pura vida, Aylin

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aylin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#5 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#3 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Ant...
#22 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Banyan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Banyan Inn

Address: 2000 m NE Finca Azul | Finca Azul, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by primary rainforest with mountain ranges looming in the distance, the Blue Banyan Inn is a charming bed and breakfast catering to the environmentally conscious. The Blue Banyan is part of Finca Braman’s 75-acre ecologically sustainable community, encompassing private homes, a wildlife sanctuary and a volunteer center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Banyan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Banyan Hotel Quepos
Blue Banyan Inn Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing