We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kristina Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Kristina Apartments
APDO 288 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Quepos
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“quiet paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was far and away my favorite hotel on our 10-day trip in Costa Rica. Huge apartment (much bigger than I'd expected) with everything in good condition, surrounded by rain forest that is nicer than the famous national park nearby. It is not in central Quepos (not a town you'd want to stay in) and not right next to that national park (which is a very touristy area), but right in between, down a small road with almost no traffic. This is perfect if you like slightly off-the-beaten path, romantic, and a feeling like you are not at a hotel but at a home away from home. Hammocs to relax in, a full kitchen, large balconies .... can't say enough good things about this place. There is a beautiful small infinity swimming pool surrounded by flowers and forest, which we had to ourselves each afternoon. The afternoon we arrived we saw monkies off in the trees. Kristina was also very sweet and showed us her plants, including a baby pineapple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Beautiful apartments in the jungle with nice clean deep swimming pool with Jacuzzi run by a nice Swedish lady.You can hike to stunning La Mancha Beach where we saw a family of Squirrel Monkeys. Stay here if you want to go to Manuel Antonio Park and get a taxi as Manuel Antonio village is an over developed sewer with horrible characters shouting at you in the street, not safe.
15 minutes walk to Quepos village which is authentic Tico where you can buy your supplies as Kristina's kitchens are fully equipped. If we had known it was like this we would have stayed a week. Paradise!

Room Tip: All apartments have jungle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in Apartment 2 for one week and were very pleased with the accommodations. It is not a luxurious property, but it is very comfortable. The apartment had a new A/C unit which resolved the noise issue that a previous commenter noted. I recommend this property if you have a rental car with 4wd; it is conveniently located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio but the road into the property is rough. The apartments are well appointed and the property is beautiful; the pool is pristine and the surrounding grounds are beautifully landscaped. The decks provide great views of the jungle and monkeys and sloths are easy to see. Because my husband and I were traveling on our own, we opted for Apartment 2 because it is smaller than the upper unit. We regretted not getting the top floor unit once we saw the views from upstairs; even though we wouldn't have needed the additional space, we would have appreciated the views. Our only disappointment with the property was that the hot tub wasn't hot - it was the same temperature as the pool. Also, take note that Kristina does not provide bathroom amenities such as bar soap or shampoo so you will need to take/buy your own. Also, we were pleased that there were laundry facilities, but again, you will need to get your own detergent (it's only $1 at the local store). Kristina does smoke on occasion and you get an occasional waft of smoke on the Apartment 2 deck, but it was not constant or irritating as it was maybe twice per day. Also, she has two dogs that do bark when someone comes to the property but for the most part they did not bother us - it seemed like a good security measure especially after dark.

Room Tip: Splash out a few more dollars for Apartment 1 upstairs, for gorgeous views of the ocean and jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Villa Kristina for four days and we loved it! The road to the Villa is a little bit bumpy and can be a challenge if it rains a lot, but our small jimny suzuki could manage. Once we arrived Kristina showed us around and the place is beautiful! It is a great place to stay of you want to visit the manuel Antonio national park. Due to the good location you can get to quepos and manuel antonio in 5 minutes. The place is really clean, good wifi, big television, nice swimming pool and great nature! The only downside was the noisy a/c, but we got used to it. We cooked everyday and enjoyed looking the monkeys swing from tree to tree. Kristina is really nice and helped us figuring out how to get to our next stop in La Fortuna. Don't miss this place if you want to visit manuel antonio!

P.S. If you visit the national park do take a guide! We saw so much more. It is 20 dollars per person, but well worth it for a 2 hour tour!

Room Tip: We were in apartment 2, but didn't have the ocean view (we didn't care). Ask Kristina what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is amazing - it was beautiful, quiet, relaxing. It was a place you could just go and do nothing but lay in one of the hammocks with an occasional dip in the pool. We stayed with our kids who loved the frogs, lizards, and iguanas. Kristina was a great hostess. Her dogs were not that yappy - our kids thought it was a great treat to pet them when we arrived (they were missing their dog). Our unit was great - very clean, bright, and the balcony is awesome. There is a full kitchen (pick up your groceries on your way up the hill). It's not far from downtown Quepos. A beautiful place - would love to disappear there for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great location for the price it’s secluded but yet a short drive to everything. We had a great time, Clean and Amazing surroundings, I enjoyed my coffee early on the terrace watching the monkeys swing back and forth from tree to tree, Kristina was available for questions on places to eat and shop in the town of Quepos, we also went for a hike on the trail close to the Villa and ended up in a very secluded beach with amazing cliffs and beautiful shore, the environment was very relaxing and beautiful! I give Kristina Villa EXELLENT recommendation

Room Tip: all the rooms at the Villa are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautiful flat with a terace, very well furnished, sense of details, beautiful view over the forest, very quiet and private location, swimming pool and jacuzzi surrounded by a forest, and Kristina will be helpfull, a perfect place, we wish we come back to spend more time there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Kristina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kristina Apartments

Also Known As:
Villa Kristina Apartments Hotel Quepos
Villa Kristina Apartments Hotel
Villa Kristina Apartments Costa Rica/Quepos
Address: APDO 288 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Kristina Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Kristina Apartments to your Saves list