We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kristina Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Kristina Apartments
Save
You added Villa Kristina Apartments to your Saves list
Apdo 109 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Beautiful apartments in the jungle with nice clean deep swimming pool with Jacuzzi run by a nice Swedish lady.You can hike to stunning La Mancha Beach where we saw a family of Squirrel Monkeys. Stay here if you want to go to Manuel Antonio Park and get a taxi as Manuel Antonio village is an over developed sewer with horrible characters shouting at you in the street, not safe.
15 minutes walk to Quepos village which is authentic Tico where you can buy your supplies as Kristina's kitchens are fully equipped. If we had known it was like this we would have stayed a week. Paradise!

Room Tip: All apartments have jungle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in Apartment 2 for one week and were very pleased with the accommodations. It is not a luxurious property, but it is very comfortable. The apartment had a new A/C unit which resolved the noise issue that a previous commenter noted. I recommend this property if you have a rental car with 4wd; it is conveniently located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio but the road into the property is rough. The apartments are well appointed and the property is beautiful; the pool is pristine and the surrounding grounds are beautifully landscaped. The decks provide great views of the jungle and monkeys and sloths are easy to see. Because my husband and I were traveling on our own, we opted for Apartment 2 because it is smaller than the upper unit. We regretted not getting the top floor unit once we saw the views from upstairs; even though we wouldn't have needed the additional space, we would have appreciated the views. Our only disappointment with the property was that the hot tub wasn't hot - it was the same temperature as the pool. Also, take note that Kristina does not provide bathroom amenities such as bar soap or shampoo so you will need to take/buy your own. Also, we were pleased that there were laundry facilities, but again, you will need to get your own detergent (it's only $1 at the local store). Kristina does smoke on occasion and you get an occasional waft of smoke on the Apartment 2 deck, but it was not constant or irritating as it was maybe twice per day. Also, she has two dogs that do bark when someone comes to the property but for the most part they did not bother us - it seemed like a good security measure especially after dark.

Room Tip: Splash out a few more dollars for Apartment 1 upstairs, for gorgeous views of the ocean and jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Villa Kristina for four days and we loved it! The road to the Villa is a little bit bumpy and can be a challenge if it rains a lot, but our small jimny suzuki could manage. Once we arrived Kristina showed us around and the place is beautiful! It is a great place to stay of you want to visit the manuel Antonio national park. Due to the good location you can get to quepos and manuel antonio in 5 minutes. The place is really clean, good wifi, big television, nice swimming pool and great nature! The only downside was the noisy a/c, but we got used to it. We cooked everyday and enjoyed looking the monkeys swing from tree to tree. Kristina is really nice and helped us figuring out how to get to our next stop in La Fortuna. Don't miss this place if you want to visit manuel antonio!

P.S. If you visit the national park do take a guide! We saw so much more. It is 20 dollars per person, but well worth it for a 2 hour tour!

Room Tip: We were in apartment 2, but didn't have the ocean view (we didn't care). Ask Kristina what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is amazing - it was beautiful, quiet, relaxing. It was a place you could just go and do nothing but lay in one of the hammocks with an occasional dip in the pool. We stayed with our kids who loved the frogs, lizards, and iguanas. Kristina was a great hostess. Her dogs were not that yappy - our kids thought it was a great treat to pet them when we arrived (they were missing their dog). Our unit was great - very clean, bright, and the balcony is awesome. There is a full kitchen (pick up your groceries on your way up the hill). It's not far from downtown Quepos. A beautiful place - would love to disappear there for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great location for the price it’s secluded but yet a short drive to everything. We had a great time, Clean and Amazing surroundings, I enjoyed my coffee early on the terrace watching the monkeys swing back and forth from tree to tree, Kristina was available for questions on places to eat and shop in the town of Quepos, we also went for a hike on the trail close to the Villa and ended up in a very secluded beach with amazing cliffs and beautiful shore, the environment was very relaxing and beautiful! I give Kristina Villa EXELLENT recommendation

Room Tip: all the rooms at the Villa are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautiful flat with a terace, very well furnished, sense of details, beautiful view over the forest, very quiet and private location, swimming pool and jacuzzi surrounded by a forest, and Kristina will be helpfull, a perfect place, we wish we come back to spend more time there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I arrived in CR for a two-week vacation sampling several hotels around the vacinity of Quepos/MA. We arrived at SJO but our luggage did not. Not knowing the country or much Spanish, I was a bit rattled to say the least believing our luggage would never reach us. We finally hooked up with our transportation from the airport and arrived at Villa Kristina's just as it was getting dark nearly 3 hours later than planned and without eatting since early in the morning. Kristina warmly greated us at our van and took us to Apartment 2 where we planned on staying for 2 nights all the time reassuring us our luggage would arrive the next day and offering us drinks. As we entered, there was just enough light to see we were entering a tropical paradise and all the bad feelings of lost luggage were erased.

Apartment 2 was immaculately clean and comfortable. The wood floors are gorgeous and Kristina's decorator's touch made it feel special, not like a hotel. The kitchen was stocked with all the supplies/utensils to make any meal preparation easy. The bathroom was spotless and had plenty of shelving so guests can unpack. The bedroom we used had a comfy king-sized bed and overlooked the pool and beautiful landscaping. There was also a dresser, table, and chair for unpacking or easy access to suitcases. There was an air-conditioner in the bedrooms, which we used occasionally since it was very humid. The second bedroom also had the same setup but with a queen bed (I believe). But our favorite place was on the terrace, it was huge and the view absolutely breath-taking. We spent hours taking turns on the hammock watching the troop of monkeys jump from tree to tree every late afternoon after a swim in the spotlessly clean pool.

We always felt very safe while staying with Kristina. She is readily available when we needed her and rarely leaves the grounds. She was unobtrusive and only entered the apartment to take out the trash and give us new towels. She has a couple of darling little dogs that we visited when we were feeling lonesome for our own litle dogs. They were very clean and well-behaved and we enjoyed having access to them. They actually made us feel safer having them around. This was not true of the other places we stayed that also had high ratings on TripAdvisor.

Some suggestions for staying here would be expect to use a taxi on occasion. Although the bus (50 cents) runs somewhat near Kristina's, we used a taxi (Kristina helped us find a English-speaking driver) to go out to dinner since the walk can be a workout in humid conditions. Next time we will rent a car when we arrive. Although there is a washing machine, you will have some difficulty getting clothes dry unless you hang them out early enough in the day to get the sun in the rainy season. There is plenty of hot water in the shower if you need it, but learning how to adjust was different than we were used to in the US however, this was never a problem. Ceiling fans are avialable in the living room/kitchen and on the terrace but you have to use the airconditioner's fan in the bedrooms. I would have loved a fan in the bedroom to save Kristina the cost of using the a/c as a fan, which I suspect uses more energy.

Because Kristina's set the bar so high with our first few nights, we returned for 5 additional nights before leaving CR, forgoing our other reservations elsewhere. We simply couldn't find a place in Manuel Antonio within this price range that made us feel so comfortable and had the same attention to our needs like Kristina had provided us. The apartment, the grounds, and her helpfulness were so appreciated that we plan to return next year. She loves sharing her beautiful apartments with those who enjoy and respect it. Thank goodness for Kristina or we might have left CR feeling much differently.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Kristina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kristina Apartments

Address: Apdo 109 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pacific coast in the in the rain forest between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You can enjoy your holidays, relaxing with a beautiful and unique flora and fauna. Enjoy a panoramic view of the ocean, the sunset and the jungle with its wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Kristina Apartments Hotel Quepos
Villa Kristina Apartments Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Kristina Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.