We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kristina Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Kristina Apartments
Save
You added Villa Kristina Apartments to your Saves list
Apdo 109 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is amazing - it was beautiful, quiet, relaxing. It was a place you could just go and do nothing but lay in one of the hammocks with an occasional dip in the pool. We stayed with our kids who loved the frogs, lizards, and iguanas. Kristina was a great hostess. Her dogs were not that yappy - our kids thought it was a great treat to pet them when we arrived (they were missing their dog). Our unit was great - very clean, bright, and the balcony is awesome. There is a full kitchen (pick up your groceries on your way up the hill). It's not far from downtown Quepos. A beautiful place - would love to disappear there for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great location for the price it’s secluded but yet a short drive to everything. We had a great time, Clean and Amazing surroundings, I enjoyed my coffee early on the terrace watching the monkeys swing back and forth from tree to tree, Kristina was available for questions on places to eat and shop in the town of Quepos, we also went for a hike on the trail close to the Villa and ended up in a very secluded beach with amazing cliffs and beautiful shore, the environment was very relaxing and beautiful! I give Kristina Villa EXELLENT recommendation

Room Tip: all the rooms at the Villa are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautiful flat with a terace, very well furnished, sense of details, beautiful view over the forest, very quiet and private location, swimming pool and jacuzzi surrounded by a forest, and Kristina will be helpfull, a perfect place, we wish we come back to spend more time there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I arrived in CR for a two-week vacation sampling several hotels around the vacinity of Quepos/MA. We arrived at SJO but our luggage did not. Not knowing the country or much Spanish, I was a bit rattled to say the least believing our luggage would never reach us. We finally hooked up with our transportation from the airport and arrived at Villa Kristina's just as it was getting dark nearly 3 hours later than planned and without eatting since early in the morning. Kristina warmly greated us at our van and took us to Apartment 2 where we planned on staying for 2 nights all the time reassuring us our luggage would arrive the next day and offering us drinks. As we entered, there was just enough light to see we were entering a tropical paradise and all the bad feelings of lost luggage were erased.

Apartment 2 was immaculately clean and comfortable. The wood floors are gorgeous and Kristina's decorator's touch made it feel special, not like a hotel. The kitchen was stocked with all the supplies/utensils to make any meal preparation easy. The bathroom was spotless and had plenty of shelving so guests can unpack. The bedroom we used had a comfy king-sized bed and overlooked the pool and beautiful landscaping. There was also a dresser, table, and chair for unpacking or easy access to suitcases. There was an air-conditioner in the bedrooms, which we used occasionally since it was very humid. The second bedroom also had the same setup but with a queen bed (I believe). But our favorite place was on the terrace, it was huge and the view absolutely breath-taking. We spent hours taking turns on the hammock watching the troop of monkeys jump from tree to tree every late afternoon after a swim in the spotlessly clean pool.

We always felt very safe while staying with Kristina. She is readily available when we needed her and rarely leaves the grounds. She was unobtrusive and only entered the apartment to take out the trash and give us new towels. She has a couple of darling little dogs that we visited when we were feeling lonesome for our own litle dogs. They were very clean and well-behaved and we enjoyed having access to them. They actually made us feel safer having them around. This was not true of the other places we stayed that also had high ratings on TripAdvisor.

Some suggestions for staying here would be expect to use a taxi on occasion. Although the bus (50 cents) runs somewhat near Kristina's, we used a taxi (Kristina helped us find a English-speaking driver) to go out to dinner since the walk can be a workout in humid conditions. Next time we will rent a car when we arrive. Although there is a washing machine, you will have some difficulty getting clothes dry unless you hang them out early enough in the day to get the sun in the rainy season. There is plenty of hot water in the shower if you need it, but learning how to adjust was different than we were used to in the US however, this was never a problem. Ceiling fans are avialable in the living room/kitchen and on the terrace but you have to use the airconditioner's fan in the bedrooms. I would have loved a fan in the bedroom to save Kristina the cost of using the a/c as a fan, which I suspect uses more energy.

Because Kristina's set the bar so high with our first few nights, we returned for 5 additional nights before leaving CR, forgoing our other reservations elsewhere. We simply couldn't find a place in Manuel Antonio within this price range that made us feel so comfortable and had the same attention to our needs like Kristina had provided us. The apartment, the grounds, and her helpfulness were so appreciated that we plan to return next year. She loves sharing her beautiful apartments with those who enjoy and respect it. Thank goodness for Kristina or we might have left CR feeling much differently.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 days in apt #2 at Villa Kristina and loved it. I have scanned TA reviews of this property and see that many people find Kristina to be a bit pushy or intrusive. At first this was my feeling too. However, after speaking w/ her and experiencing a most satisfying stay I concluded that she is just concerned about her property and wants things done a certain way. She is a very sharp and strong woman, fluent in many languages and she protects her villa and expects the guests to treat it w/ respect.
The place is fabulous! We had a fully equipped kitchen, a living room w/ TV and wi-fi, a great bedroom w/ an orthopedic ultra comfortable mattress, a great bathroom, a laundry room and a huge balcony w/ table,chairs, a hammock and a ceiling fan both in the house and on the balcony. The pool was wonderful and we saw more wildlife here than we did at manuel antonio. The property is ultra clean and cared for and deseves all the positive reviews it has received. The pups are a bit yappy but they are cute and friendly and once they see you around they quiet down considerably. Im not going to reveal the price for all this luxury. Suffice it to say we were upgraded to a larger apartment and it would have been a steal at twice the price.Not a place for partying teenagers or loud people w/ no sense of tranquility in my opinion. We loved it here and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the experience.

First the good and great things about the apartment. It is an apartment so it has a kitchen and you have that level of privacy. We rented the second apartment just above Kristina's own quarters. The home is located in the hillside of the rain forest. From our level we did not have an ocean view, but you could see a bit of it from the street. The place was clean and the pool was gorgeous. Plus, we were traveling with our young son and he got to spend most of his time in the pool without anyone else. The nightly rate was great especially in light of the space and location you get. Also, the fabulous wildlife we saw was unsurpassed elsewhere. As one reviewer said, more wildlife at the apartment than in Manuel Antonio National Park. There was a resident sloth, monkeys, birds, frogs, lizards, and crabs. It was awesome!

The downers were, upon reflection minimal. Kristina smokes. A lot. And, if you want to hang out on your terrace and don't enjoy cigarette smoke is less than desirable. Secondly, Kristina is a bit abrupt. Not unfriendly just abrupt. My husband dealt with her primarily and realized it was probably just her personality, rather than being personal. All and all a fabulous place. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a 4x4. It is a steep, rocky road that would be difficult to traverse without it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights in Apartment 3 of Villa Kristina, and it was truly a slice of heaven.

The Villa sits towards the end of a hilly, gravel road that is about a 10/15 minute walk to the main road where you can catch a bus right on the corner, or a taxi, to downtown Manuel Antonio or Quepos. The location is off the beaten path compared to many hotels in the area. For us, this was quite welcome, as the apartments provided real serenity and amazing wildlife that you wouldn't find at the hotels located in the touristy Manuel Antonio strip.

The landscaping of the grounds is real gorgeous, and looks out over a steep incline to the tropical forest. The pool and jacuzzi were a real treat as well. We were psyched to see all kinds of wildlife- including sloth, two kinds of monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds and bats- right from the terrace. We actually saw more wildlife here than in Manuel Antonio park!

Apartment 3 has a spacious terrace, with comfortable seating, a hammock, intimate lighting and even a ceiling fan to provide a little breeze. The apartment itself was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom shower was plenty hot if at a lower pressure (not like you even wanted a hot shower in that warm weather!), and the washing machine in the bathroom was an added plus.

We enjoyed having the kitchen, as there was only one restaurant in close walking distance of the apartment, and was a nice way to save money as Manuel Antonio dining is a bit more expensive than other parts of the country. There was a small grocery store within walking distance, and many more in town.

The only caveat I can remember to note - Kristina's dogs were prone to rather annoying yapping and barking at weird hours of the day.

I definitely hope to return here again someday!

Room Tip: Apartment 3 is best for 1-2 guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Kristina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kristina Apartments

Address: Apdo 109 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pacific coast in the in the rain forest between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You can enjoy your holidays, relaxing with a beautiful and unique flora and fauna. Enjoy a panoramic view of the ocean, the sunset and the jungle with its wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Kristina Apartments Hotel Quepos
Villa Kristina Apartments Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Kristina Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.