We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on your way to or from the Nicoya penninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamar Aparthotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamar Aparthotel
Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Puntarenas
Pontiac, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on your way to or from the Nicoya penninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We took the 9:00 am bus from San Jose at the cost of about $7 for two. Great roomy bus, AC, state of the art transport. Got to the station in less than 3 hrs. $2.5 taxi ride to the hotel. Spend the afternoon walking around the town and on the beach. The Hotel itself is wonderfull. AC,TV,Pool, quiet after 9:00 and so accessable to everything. Taxis are constantly driving by, but really it is easy to walk to many good places to get fantastic Casados. The breakfast is included in the price of the room and let me say that it is the heartiest breakfast you could want! The patrons of the hotel were families on vacation just after the first of the year when we were there. It was Summer break for the kids and the families were having a ball in the pool and on the beach. It was just a great time for us to be there. Absolutely no bugs. Strolling on the beach at night just after sunset is very peacefull and can evan make old people sort of romantic. The Ferrys for Naranjo and Paquera are just 5 blocks away which makes it convienient to catch them without a long taxi ride. I would most highly recommend this hotel, it is not the least expensive that is available but in our opinion it is worth every penney.

Room Tip: If you are an afternoon "napper" you might want a room that is not close to the pool. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here during our roundtrip in Costa Rica. First of all, the surroundings are beautiful, but the city of Puntarenas itself is decayed and looks abandoned from time to time. Lots of people hanging out in the streets, and also lots of pimped cars driving around slowly.
Pros: looks as one of the best hotels in Puntarenas from the outside. Check-in is smooth. There is a fenced parking lot at the back of the hotel. There's a beach if you cross the street. Pool is fine, refreshing. Everything is there in your room, including a fridge, AC and safe. Bed is nice and big.
Cons: An elevator is missing, so you'll have to carry your (heavy) luggage up the stairs yourself.
Although ther is a safe, it isn't attached to anything in your room, so in theory they can steal your safe and open it elsewhere.
The shower gets cold every 30 seconds. There's also a bathtub, but it can't be used because the drain can't be closed watertight, so water keeps running away. The bathtub also tends to bent below your feet, so it feels like it's going the break or something like that.
Breakfast is mediocre, scrammbled eggs are more like soggy eggs.
Most staff only speaks Spanish. The girls behind the desk do speak English, but they simply seem not interested and unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We we very pleasantly surprised with Hotel Alamar. Our room had lots of light, was clean and everything worked (a/c, TV, safety deposit box) and the WiFi was excellent.

We enjoyed the pool and the breakfast.

Staff were very friendly.

One small thing: When we packed up to leave after two nights (after all, Puntarenas isn't the most interesting place to stay), we noticed that the safety deposit box sitting in the wardrobe was loose and not attached to anything. So someone could have stolen the box and its content.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were expecting the worst from this place but needed somewhere to sleep for one night before we took the ferry the next morning. They offered the best price, which included breakfast so we checked in and went up to the room.

It was lovely!! We had a very clean, twin room which was kitted out in two queen-sized beds. LG flat screen TV. Internet. Bathroom was kitted out with a spacious shower, plenty of towels and organic, natural soap, shampoo and conditioner.

Breakfast was a simple buffet with a variety of traditional Tico brekkie along with fruit, coffee, toast and cereal.

Hotel is equipped with a pool including a separate children's pool and hot tub. Additional towels for the pool and hot tub are supplied at check-in. It also faces Puntarenas beach which is just across the road.

Room Tip: Try to be in a corner where people won't need to pass your door to get downstairs in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived in Puntarenas mid-afternoon on a whim and decided to stop. The Alamar was certainly the best offering in our price range. Check-in was smooth, the room was clean and neat and the air conditioning was much appreciated. My biggest complaint was the lighting, especially over the sink. I could hardly see in the mirror! We lounged by the pool and met some missionaries who had just arrived. We walked the beach and shopped the open market booths. We fully intended to eat at some local soda on the beach but many we closed or very dark so we came back to the hotel. Our meal was fair. Breakfast was included and it was okay.The staff was very helpful here as well and they had a locked parking lot which we appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the best option we could find for a business trip to Puntarenas and located by the Paseo de los Turistas. The stay was average, no surprises. The room is comfortable, double bed, comfortable. The AC was acting up upon arrival but somebody came quickly to fix it. The service at the front desk is a little slow and could be confusing for non-Spanish speakers. I did not have time to get into the pool but a colleague did and enjoy it. The breakfast buffet was fine, a bit limited but tasted great. The coffee could be better considering that this property is in Costa Rica. The hotel and the bar were overpriced. The restaurant does not offer fresh fish in the menu which is absurd since they are right in front of the ocean. instead they offer something they call "corvineta", a type of catfish produced in captivity in Vietnam in a polluted river and with a diet based on high loads of chemicals. Why on Earth do they sell this fish in a coastal town in Costa Rica? I do not know but it is strange. We drove a bit further along the road and found signs of fresh snapper and sea bass and they even showed them to us. It was a great dinner!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for two reasons only, to take advantage of a catamaran tour our friends had recommended and it's location near the ferry to the peninsula. We didn't expect much from the town, as it's a port city, and we were right but the hotel was great. We happened to be there for a festival, just by chance, which was so much fun. Thanks to staff recommendations we went out both nights and enjoyed the local culture. We felt safe as it was a family time and watching the little children have so much fun just added to our enjoyment. I don't know how safe the area is otherwise but the staff is so helpful I'm sure they could advise. Even though the festival was in full swing and the night life was exuberant, we had no touble falling asleep as our room was very quiet. We enjoyed this local festival so much we will go back with friends to enjoy it and we will definitely stay at the Alamar

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel is you wish to rest well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Aparthotel

Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamar Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alamar Aparthotel to your Saves list