We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we could find!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alamar Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alamar Aparthotel to your Saves list
Alamar Aparthotel
Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best we could find!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived in Puntarenas mid-afternoon on a whim and decided to stop. The Alamar was certainly the best offering in our price range. Check-in was smooth, the room was clean and neat and the air conditioning was much appreciated. My biggest complaint was the lighting, especially over the sink. I could hardly see in the mirror! We lounged by the pool and met some missionaries who had just arrived. We walked the beach and shopped the open market booths. We fully intended to eat at some local soda on the beach but many we closed or very dark so we came back to the hotel. Our meal was fair. Breakfast was included and it was okay.The staff was very helpful here as well and they had a locked parking lot which we appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
13
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the best option we could find for a business trip to Puntarenas and located by the Paseo de los Turistas. The stay was average, no surprises. The room is comfortable, double bed, comfortable. The AC was acting up upon arrival but somebody came quickly to fix it. The service at the front desk is a little slow and could be confusing for non-Spanish speakers. I did not have time to get into the pool but a colleague did and enjoy it. The breakfast buffet was fine, a bit limited but tasted great. The coffee could be better considering that this property is in Costa Rica. The hotel and the bar were overpriced. The restaurant does not offer fresh fish in the menu which is absurd since they are right in front of the ocean. instead they offer something they call "corvineta", a type of catfish produced in captivity in Vietnam in a polluted river and with a diet based on high loads of chemicals. Why on Earth do they sell this fish in a coastal town in Costa Rica? I do not know but it is strange. We drove a bit further along the road and found signs of fresh snapper and sea bass and they even showed them to us. It was a great dinner!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for two reasons only, to take advantage of a catamaran tour our friends had recommended and it's location near the ferry to the peninsula. We didn't expect much from the town, as it's a port city, and we were right but the hotel was great. We happened to be there for a festival, just by chance, which was so much fun. Thanks to staff recommendations we went out both nights and enjoyed the local culture. We felt safe as it was a family time and watching the little children have so much fun just added to our enjoyment. I don't know how safe the area is otherwise but the staff is so helpful I'm sure they could advise. Even though the festival was in full swing and the night life was exuberant, we had no touble falling asleep as our room was very quiet. We enjoyed this local festival so much we will go back with friends to enjoy it and we will definitely stay at the Alamar

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel is you wish to rest well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a business visit to Puntarenas. The hotel was selected for me by colleagues, so I didn't really have a choice in the matter. In general the location (directly across from the large but kind of dirty beach) and service were good, but the rooms were bizarre. For my ground-level room the "door" was merely a sliding glass door with curtains covering it and in order to lock the door you had to do it with a key from the inside. Being a solo female traveler, I didn't really like that set up and generally like the idea of a solid door with a deadbolt or something and a room that is not immediately accessible from the outside. Another minus was that the room reeked of whatever cleaning agent they used to clean the bathroom. I got used to it after a while, but every time I walked into the room the smell completely bowled me over. The did have a nice flat screen TV with plenty of cable channel options and a good restaurant for dinner (not so good for breakfast). But overall, I would definitely rather not stay here again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to Costa Rica. We stayed one night in Puntarenas and opted for the Alamar Hotel. We did not have a reservation and this appeared to be the best hotel on the beachfront. It was better than we expected, at $90 (peak season) and we asked to see the room before we committed. We liked what we saw, spacious with a huge King bed, overlooking the pool, TV, A/C, WiFi and a nice clean bathroom. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and the young man that checked us in had perfect English. The pool was a little noisy, which is normal, and we could hear music coming from the reception area - there was also a pool table there, but by about 10pm it was quiet. The beach was ok, very festive at night, with markets and a fun-fair and live music playing.
As far as I could see one would only be in Puntaneras to take the ferry to Nicoia Peninsula - there would be no other reason to spend time in this little town.
We parked out on the street, there was a guard and we were told this would be perfectly safe. It was, thankfully. Breakfast the next morning was ok, fruit, scrambled eggs, toast and gallo pinto (beans and rice) fruit juices and coffee/tea etc. This was included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

The hotel is on the main tourist avenue in Puntarenas which runs along the beach. The road is between the hotel and the beach. The beach is nothing special. Ugly brown sand and not clean so there isn't much advantage to being on the beach except you're close to the cruise ship dock and a lot of restaurants that cater to tourists. We looked at a lot of the rooms in this hotel. We opted for a "superior" room for $75 a night in October which is off season. Our room was clean and nice but we looked at some other rooms in the hotel and they were either for families or in the back and a bit dark. We checked out other hotels on this road and none were as nice as this place and prices were all in the $60 to $75 range. Breakfast was included but was pretty bad. No butter or jam for the toast, only scrambled eggs buffet style and the coke machine and other machines in the corner made a huge racket. Protected parking behind the hotel but you had to get your car by walking out with a staff member which was sometimes a pain. The pools were not heated and too cold to use. Decent hotel but look at your room first.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Hotel is the only moderately priced hotel recommended in Frommer's guide for the city. There are no expensive hotels recommended. Puntarenus is a vacation area for the Costa Ricans. The Hotel has a long wide brown sandy beach in front of it.
The Hotel grounds are attractive with two swimming pools. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are basic with a high tech A/C in each room.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puntarenas
2.4 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 19 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#6 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Arenas Punta Leona
Hotel Arenas Punta Leona
#8 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
#7 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
23.9 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel & Club Nautico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Aparthotel

Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamar Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.