We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we could find!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alamar Aparthotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamar Aparthotel
Save
You added Alamar Aparthotel to your Saves list
Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Puntarenas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best we could find!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived in Puntarenas mid-afternoon on a whim and decided to stop. The Alamar was certainly the best offering in our price range. Check-in was smooth, the room was clean and neat and the air conditioning was much appreciated. My biggest complaint was the lighting, especially over the sink. I could hardly see in the mirror! We lounged by the pool and met some missionaries who had just arrived. We walked the beach and shopped the open market booths. We fully intended to eat at some local soda on the beach but many we closed or very dark so we came back to the hotel. Our meal was fair. Breakfast was included and it was okay.The staff was very helpful here as well and they had a locked parking lot which we appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
12
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the best option we could find for a business trip to Puntarenas and located by the Paseo de los Turistas. The stay was average, no surprises. The room is comfortable, double bed, comfortable. The AC was acting up upon arrival but somebody came quickly to fix it. The service at the front desk is a little slow and could be confusing for non-Spanish speakers. I did not have time to get into the pool but a colleague did and enjoy it. The breakfast buffet was fine, a bit limited but tasted great. The coffee could be better considering that this property is in Costa Rica. The hotel and the bar were overpriced. The restaurant does not offer fresh fish in the menu which is absurd since they are right in front of the ocean. instead they offer something they call "corvineta", a type of catfish produced in captivity in Vietnam in a polluted river and with a diet based on high loads of chemicals. Why on Earth do they sell this fish in a coastal town in Costa Rica? I do not know but it is strange. We drove a bit further along the road and found signs of fresh snapper and sea bass and they even showed them to us. It was a great dinner!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for two reasons only, to take advantage of a catamaran tour our friends had recommended and it's location near the ferry to the peninsula. We didn't expect much from the town, as it's a port city, and we were right but the hotel was great. We happened to be there for a festival, just by chance, which was so much fun. Thanks to staff recommendations we went out both nights and enjoyed the local culture. We felt safe as it was a family time and watching the little children have so much fun just added to our enjoyment. I don't know how safe the area is otherwise but the staff is so helpful I'm sure they could advise. Even though the festival was in full swing and the night life was exuberant, we had no touble falling asleep as our room was very quiet. We enjoyed this local festival so much we will go back with friends to enjoy it and we will definitely stay at the Alamar

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel is you wish to rest well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a business visit to Puntarenas. The hotel was selected for me by colleagues, so I didn't really have a choice in the matter. In general the location (directly across from the large but kind of dirty beach) and service were good, but the rooms were bizarre. For my ground-level room the "door" was merely a sliding glass door with curtains covering it and in order to lock the door you had to do it with a key from the inside. Being a solo female traveler, I didn't really like that set up and generally like the idea of a solid door with a deadbolt or something and a room that is not immediately accessible from the outside. Another minus was that the room reeked of whatever cleaning agent they used to clean the bathroom. I got used to it after a while, but every time I walked into the room the smell completely bowled me over. The did have a nice flat screen TV with plenty of cable channel options and a good restaurant for dinner (not so good for breakfast). But overall, I would definitely rather not stay here again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to Costa Rica. We stayed one night in Puntarenas and opted for the Alamar Hotel. We did not have a reservation and this appeared to be the best hotel on the beachfront. It was better than we expected, at $90 (peak season) and we asked to see the room before we committed. We liked what we saw, spacious with a huge King bed, overlooking the pool, TV, A/C, WiFi and a nice clean bathroom. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and the young man that checked us in had perfect English. The pool was a little noisy, which is normal, and we could hear music coming from the reception area - there was also a pool table there, but by about 10pm it was quiet. The beach was ok, very festive at night, with markets and a fun-fair and live music playing.
As far as I could see one would only be in Puntaneras to take the ferry to Nicoia Peninsula - there would be no other reason to spend time in this little town.
We parked out on the street, there was a guard and we were told this would be perfectly safe. It was, thankfully. Breakfast the next morning was ok, fruit, scrambled eggs, toast and gallo pinto (beans and rice) fruit juices and coffee/tea etc. This was included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

The hotel is on the main tourist avenue in Puntarenas which runs along the beach. The road is between the hotel and the beach. The beach is nothing special. Ugly brown sand and not clean so there isn't much advantage to being on the beach except you're close to the cruise ship dock and a lot of restaurants that cater to tourists. We looked at a lot of the rooms in this hotel. We opted for a "superior" room for $75 a night in October which is off season. Our room was clean and nice but we looked at some other rooms in the hotel and they were either for families or in the back and a bit dark. We checked out other hotels on this road and none were as nice as this place and prices were all in the $60 to $75 range. Breakfast was included but was pretty bad. No butter or jam for the toast, only scrambled eggs buffet style and the coke machine and other machines in the corner made a huge racket. Protected parking behind the hotel but you had to get your car by walking out with a staff member which was sometimes a pain. The pools were not heated and too cold to use. Decent hotel but look at your room first.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Hotel is the only moderately priced hotel recommended in Frommer's guide for the city. There are no expensive hotels recommended. Puntarenus is a vacation area for the Costa Ricans. The Hotel has a long wide brown sandy beach in front of it.
The Hotel grounds are attractive with two swimming pools. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are basic with a high tech A/C in each room.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Aparthotel

Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Puntarenas
Number of rooms: 184

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamar Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.