We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa
50m South and 100m East from Super Costa, Puntarenas 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kelowna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

A definite must stay! The property is amazing and the staff and animals treat you more like family than guests. From the authentic bbq meals with local ingredients you MUST eat . Max the owner is great and very helpful with anything to navigating the local town to getting to the nest destination. Overall a great place to stay and very affordable.
Thanks Max and Fatima!

Room Tip: private rooms are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I rarely find that a hostel kitchen is clean enough to make full meals in, but the one at Kokua is spotless, and the supermarket is right around the corner, so we were able to make all our meals at the hostel. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful, the location is great, and the hostel itself is clean and beautiful! If you're looking for a beach vacation, Santa Teresa and Kokua hostel are definitely the places to go!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramón, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I went with a friend by the weekend and we had a great time! Joaquin, Fatima and Maximo are the most helpful and nicest hostages. The hostel is like a home and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. It has a good location, when you can go walking everywhere and the bus stop is just in front of the street. One night, Joaquin invite everybody to a friend's bakery opening and we had a great time drinking cocktails, eating and hanging around with others vacationist. We're definitely going back to kokua as soon as we can.

Room Tip: You can a choose a private room or a share room.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Kokua hostel, what a place! I luckily stumbled on this hostel when I went to Costa Rica in April. I arrived at kokua after a long bus ride from San Jose and staff were there to greet me. The rooms are clean and the kitchen and living area are open air concept- which is perfect in a location like Santa Teresa. Overall, this was a great place to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was always something fun going on. I would recommend this place for any chill traveller :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've been in Kokua hostel in June 2014 for three weeks. I had an amazing time! Every time I came back to the hostel I felt like I came home. We cooked and surfed together and watched a lot of movies in the night. And of course we followed the world cup. If you need any help, Fatima and Maximo are willing to help you. I hope I come back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hostel is far from clean, the rooms are extremely small (no space for your things), The bathrooms are dirty. The worst thing by far is that the mattress and bedding smells of mold. I was disgusted to put my face on the bedding. I forced myself to sleep there the 1st night because we arrived late but left the following day! Shocking!

Room Tip: Try and find somewhere else to stay unless you dont mind the comments i made in the description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximo684, Owner at Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hey Alexia,

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

We try very hard to keep our rooms and common areas clean and tidy for all of our guests to enjoy. I remember you coming in a busy time, with a full house. You were the first person to tell us about the smelly pillow and mattress and we took immediate action by replacing them. As far as the bathrooms, it must have been an isolated incident since we have a daily routine of checking upon them every few hours. We are happy to know you still enjoyed our place by coming after your checkout to hang out with us all.


Pura Vida

Maximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I planned to stay here for 2 days but ended up over a week. The hostel was a great place to relax and very close to the beach for good surfing and plenty of sun bathing. The hostel owners were excellent at their jobs and were very helpful. I hope to go back to the hostel in December and stay for another week. P.s. The hostel has 2 cute dogs which was a highlight of my stay.

Room Tip: Book in advance to guarantee a room or dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa

Address: 50m South and 100m East from Super Costa, Puntarenas 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokua Hostel is a 7 Bedroom "boutique" Hostel in the beach town of Santa Teresa, just meters away from one of the best beaches and surf spots Costa Rica has to offer. We feature a unique experience in accommodation with a very relaxed atmosphere. We have private rooms, dorms, hammocks and camping are on our 950m2. Communal Kitchen, BBQ, and common areas make it a perfect place to meet fellow travelers.We pride ourselves in taking customer service to the next level at budget prices!We grow fruits and vegetables in our garden to minimize our ecological footprint, and just because we like it! We're always looking for helping hands here ;)We recycle and believe that every effort for a better and more sustainable living begins at home.Although we're literally less that a 5 minutes walk from the beach, supermarkets, and restaurants, we also have a few complimentary bikes (with surf racks!) to help you explore and get around the Malpais/Santa Teresa area. Contributions for bike maintenance are always welcome :)You may also be interested in the tours and activities we organize, which you can be part of during your stay. We offer surf lessons, quad bikes (ATV´s), massages, fishing, stand up paddling tours, Isla Tortuga tours, horse-back riding tours, and canopy zip lining, you´ll enjoy yourselves without a doubt! We also work with some of the best Yoga certified teachers in town. Welcome to Pura Vida lifestyle, welcome to Kokua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.