We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa
50m South and 100m East from Super Costa, Puntarenas 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
“Fun times :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Kokua hostel, what a place! I luckily stumbled on this hostel when I went to Costa Rica in April. I arrived at kokua after a long bus ride from San Jose and staff were there to greet me. The rooms are clean and the kitchen and living area are open air concept- which is perfect in a location like Santa Teresa. Overall, this was a great place to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was always something fun going on. I would recommend this place for any chill traveller :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
15
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've been in Kokua hostel in June 2014 for three weeks. I had an amazing time! Every time I came back to the hostel I felt like I came home. We cooked and surfed together and watched a lot of movies in the night. And of course we followed the world cup. If you need any help, Fatima and Maximo are willing to help you. I hope I come back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hostel is far from clean, the rooms are extremely small (no space for your things), The bathrooms are dirty. The worst thing by far is that the mattress and bedding smells of mold. I was disgusted to put my face on the bedding. I forced myself to sleep there the 1st night because we arrived late but left the following day! Shocking!

Room Tip: Try and find somewhere else to stay unless you dont mind the comments i made in the description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximo684, Owner at Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hey Alexia,

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

We try very hard to keep our rooms and common areas clean and tidy for all of our guests to enjoy. I remember you coming in a busy time, with a full house. You were the first person to tell us about the smelly pillow and mattress and we took immediate action by replacing them. As far as the bathrooms, it must have been an isolated incident since we have a daily routine of checking upon them every few hours. We are happy to know you still enjoyed our place by coming after your checkout to hang out with us all.


Pura Vida

Maximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I planned to stay here for 2 days but ended up over a week. The hostel was a great place to relax and very close to the beach for good surfing and plenty of sun bathing. The hostel owners were excellent at their jobs and were very helpful. I hope to go back to the hostel in December and stay for another week. P.s. The hostel has 2 cute dogs which was a highlight of my stay.

Room Tip: Book in advance to guarantee a room or dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Kokua is an awesome find! Everyone is very nice, cool, and chill. The place is clean, well taken care of, calm, and laid back. The staff was happy to help whenever I had any questions or needed to figure something out. It's a very respectful and special place. I highly recommend it for Santa Teresa travelers, and will return if and when I come back to Paradise!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Don't be fooled by it's size, this hostel has so much characteristic and such a unique set up that it's easy to meet people and feel comfortable. The beds and bathrooms served their purpose. The owners and staff were awesome, really laid back and helpful. We had a BBQ with pretty much everyone staying at the hostel it was a great way to meet everyone staff and travellers alike. We all then went out to a popcular club not too far of a walk away and had an awesome night out. The set up is really nice, its very colourful with a huge kitchen area and backyard with lots of hammocks to hang out in. It was a quick walk to the beach, I have nothing bad to say!! If you're hitting up Santa Teresa you should stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at the Kokua Hostel in Santa Teresa in June and it was the best hostel we stayed at for the whole trip. The rooms and bathrooms may have been nicer at other hostels, but the atmosphere at Kokua is really great to meet people and hang out on a rainy day. There is a big kitchen/dining area where almost everyone cooks and eats in. BBQ area as well. A lady comes to clean up every day, so it stays neat. The staff is very nice and helpful if you are looking for things to do, and even offered to include us in their dinner plans on several nights of our stay. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Santa Teresa and want to meet good people. As a note, if you do an extended stay the staff may (probably will) reduce the rate per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puntarenas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 19 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#6 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
#7 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arenas Punta Leona
Hotel Arenas Punta Leona
#8 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#3 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa

Address: 50m South and 100m East from Super Costa, Puntarenas 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokua Hostel is a 7 Bedroom "boutique" Hostel in the beach town of Santa Teresa, just meters away from one of the best beaches and surf spots Costa Rica has to offer. We feature a unique experience in accommodation with a very relaxed atmosphere. We have private rooms, dorms, hammocks and camping are on our 950m2. Communal Kitchen, BBQ, and common areas make it a perfect place to meet fellow travelers.We pride ourselves in taking customer service to the next level at budget prices!We grow fruits and vegetables in our garden to minimize our ecological footprint, and just because we like it! We're always looking for helping hands here ;)We recycle and believe that every effort for a better and more sustainable living begins at home.Although we're literally less that a 5 minutes walk from the beach, supermarkets, and restaurants, we also have a few complimentary bikes (with surf racks!) to help you explore and get around the Malpais/Santa Teresa area. Contributions for bike maintenance are always welcome :)You may also be interested in the tours and activities we organize, which you can be part of during your stay. We offer surf lessons, quad bikes (ATV´s), massages, fishing, stand up paddling tours, Isla Tortuga tours, horse-back riding tours, and canopy zip lining, you´ll enjoy yourselves without a doubt! We also work with some of the best Yoga certified teachers in town. Welcome to Pura Vida lifestyle, welcome to Kokua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.