We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“puntarenas festivel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puntarenas Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Puntarenas Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“puntarenas festivel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

i enjoyed this hotel. prime location for the festivel. nice view from the third floor. beautiful artwork thoughout the hotel. my only complaint is the lack of hot water and the shower tub which is beautiful in its design;but the height of the tub is hard to get in and out. i really enjoyed my stay. breadfast was your usual tico style, but got you going for the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I drove from Estelí northern Nicaragua, by the time we got through the frontier Nicaragua/Costa Rica ( A nightmare 6 hrs.) we had been traveling 14 hrs., I was tired so we headed for Puntarenas Colon in search of a Hotel stopped at the Puntarenas Beach Hotel price $50-00 per double room (Basic) a double bed + table & 2 chairs & air con, situated at the rear over looking the pool, The room was spotless no trouble with noise, We went down to the hotel restaurant (Ocean View) for dinner the children had Chicken my wife Fish and I had King Prawns, Good service, food Excellent ,2 beers and time for bed. In the morning the children headed for the pool we had a walk on the beach breakfast was tipico but fresh & hot at mid day we resumed our trip to San Jose...
We stopped for the night on the return.

Room Tip: For us the basic was fine for 1 night, The Rooms at the front have great views + balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived in Puntarenas in the afternoon and saw this hotel while driving on the 'main drag'. We had booked another place but had a feeling this hotel would offer more. It was less expensive around $80 for a seaview suite (highly recommended) and very secure parking. The hotel seemed to still be going through renovations but it never bothered us. Anyways, the best things about this place are the large rooms and beautiful location. Good wifi, clean, and a decent restaurant. I would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel opened up in november 2012, Half of it is still in construction. By law in Costa rica they need 60rooms opened to open a Casino, they are preparing a Casino on the second floor.
Lots of missing or weird items. For example there is no shower curtain, all remote controls are in Chinese, we had to find out how the Air conditionner and tv remote worked. At first our electronic doorlock wasnt locking the door. We asked for another room and they moved us without hesitating. Watch out this might happen on other rooms, we were able to open another room just by pushing it. We heard some noises from the construction starting around 8AM.

There is a parking under the hotel for maximum 10 vehicules, with an automatic door and a guard. The pool is right beside the garage entrance and its kinda small around 16'.

The bathroom mirror is too low for anyone who wants to look at their face in a mirror between 5 and 6 foot tall, most humans. The hot water isnt really hot or takes a lot of time to heat up. The shower wasnt working well.

The windows and door terrasse arent sealed properly. Im saying this because we were moved ocean view, the view in the morning was incredible. But we had a little tropical storm during the night, the wind was whisling between the windows and the rain was coming in under the terasse door and windows. We asked for towels to minimize the damages.

They also own the Appetite restaurant on the first floor which is really good ! The seafood were great, the english menu isnt tranlated perfectly, but overall the food was fresh and tasted good. Prices are really affordable for an hotel restaurant, but it doesnt has this standing yet.

This hotel is owned by a Chinese family which also own the small grocery store beside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came off the ferry one evening looking for a place to spend the night before heading to the airport the next morning. This hotel caught our eye and we went in, checked pricing and asked to look at a room. The hotel is actually very nice. Clean and spacious rooms with breakfast included, good Wifi, etc. Also liked the secured parking garage. We opted for a non-beachfront room, which was cheaper. It was also towards the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool, parking area, and the parking gate. The security guard has a dog which seemed to bark non-stop through the night. I called twice to complain that I couldn't sleep and each time I was told they would take care of it. So, unless you enjoy sleeping through loud barking, I would beware. I almost gave this hotel two starts because of this, but everything else was good. A couple of more things... It took the hot water tap about 1/2 hour to finally put out hot water. The tub was a little interesting. No shower curtain and the shower head is not elevated. Not a big deal, but kind of quirky. All the remotes are in Japanese, so I had to guess what was what. Oh, and the Burger King is right next door, which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Puntarenas Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puntarenas Beach

Address: Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Puntarenas Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puntarenas Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.