We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is not a 4 start Hotel, but is basic for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yadran Beach Resort

Hotel Yadran Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Yadran Beach Resort
Save
You added Hotel Yadran Beach Resort to your Saves list
Al Final Del Paseo de Los Turistas, Diagonal Al Balneario San Lucas Beach, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Puntarenas
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Is not a 4 start Hotel, but is basic for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel service is good, the rooms are decent. the breakfast was good as it has variety. the swimming pool is also good.
However, the room had lack of amenities. The a/c was not working properly and it seems they don't give constant maintenance.
Definitely it is not a 4 start hotel as they stated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We happened to stay here on our late drive to Manuel Antonio from Guanacaste. There were no other options so we decided to stay here because the place actually has a good location but that's about the only good thing about this place. The place looks old and smells for the $120 dollars per night that they charge is really not justifiable. The A/C barely kept room at a temperature that was comfortable and we had to have them replace our sheets and towels because they had this yellowish dots on them wish we didn't really know what it was. Overall I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay I this place. It really sucks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

An old place with a staff that lacks interest towards the guests and simply pretend they're not there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This hotel was a a last resort! Everywhere in December was booked up and we arrived late in the evening and so had no choice but to stay the night. As we arrived at the hotel, some other travellers were leaving. We asked them if they enjoyed their stay and they said they were not going to stay at the hotel. They had simply walked in and then walked out.

It was like going back to the dark ages. The hotel is very dated and you feel as if you are staying at Butlins. It lacks personality and character. Although, the rooms are large and clean, the cost of one night is simply a rip off. The breakfast is plastic. This is very much suited only for the locals with a family of kids.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Turned up in Puntarenas on Dec 29 late at night, and began looking for a place to stay. All the better places in town were full, but Yadran had space, albeit at a hefty price. Initially turned down the room and carried on looking, but in the end decided just to pay up the cash and make do for a night.

Room was reasonably sized, functional and clean but basic - don't expect any particular kind of luxury. Breakfast was lame. Each room has a safe - but you have to pay a rental charge on the key each day, and put up your credit card as a deposit on the key. Staff seemed able to perform well understood procedures, but unable / unwilling to be helpful, use their initiative or do anything out of the ordinary.

The hotel looks rather dated - everything was clean, just seemed like a throwback to the 1980s. Hotels in San Jose seemed to offer much better value for money.

Summary - it'll do for one night if you're desperate for a room, but you can almost certainly do better elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We just walked in to get a room and they were very helpful ( we were unable to reach our original destination). The person at the front desk did speak a little English which was helpful. However, the place wasn't very clean, the shower did not have hot water or really any water pressure. No one in the restaurant spoke any English. The view of the beach from our room was very nice, but when we walked across the street to get an up close view of the beach, it wasn't so great. We only stayed the one night and then moved on to our original destination. We won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Yadran Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yadran Beach Resort

Address: Al Final Del Paseo de Los Turistas, Diagonal Al Balneario San Lucas Beach, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Yadran Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.