We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded charm - not modern luxury.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tioga

Hotel Tioga
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tioga
Save
You added Hotel Tioga to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Orotina, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Faded charm - not modern luxury.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Have stayed in this hotel perhaps 5 or six times over the last 15 years. The hotel was once the best on the seafront but is a little faded now. Previous criticisms of the slight shabbiness of the rooms and pool area are all true, the breakfast is sparse. The alleged free Wi-Fi signal is so slow as to be almost unusable. But I can't help myself, I love the place. The desk staff (Don Victor hasn't changed in 15 years) are always smiling and helpful, the hotel staff in crisp whites convince you for a moment or two that you're in the 1950's. Splash out on a sea-view room with balcony, rise above the noisy AC and slightly worn fittings in the en suite. Enjoy the view, soak up the atmosphere. While in Puntarenas get a taxi or whatever to the Seafood Restaurant Marisqueria La Leda in Caldera, 15 k away. Cost you $20 round trip but the seafood is the best in the area. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent a very nice few days at this hotel. There is nothing fancy here. We had a balcony room on the fourth floor. The room was furnished fairly simply but was certainly adequate for a short stay. All of the staff were very friendly and exceedingly helpful. The complementary breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, rice & beans, bread, fresh fruit and drinks. It was a nice start to the day.

The hotel seems to cater more to Costa Ricans on holiday than to foreign tourists. In fact, that pretty much applies to the town in general. It was a great chance to mingle with local people rather than have the sanitized resort experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

As I've read from other reviews, this is "the only hotel on the beach". Unfortunately, this doesn't entail having nice rooms or common areas.

The rooms were small and cramped, and we found cockroaches in the shower both nights that we stayed there. As we were in a large group, I asked around and found that others had also found cockroaches in their bathrooms. The only plus side of the rooms was that there was an A/C and a TV with some American channels- although these varied from room to room.

The pool looks very nice from the outside, but is dirty when you get in. There are trees surrounding the pool (it's in the middle of a central courtyard) and there were constantly leaves in the pool. We also found band-aids, hair, etc in the pool. The sitting area under the trees is nice.

The restaurant in the hotel is open and has an amazing view of the beach at any time of day. The food is average, and I wasn't expecting much more from this hotel.

The staff do try to make your stay a pleasant one, but the rooms really do let the hotel down. The staff are constantly keeping the floors dry from all the pool water, and are always smiling at the front desk.

As an overnight stay, this hotel is fine, but I wouldn't recommend it for prolonged stays.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

What a great stay at the Tioga. I needed a place to stay before departing on a cruise from Puerto Caldera. (a $15 cab ride away) The young woman (Elliot?) at the front desk gave me a fantastic room with a balcony. It overlooked the beach and the Avenida de Touristas. There was free wireless internet in the lobby that worked great. There was also a free cooked to order breakfast included in the rate. My Dec.12 rate was $67.

I walked up and down and saw the other hotels on the Avenue. They did not compare. I can highly recommend this hotel.The staff, location, and price make this a winner in Puntarenas..

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puntarenas
2.5 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 19 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#6 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#3 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
#7 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Arenas Punta Leona
Hotel Arenas Punta Leona
#8 of 19 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel & Club Nautico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tioga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tioga

Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tioga 4*
Number of rooms: 52

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tioga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.