We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left after seeing the room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tioga

Hotel Tioga
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tioga
Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Puntarenas
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We left after seeing the room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked this hotel since it was recommended in "Lonely Planet". When were taken to our room, we decided to leave straight away.

- There was poor security, the safety box didn't work, the balcony door didn't lock.
- The air conditioning didn't work well (or perhaps the batteries of the remote control were old), to we could only switch it on (18 C) or off.
- The room wasn't in a very good state.
- We didn't feel neither well not safe there.

We felt very sorry for the friendly staff, who had given us a free upgrade. They were friendly and let us go without paying a cent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I reserved Two rooms 90 dollars a night for two nights...One for me and my tica girlfriend..The second for her Special daughter.Upon Our arrival at our room number 53 We discovered that tray was full of live worms...When we complaint to the front desk clerk he said that he will have manager contact us immediately.2 seconds later he said that manager wasn't available even that we see him behind the curtain.
He told us to return to our room and my girlfriend was so upset that she brought back the live worm in the tray...the front desk persons advice Us that we better NOT complaint because we were privileged that we got the expensive rooms for the price of the economics,,,
Suggesting that we should apologize for complaint about the live worm..
Suddenly started to rain and we discovered that our rest room got a leaking in the roof and water was pouring inside with the rain...We went back to the front desk and the front desk guy with an smile said we got nothing to worry about it because rain should stops soon even that he knows that in that season rains every afternoon.
The y offered us finally another room on the 3rd floor which was even worse...Upon our entry was so bad smelling that we had to get out..
To put things worse on may 12 a drunk guest from bellow room 43 got off in the wrong floor and opened our room 53 with his own key.When I complaint about this awful situation to the the concierge,He told me that happens all the time because the locksmith made mistakes and sometimes he made same key for two different rooms..
Unbelievable.....He even suggest that My girlfriend,me and my stepdaughter could sleep together in same bed......NEVER STAY WITH THIS PEOPLE AGAIN......

Room Tip: Pool water is dirty and blurry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Open for 60 years! On the beach in Puntarenas, to be honest it was the nicest looking place on the strip and we needed a place to stay for the night before traveling inland the next day. The Hotel Tioga was just what we were looking for. Quiet and easy going, and the pool was clean and relaxing. We also had a good seafood dinner around the corner.

Beach was not very clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband reserved the "executive suite" for several days on our vacation. We were given a 4th floor room with a mediocre bed, an old TV, two plastic lawn chairs, and an old dresser. The balcony had dried bird excrement on it and there were no other amenities. The noise from the dirty parking lot/ beach across the street went on all night and the neighborhood was pretty sketchy. When we checked out after only one night, the bill was over $140! This place is tired, worn out, and worth about 25% of what we were charged. The breakfast was adequate and the kitchen staff were pleasant, but that is the only positive thing we can offer. I would avoid the Tioga.

Room Tip: There are some nicer places at the end of the main street towards the ferry, but overall, Puntarena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I have visited this hotel for as long as I can remember, but the standard was not by far the same as it has been upon previous visits.
We had booked the so called "BEST" room in the hotel with a balcony, however upon arrival to the room there was nothing special about the room at all, not even a comfortable chair to sit and relax in, in fact the television was so old that we couln't get even access a quarter of the advertised channels and were given several non-functioning handsets. The wardrobe was so old and poorly maintained that meant that its sliding function was almost non-existent and you felt as though the doors were about to fall off with every pull or push. The standard of the breakfast was also very low, the rice was old and dry, fruit was tasteless, and portions minimalised far poorer compared to previous years. However the staff, as always were very happy and quite welcoming, with a positive attitude towards there job. The staff were approachable and always happy to help so no real faults there.

Also advertised on their website the hotel claims to have gym facilities, casino and transfers. Upon arrival we asked where the gym was located and were told there was a good gym in town...So gym facilities located in hotel.... I think not... The casino lays, lays well in a pile of rubble to be honest and is no more. And transfers, well their idea of a transfer seems to be book a taxi yourself. One more thing the lobby is bombarded with posters and banners advertising tours and day excursions, these are not operated by the hotel and run on a very, very infrequent basis and are not operated by the hotel but an outside company in a less than professional manner to say the least.

Overall The hotel is old, worn and overpriced, the buildings interior is in desperate need of refurbishment and some form of modernisation or at the least something ''extra'' for the so-called best rooms would be nice!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orotina, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Have stayed in this hotel perhaps 5 or six times over the last 15 years. The hotel was once the best on the seafront but is a little faded now. Previous criticisms of the slight shabbiness of the rooms and pool area are all true, the breakfast is sparse. The alleged free Wi-Fi signal is so slow as to be almost unusable. But I can't help myself, I love the place. The desk staff (Don Victor hasn't changed in 15 years) are always smiling and helpful, the hotel staff in crisp whites convince you for a moment or two that you're in the 1950's. Splash out on a sea-view room with balcony, rise above the noisy AC and slightly worn fittings in the en suite. Enjoy the view, soak up the atmosphere. While in Puntarenas get a taxi or whatever to the Seafood Restaurant Marisqueria La Leda in Caldera, 15 k away. Cost you $20 round trip but the seafood is the best in the area. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent a very nice few days at this hotel. There is nothing fancy here. We had a balcony room on the fourth floor. The room was furnished fairly simply but was certainly adequate for a short stay. All of the staff were very friendly and exceedingly helpful. The complementary breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, rice & beans, bread, fresh fruit and drinks. It was a nice start to the day.

The hotel seems to cater more to Costa Ricans on holiday than to foreign tourists. In fact, that pretty much applies to the town in general. It was a great chance to mingle with local people rather than have the sanitized resort experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tioga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tioga

Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tioga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tioga to your Saves list