We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days and will again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Brisas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Brisas
Save
You added Hotel Las Brisas to your Saves list
West end of Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Seen better days and will again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here early last week for one night. One reviewer said it right that this only exists for the ferry overnighters. We were taking the ferry the next morning and we almost skipped it and jumped on the ferry but dusk was approaching and we didn't want to drive at night. Plus I would have felt bad since they were holding a room for me.
The hotel is encased in a chain link fence so if you can squeeze your car in the tiny lot then it would prevent vandalism/break-ins. The pool was filled with families having fun when we arrived. It was a Saturday afternoon and It seems this is a great place for families because there are many bed combos you can have in your rooms. We had 2 full and 2 singles squeezed into our room.
Our room: Well, like almost every other place I have stayed in CR, the mattress sucks. We ended up sleeping in separate beds so we could try to be comfortable. The a/c was working a little too good for my tastes so I was cold all night but the the others liked the temperature. The rooms are dated. They have definitely seen better days but the hotel was not hurting for business. I'm sure it was sold out. The bathroom had a couple of broken slats of glass so we left the door closed to prevent the a/c from going out. I did walk by some of the upper level rooms and I think they may have been renovated slightly.
We paid about 139 for the room and since I didn't really see anything better i guess it's as good of a value as you are going to get unless you stop a few miles before the ferry. We were glad we did stay since once we got off the ferry there was really nothing until you got to your destination. Lots of farmland and fields and dirt roads. If you are used to staying in a Marriot full service 200 a night hotel then this could be compared to a Knights Inn 35 a night.
I will say that the desk staff and employees were very nice but hey, it's Costa Rica and there aren't very many mean people.
Nearby: from the hotel facing the beach if you turn left there is a restaurant just up the way that was pretty tasty. El Joron. We had a great meal there. further down is a lot more activity in the way of stores, restaurants, etc. The place is hopping on the weekend but deserted on the weekdays. If you go down the side road there is a great little soda about 2 blocks up.
The ferry is just around the corner. Turn right out of the hotel parking and go around the bend. Get in line and wait for the ferry person to come give you a laminated paper and then go to the ticket window.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Manager at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
hi.

thank you for your review.

you have given us a lot of feedback. thank you we have taken into account every detail you mentioned and since then worked in reconditioning a lot of things in the hotel so we can provide better service. we continually work in improvement but sometimes we miss details...

tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Although the hotel has a beautiful view over the bay, at $105 per night it hotel is overpriced -- $60 -- would be appropriate. The place is falling apart. For instance, the bathroom was not clean, the furniture was chipped, there were dirt marks on the walls and the drapery was crumpled.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Manager at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
hello. i am sorry we did not meet your expectations. and would like to know more about your experience in our hotel.

please write to the hotel email.

thank you for your review because this is the only way we can know what we need to become better....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool is nice. The food is excellent and the variety is great for a smaller hotel.
It is right on the main strip where all the action is. We were there Christmas week and it got quite loud. The doors don't seal well, but this is Costa Rica, everything is open air pretty much. It can get loud when the people are partying right outside on the beach and street. Other than that the rooms ae a good value since it is right on the beach strip.
Tony and staff were the best! They bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable and worry free as possible. It was a pleasure knowing them and we hope to return some day.
Thanks!
Henry & Mike

Room Tip: Streetside rooms can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Manager at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
hi guys. thanks for the review.

and likewise we hope we can welcome you again someday. it was great meeting you and your family and we enjoyed having you here...


tony and javier...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

There is superb food and service at this family owned and operated hotel. The pool is a welcoming place to relax. There is no glitz and the price was very reasonable. Conviently located close to ferry and beach as well as the town center.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Manager at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
thank you for your review. and we hope we can welcome you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My first stop in Costa Rica was to a town called Puntarenas where my friends and I were doing charity work at the local hospital in town. We had been given the runaround about accommodations and decided to take matters into our own hands. While we first found Hotel Las Brisas by looking for food, we were so pleasantly surprised by the entire property! The decor looks somewhat Mediterranean with mostly white walls, columns and a fountain over the end of the pool. The hotel has 3 levels and is right on the boulevard across from the beach. We decided that this was where we wanted to stay and we were taken care of as if we were with family. There is a beautiful pool in the center of the property and the 2nd floor features a gym as well as an open space to do yoga and other exercise. While we did experience one night of slow service in the restaurant, after talking with the owner we have yet to have a problem and have eaten all of our meals there. The rooms are spacious and feature hot water, AC, cable TV and wi-fi. There really was not a thing that we could complain about. If you find yourself needing to be in Puntarenas i could not recommend a better place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
hi.. am so glad you liked our place. and are looking forward to meet you again in the near future so that we can help in your projects in the area...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I've been to Puntarenas twice, and last time I stayed at the hotel next door to Las Brisas. Since both are the same price, we decided to switch it up and enjoyed our stay here so much more.

The hotel is clean and fresh, with an open, breezy vibe. We had dinner in the restaurant and the meal (especially the shrimp and rice) was excellent. The owner is Greek, so the menu featured Greek dishes as well. We sat with Tony for hours, drinking wine and looking at his incredible photography. He was a blast to hang out and share stories with, it was as if we had known each other for years.

It was a casual setting and a comfortable evening. A perfect way to wind down after being on the road for so long (although we felt the wine in our heads the next morning, it was worth it). We were able to get a good night's rest as well. My friend and I live in Tamarindo, so we travel around Costa Rica often. This place is one we are sure to return to every time we stop in Puntarenas.

Don't waste your time trying other places - we've done the work for you: Las Brisas is the best place to stay.

Thanks again, Tony!

Sara and Pauline

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi Sara... im glad you liked our place enough to write a review... thank you very much



tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The only reason we stayed here is we needed to catch the ferry early in the morning and this place looked the most decent. Room was OK at best. The pool was actually very nice and a good temp. Breakfast was super slow - dont even bother if you are in a hurry.

Would reccomend only if you need a place close to the ferry to Nicoya Peninsula and dont like waking up early.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi mark,

thank you for your review feedback. we will definitely try to improve on the breakfast time


have a great day


tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas

Address: West end of Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Brisas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.