We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS THE BEST PLACE TO STAY.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Brisas

Hotel Las Brisas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Brisas
West end of Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Puntarenas
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THIS IS THE BEST PLACE TO STAY.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I've been to Puntarenas twice, and last time I stayed at the hotel next door to Las Brisas. Since both are the same price, we decided to switch it up and enjoyed our stay here so much more.

The hotel is clean and fresh, with an open, breezy vibe. We had dinner in the restaurant and the meal (especially the shrimp and rice) was excellent. The owner is Greek, so the menu featured Greek dishes as well. We sat with Tony for hours, drinking wine and looking at his incredible photography. He was a blast to hang out and share stories with, it was as if we had known each other for years.

It was a casual setting and a comfortable evening. A perfect way to wind down after being on the road for so long (although we felt the wine in our heads the next morning, it was worth it). We were able to get a good night's rest as well. My friend and I live in Tamarindo, so we travel around Costa Rica often. This place is one we are sure to return to every time we stop in Puntarenas.

Don't waste your time trying other places - we've done the work for you: Las Brisas is the best place to stay.

Thanks again, Tony!

Sara and Pauline

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi Sara... im glad you liked our place enough to write a review... thank you very much



tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The only reason we stayed here is we needed to catch the ferry early in the morning and this place looked the most decent. Room was OK at best. The pool was actually very nice and a good temp. Breakfast was super slow - dont even bother if you are in a hurry.

Would reccomend only if you need a place close to the ferry to Nicoya Peninsula and dont like waking up early.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi mark,

thank you for your review feedback. we will definitely try to improve on the breakfast time


have a great day


tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

the hotel is nice, but the staff really disorganized.
i was looking for a simple accomodation just for a night, and the owner
proposed me a small room for a lower price. it was ok, but then the
receptionist told me I misunderstood, and the real price was higher.
then i asked her some information about how to go to a near locality
and she knew nothing. and last, they told me the breakfast was
included just when I was leaving, and as I had a tour booked, I
could'n take it. even if i payed a lower price respect the actual
fares, it was anyway too much for the service i had, and the room was
quite poor.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi...

im sorry for the bad experience you had with us. and im glad you decided to post a review we found your feedback very helpful.


have a great day.

tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesnowta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Needed a place to stay in Puntarenas, last minute. Immediately was attracted to:

-Location: on the beach
-Pool: very relaxing pool scene with a waterfall
-Restaurant: wide variety of worldly foods at very reasonable prices
-Friendliness: instantly felt at home
-Language: staff able to communicate in English and Spanish fluently
-Overall Attractiveness: unique design with an assortment of room types to fit your needs and budget

The stay proved all of those notions correct. The food was fantastic, including the 8 choices of breakfast plates in the morning which were of course fully customizeable. meals were served in an open-air dining room with the sound of crashing waves and views of Nicoya Peninsula across the water. The owner had very valuable tips about the area and transporation which were much appreciated. I found many restaurants don't accept Visa cards, or at least had a minimum purchase of $10 to use Visa. Alternatively, I selected a number of different drinks (wide variety of beers, wine coolers, wines, liquors) and paid for each individually on the card (oh, by the way, beer was almost as cheap here as it was at the grocery store (unheard of!)).

This is the kind of place you go out of your way to spend even just a night.

Ano

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi...
im sorry it took this much time to respond your review. thank you and im glad you liked your stay with us...


have a great day

tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Last February I revisited one of my favorite spots in Costa Rica, that being the hotel Las Brisas in Puntarenas. Great spot to stay for a lay over or home base . I love their offerings from the kitchen. Their greek food should not be missed. I think it has to do with the fact that they grow their own herbs and import their cheese, also make their own Mayo. Thanks to Tony (owner) and family. Respectfully ; James C. Plumb

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
MR.JAMES C. PLUMB

thank you for your review.
hope to have you with us again


tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

If you must go to Puntarenas, look for another hotel.
We left Arenal and decided to take the scenic route around Lake Arenal on our way to Manuel Antonio. The drive was slow and took most of the day and by early evening we were too tired to continue all the way to MA. We stopped for the night in Puntarenas at Las Brisas.

This hotel is greatly overpriced. We paid $130 US cash (for 2 people). The only reason we stayed is because other hotels were full and we were tired. Our room was ok but not great. Very basic. No quality. There was no hot water. The locks on the room doors are flimsy ... they're little pop-up locks that you push into the centre of the door knob. That's all. I have never seen this type of lock in any hotel. It seems one good push from the outside and the door could open. Service at breakfast was very slow. Eggs and toast were served. There is no atmosphere. Put the food down and leave. The lobby is garish and showy. Instead of a showy lobby, they should put a little more quality into their rooms and offer better service.
One small issue.. we lost a bathing suit while in Costa Rica. I emailed all of the hotels that we stayed at asking if the bathing suit might be there. Every hotel responded except Las Brisas. I emailed again and again no response. Some acknowledgment from them would have been nice.

I would not stay there again if I didn't have to.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi...

i would like to thank you for your feedback that has made us improve in a lot of aspects.and i would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

p.s. February is one of our busiest months due to carnival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Puntarenas was an unintended stop simply because we were exhausted from driving, and we found this gem much to our suprise. The hotel is beautiful - gorgeous white columns with pretty blue lights, amazing views of the Ocean and boulevard, and fantastic rooms. Our room had an ocean view and was immacuately clean. There was hot water and AC. Our only wish was that the bed was bigger (it was a full, not queen), and that there were extra pillows (they produced them when we asked). The bathroom was unbelievable! Super modern with glass walls so you could see the Ocean, and a HUGE shower!
The hotel is run by Tony (Canadian) who was extremely helpful and worked so hard to make everything great for us. We ate dinner in the restaurant, and it was delicious. I´m a vegetarian, and despite there being many options for me, I wanted something ´special´, which they were happy to accomodate.
We also had breakfast, secure parking, and free internet included in our stay. The entire package was spectacular. We´d come back anytime!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasbrisas_tony, Owner at Hotel Las Brisas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
hi. Janet

thank you for your feed back im glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel....
hope to see you soon...


tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas

Address: West end of Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Brisas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Brisas to your Saves list