We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis By The Sea B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oasis By The Sea B & B
2 kms sur de Hogar Ancianos | Juanilama, Esparza, Puntarenas 5500, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Puntarenas B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stellar Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had the good fortune to connect with Rob and Deb via the internet prior to my first trip to Costa Rica in January of 2013. I stayed near the San Jose airport the first night, but spent my second and third nights at their home. Their hacienda is an easy drive from Esparza and absolutely drop dead gorgeous when you get there. 180 degree view of the Gulf of Nicoya. Rob has a plethora of handmade guitars and loves to jam whenever the mood strikes. Deb loves to cook and every meal was fantastic. (Even though Deb doesn't eat meat, she was kind enough to cook bacon one morning for breakfast.) Rob escorted me for my first Costa Rican dental appointment and speaks fluent Spanish. And since they've been residents for many years, both can give you incredibly helpful insights on about any subject you'd care to discuss. I had such a wonderful time, I decided to stay on my last full day and night in the country on my return trip from Lake Arenal to San Jose. The last morning I awoke early, grabbed a cup of coffee and shot a video with my iPhone that will always be a vivid reminder of one of the most memorable vacation spots in my 60 years on this planet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOasis, Owner at Oasis By The Sea B & B, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
WE are the fortunate ones! YOU walked into our home and we knew instantly we were going to become friends for life. Similar perspectives on what is important in life: Relaxation, hammock time, laughter, flexibility and not sweating the small stuff (ugh, water is shut off!), cold beer, some decent food, intelligent conversation and a few hugs thrown in for good measure. This is the stuff that makes life worth living, and even better when someone chooses US to do this along side them. We know there are thousands of great places to visit in the world and thousands of places to stay while in Costa Rica so we never take these reviews for granted. We shall continue to earn them and enjoy our guests as much as we hope they enjoy us, and if not us, our animals! Big hugs Richard from all of us here in the campo. Come back again when the mood strikes and airfare is reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Knowing that Deb & Rob were waiting for us helped us have such a relaxing day at the beach. Their home was welcoming and they went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. Views of the sunset are amazing, and a cooling swim in the pool revived us to go out for a seafood dinner. Dude is the ultimate cool dog. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOasis, Owner at Oasis By The Sea B & B, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing a stay with us and taking the time to write a lovely review.. Hope we can host you again in the future. Dude & Chaka say woof, Sarita meow. We say pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Breathtaking 360 degree views, breezes off the bay below, loveable dogs, and the most amazing food we had in all of Costa Rica - that's Oasis By the Sea in a nutshell! Rob & Deb were wonderful hosts, catering to our every need, and preparing breakfasts that continually amazed us! We arrived, fully expecting to leave each day & explore the nearby villages, & return in the evening. But once we parked our car on our arrival, we never thought of leaving until we checked out!
We perfected the art of relaxation by beginning and ending each day out on their Rancho, freshly brewed coffee in hand, watching the world wake up around us.
We saw more varieties of birds from their porch than we had seen in an entire week at Manuel Antonio park...and Rob knew each and every bird by sight and sound. Deb's chocolate pudding was to-die-for, & the breakfast smoothies were yummo-licious!
The sunsets were magnificent every single evening, and the stimulating conversation that we shared throughout our stay convinced us we had stumbled upon kindred spirits on a remote hilltop in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOasis, Owner at Oasis By The Sea B & B, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you both for your glowing review. We enjoyed your company and appreciate your choosing us when we know how well traveled and how high your standards. To take the time and effort to find our little off the beaten path home is humbling and keeps us striving once we have guests to make it worth their while. Of course now I am addicted to ancestry.com! Thank you again for your kindness and choosing a stay with us on your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a wonderful, relaxing experience once again. Deb and Rob are outstanding hosts. Wonderful food, wonderful drinks, I LOVE the animals! Such a great relaxing time, I had to go back and do it again!
Thanks, again ya'll!!!!
Vickie

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOasis, Owner at Oasis By The Sea B & B, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are always appreciative of the reviews when busy working guests take the time to write one. We strive for excellence, as we know there are hundreds of thousands of places from which to choose when traveling in Costa Rica. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home, our animals and all the extras. Thanks again for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We made our first trip to Costa Rica on January the 18-25th! We stayed with Deb and Rob at their beautiful home/B & B! We had such a wonderful time. Deb and Rob were amazing and they have such a beautiful home. I feel that we have very good friends after our visit and would love to go back and stay with them again. Thank you so much for allowing us to experience a part of your special world.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOasis, Owner at Oasis By The Sea B & B, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you both for choosing and staying with us. We do feel blessed at having found this beautiful piece of the country and enjoy sharing it with others. Maybe one day you too will find your niche in Costa Rica and we shall meet up again. Dude and Chaka say woof-woof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed with Deb and Rob on the first night of our week-long trip to Costa Rica. We picked their place because it seemed like it was a good stopping point on the way to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. It was! They had a tasty dinner waiting for us, a pleasant, clean, and private bedroom, and in the morning, we enjoyed delicious local coffee and tamales (a Christmas tradition). Deb and Rob were gracious hosts, particularly considering that we were there on Christmas Eve and Christmas morning.

Our only constructive criticism is that they should provide error-proof directions to their house, which was hard to find after dark. Their home is beautifully located on a hill overlooking the coast, but the road to their house is essentially unmarked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOasis, Owner at Oasis By The Sea B & B, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time from your busy work schedule to write it. We are in fact addressing the difficult nature of "finding our b and b" as you kindly point out. We need to thoughtfully place signage so as not to pollute the natural beauty of the countryside. We appreciate your choosing us and finding us despite the difficulties! Sincerely, Deb and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Deb and Rob,
I want you know that I had an awesome time during my visit to your B&B. I absolutely made the right choice staying with you for the entire 8 days of my visit to CR, including Thanksgiving! Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality, wonderful cooking, and your vast knowledge of the area. This was one of the most relaxing vacations I have had and you both played a tremendous part in that by taking care of making reservations for me to go zip lining, hiking in the national park with Freddy, the day trip to Montezuma, and especially all the great food you both prepared. I hope I was able to bring a little bit of Nashville to Esparza during my visit, I certainly took home lots of stories about both Costa Rica and Texas. I hope to see you both again someday. Muchas Gracias!!!
David Hastings - Nashville, TN

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOasis, Owner at Oasis By The Sea B & B, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear David, Thank you for the stunning review. Our home is not big or fancy, nor is the food we prepare and serve, so we are happy to read we met your high standards as one well traveled. Glad we could help create a relaxing and memorable vacation. You entered our door as a stranger and left as someone who we enjoyed as a friend. You make us want to visit Nashville. The envy we have over the musical venues you regularly enjoy. Well, we do have our sunsets! Sincerely, happy hours just aren't the same. Keep some of this tropical vibe in your workday. Ciao, amigo nuevo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oasis By The Sea B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis By The Sea B & B

Address: 2 kms sur de Hogar Ancianos | Juanilama, Esparza, Puntarenas 5500, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have accommodations in our home in the campo 7 kms from Esparza. As expat retirees from the USA, we enjoy sharing our home and knowledge of Costa Rica. Your choices of rooms are as follows: Air-conditioned bedroom with double orthopedic bed. Private Bathroom w/ hot water shower. Plunge pool, Hammocks, WiFi, Skype, Satellite TV, DVDs, 15 minl easy drive to restaurants, 30 minutes to Ferry in Puntarenas for trips to Nicoya Peninsula, Puntarena's Fresh Fish market, Puntarena's main bus terminal for countrywide bus routes. 1 hour to Jaco, 45 minutes to Playa Herradura/Los Sueno, zip lines, 30 minutes to Tarcoles River and Crocodiles, 35 minutes to Carrara National Park, 20 minutes to Boca Barranca - internationally popular surf, Mangrove estuary, boat tours in nearby Puntarenas, 5 Paragliding sites within an hour of Oasis B&B. Snorkeling at Isla Tortuga from Jaco or Puntarenas Charter, Deep Sea Fishing from Puntarenas, Los Suenos or Jaco.Due to our remote location a rental car is highly recommended. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis By The Sea B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oasis By The Sea B & B to your Saves list