We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OkeyDokey Day Tours

OkeyDokey Day Tours
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 24 Activities in Puntarenas
Attraction details
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked an OkeyDokey day tour in Costa Rica -- wild monkeys, crocodiles, rain forest where we saw a group of coati mundi. A morning stop at a fresh fruit stand, then later in the day an excellent opportunity to eat as the locals do for lunch at a more out-of -the-way local restaurant...the guide was excellent and we got as much as one of the cruise ship sponsored shore excursions, at a better price!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Review OkeyDokey A-2 tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We purchased the A-2 tour from OkeyDokey Tours which was to be a 7 hour tour including the zip line, Torguero Canal Tour, banana plantation and processing plant, a beach stop with lunch provided, a scenic overview of Limon and countryside and coffee shopping.

Mr. Soto, who was also boarding another tour for which he was the guide, met us. Mr. Soto stood with my sister and I while we waited for his "helper for the day" to appear, and then waited while Mr. Soto organized the guide. Mr. Soto requested the our cash payment in advance in order to give money to the guide for admission fees. We were bundled into a taxi and headed for the zip line. In route, since it was still early, we stopped at a local fruit stand partaking of two types of very small bananas, a couple of bites of pineapple, and tasting a cocoa bean. Our guide presented us with a bottle of water as we left.

We went to "Jungle Breeze" zip line. Since it was just my sister and me, we were attached to a larger group from Greenway Tours. After getting our gear on and a safety demo, the Greenway Tour guide, and the non-zip line riders from their group, joined the tractor driver for the ride to the 1st platform. The Greenway Tour guide had the tractor driver stop several times to explain the jungle eco system, floral and fauna, even digging into research books he'd brought in his backpack for information.
The zip line guides were impressively safety conscious -- no one, not even themselves, failed to be linked to the safety equipment, except for the short seconds between unlinking and linking again. They were hard workers, getting all of us hooked to the cable system and off the cable system ... sometimes even having to go "fetch" those zip line riders who braked too conscientiously and ended up stopping short of the platform!
There was a "tip jar" for the zip line guides to which we contributed. They worked for it; they were cute and funny and took care of us.
The zip line was 9 platforms. The Greenway Tours guide met the whole group, with the non-zip line riders, at the last platform, taking pictures as we zipped to the ground.

That became the end of our A-2 tour due to the armed robbery that occurred in the banana grove that was our next stop.

Differences from advertised tour description:

Fruit stand stop -- the one we had was extremely limited and very uncomfortable. It was a local place with locals just sitting around staring at us; the owner seemed unprepared, abrupt and pretty rude. The fruit offered was very limited -- but did include the two major
Costa Rican crops - bananas and pineapple.

Cold water, soda and beer -- we received a bottle of water at the fruit stand. We could have used some cold water at the end of the zip line. No additional water was offered. Perhaps the soda and beer would have been made available at a later point in the tour. We don't know -- our tour abruptly ended.

13-platform zip line -- There were 9 platforms for the zip line -- less than 70% of what was advertised.

Notable for us - We like lots of information with our tours; we like a real guide showing us and telling us about their country. Our guide was more a cab driver than an informational guide. He was very NICE; he was supportive and did what had to be done after the robbery (though there was quite a lot of dithering -- but he seemed upset and confused about the robbery) finally getting us to the municipal police station to make a report, helping with translation while there, and finally getting us back to the ship.

Mr. Soto has, since December 22, 2012, agreed to refund our cash payment - but has continuously failed to do so though I've suggested many different avenues to effect the payment.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, not as advertised”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We found Okey Dokey tours on TripAdvisor and used them based upon others' reviews. The owner, Charlie Soto, was in contact with us via email and we made arrangements to take a private tour for my wife and I.

Upon arrival in Puntarenas we were met at the end of the cruiseship pier by one of Charlie's employees holding a sign with our names on it. He then handed us off to Charlie who introduced himself and asked for/collected our tour fees. Things went downhill from there.

Once we'd paid in full Charlie handed us off to a taxi driver that spoke no English. The driver had sense enough to bring along his grandson, who spoke passable English, but was in no shape or form a tour guide. As a result we didn't have the benefit of learning anything about the countryside we were passing along the way to our activity points.

On the positive side the tours we did were outstanding. High marks for the monkey feeding spot, an opportunity to press sugar cane, the Tarcoles River tour, and a great lunch spot.

The negatives were an almost complete lack of communication with our driver and his "interpreter", as well as having to experience every cruise travellers' worst fear...breaking down. It seems that the cab we were in was in bad shape. While returning to Puntarenas from Jaco our cab broke down going uphill on a curve. The transmission went completely out. Our driver had to signal a passing cab to stop and the two occupants were gracious enough to let us ride back to the cruise ship with them.

Hey Charlie- how about a bit of a refund for no English-speaking tour guides, and a breakdown that caused time and stress?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superior -covered all the highlights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our ship was 1 hour late into Puntarenas, but "su amigo Charlie" was there to greet us. Off we went, all six of us. First stop grocery store. Our guide came out with a bag. Didn't know why or what, but soon found a pleasant surprise. About 30 mins later, we stopped by side of highway on the edge of a forest. Our guide got out, made some monkey calls, and before we knew it many cappuchin monkeys appeared. He showed us how to feed the monkeys, including holding a piece of banana in the palm of our hands and folding our fingers around the banana. The monkeys came up, and with their fingers gently pealed back our fingers, opened our hand and of course grabbed the banana and jumped back into the trees. These were monkeys in the wild - not zoo or preserve. And that was just the beginning. Next trip on the Tarcoles River, where our boat driver got out into the water and actually fed chickens to the crocks. (He asked us to keep our arms inside the boat or we would also be food for the crocks). Fed many including an 18' .crock. Fed native birds pieces of chicken also. Next to the tram ride thru the rain forest canopy. Again awesome. (Watch out for the numerous ant trail crossings - marked with signs on the ground) Had a nice lunch at a non touristy local place. Saw Macaws, Toucans, and other wildlife, (We had chosen not to zip line). Last stop a nice, clean, fairly priced souvenir shop. By the time we got back to the ship, it was dark and we were both delighted and exhausted. Our guide and our driver were both great, guide spoke perfect English and answered all our questions. A day and money well spent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okey Dokey was more than Okey Doket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were on the Island Princess and yes, we had to walk up the pier, and were told this when booking. Guide was waiting with a sign and we were taken by a separate driver to a mini bus. We were only passengers and saw Capuchin monkeys, crocodiles, toucans and numerous other animals in our trip.We were taken for our zip line adventure which was organised by Charlie and they waited for our return. Had lunch in a small cafe with the locals and given the opportunity to do some shopping outside of town. We were able to stop and get out wherever we wanted, unlike those with other full tours, and take our time taking photos. We were constantly provided with information and history of the area and guide and driver could not do enough for us. Had a great time overall and got some fabulous photos that wouldn't have been possible with other tours. Highly recommend if fit and a little adventurous.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OkeyDokey Day Tours also viewed

Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to OkeyDokey Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OkeyDokey Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.