We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde inn to your Saves list
Monteverde inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Monteverde, Puntarenas 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Puntarenas B&B and Inns
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and Accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The price was right for a hotel with breakfast. There is free WiFi, and very friendly staff. It is a simple hotel, and it is in it's own space... Bring a flashlight to maneuver around outside after the sun goes down. There are not shades on the windows, so your day will begin at sunrise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willis, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a family run hotel. We stayed in a furnished cabin. It had two bedrooms with their own bathrooms and another bed in the dining area. It could have easily fit seven or eight people. They were able to organize tours and had walking trails on site. They did provide a home made breakfast every morning. The cabin was well stocked with kitchen gadgets and the beds were so comfortable. The hotel had Internet also. I can't say enough good things about it! Breathing views, great lodging and generous helpful people!

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room....they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateswood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Monteverde Inn is off the beaten path from all the touristy areas in Monteverde and Santa Elena. It is a nice, clean place to sleep with two sisters as your host. They are very nice, sweet and informative! They served us a wonderful full breakfast every morning before our adventures. There’s a nice trail to hike in the cloud forest. There is a beautiful view of the cloud forest. We saw monkeys, toucans, coatimundis, agudi and the mott mott bird.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egaa, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Friendly staff. The whole family enjoyed the breakfast, and also the near-by milkshake bar. Nice view to the pacific. Lots of birdlife in the garden. Appartments OK, the access to the hotels private secondary forest is good value. We recommend the forrest night trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family of 6 just returned from Costa Rica, and our stay at Monteverde Inn was our favorite part! This beautifully located Inn is very clean and comfortable, and the grounds are well maintained. We booked two rooms for our family (at $45 each, the price can't be beat). The Inn is on 40 acres of rain forest, and our children explored the many trails, spotting all kinds of wildlife. The view of the Gulf of Nicoya from our room was spectacular. Lizette prepared a delicious breakfast in the morning, organized all of our tours and dinner reservations, and even guided us on a nighttime tour of the forest! These two sisters are wonderful, and I would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the Gulf of Nicoya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Spartan but clean and comfortable lodging with private hot showers. Beautiful and peaceful location just minutes away from the nearby town of Monteverde. Well-kept grounds with beautiful views all the way down to the Gulf of Nicoya and across to the Nicoya peninsula! Full breakfast included and then we explored the rain forest trails on the same property at no added charge! The staff were friendly and very helpful. This is the best value for choice of basic lodging in the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed our stay. Our usual requirements were met: a safe, clean, and quiet location with hot water. Bonuses included: good view, easy access to town and places to eat, and trails to hike.

Our only suggestion would be to add a simple chair or two to the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde inn

Address: Monteverde, Puntarenas 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monteverde inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.