We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and good people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Surfside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Michael's Surfside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michael's Surfside Hotel
Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Puntarenas B&B and Inns
Dillon, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Great place and good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Michael's surfside hotel is a great place to stay. The people are great and the beach is like 50 feet from the front of the hotel. It's well worth the price that you pay.The hotel has Air conditioning, WiFi and a swimming pool. Michael can also get discounts on many different adventure trips throughout Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
23
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The decision to stay at Michael's was an easy one - The reasonable rates and the location! When my girlfriend and I checked in, we were a little disappointed that the pool was under construction (it should be finished now), but the beach was literally right across the street. The water temperature in May was absolutely amazing! Michael recommended taking the Calypso Cruise leaving from Victoria Park, approximately 1/2 a mile from the hotel, and ended up being the most memorable part of our stay in Costa Rica. During our four day stay, we had just enough time to relax, check out several of the restaurants and bars in Puntarenas, and make our way back to the airport.

So what? Puntarenas is conveniently located a short ferry ride from the Nicoya peninsula (the ferry departs three blocks from the hotel) where there are plenty of things to see, and is about a 1.5 hour drive from Quepos and the Manuel Antonio National Park. If you are looking for pleasant and economical lodging, Michael's Surfside Hotel allows you to save a little cash. If you are looking for an all-inclusive resort, the DoubleTree by Hilton is right around the corner. Be prepared to pay premium for the DoubleTree.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry Horse, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very clean hotel with relaxing pool area and great location. We had a car but really did not need it once we arrived. Michael and his staff are very kind and helpful. The ocean is just across the street and the ferry is only a couple of blocks over. Great Value!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Michael welcomed us enthusiastically to his hotel. Its a 8 min walk from the ferry, which is the main reason tourists come to this town. The room was clean, with cable TV, A/C, fridge and hot plates. There is a pool with a pleasant open area around it to relax. The hotel is opposite a boardwalk that overlooks the ocean.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So difficult to review this hotel because it's not luxurious (if you are looking for that), BUT ....overall WHO CARES! This is a great place to stay because the owner - Michael - makes your stay pleasant. He doesn't "eat out" much so don't expect restaurant reviews - DO EXPECT excellent service and kindness (including good advice about any little old emergency you might encounter). Puntarenas isn't our idea of a "destination vacation" but this hotel makes it better than you might expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went to Puntarenas to meet a cruise ship that my brother and his wife would be on visiting Puntarenas. What a pleasant surprise to find Michaels Surfside Hotel on the internet before I went there. The hotel is very clean, well managed and strong on customer service. The pool and patio was great with a nice ocean breeze for the hot afternoons to relax. I ended up saying beyond my brothers departure because of the hotel. Many places to eat and shop or just to stroll on the beach. It is a beach hotel, but one of the best I have ever stayed in and I'm from Florida. I will be back for many more getaway trips to the beach.

Room Tip: Being single I had a small room there is one iwth a balcony view of the pool, excellent....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weed, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a few days in Puntarenas. We were very lucky to find Michael's Surfside Hotel. Michael, as well as his friendly staff, made us feel right at home. The hotel is very clean, quiet, and right across the street from the beach. We highly recommend it. If we go back that way, we'll definitely stay at Michael's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael's Surfside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Surfside Hotel

Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet hotel on the beach, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Gulf of Nicoya, Mountains and islands of Nicoya. All rooms include A/C, cable TV, WiFi Internet service, Kitchenettes, private bathrooms with hot water and some with jacuzzi. Swimming pool and secured covered parking on location included. Lowest comparable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Michael's Surfside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Surfside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.