We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GPS coordinates are N8d 37.178’ W83d 28.560’” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danta Corcovado Lodge

Save Saved
You added Danta Corcovado Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Danta Corcovado Lodge
La Palma, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“GPS coordinates are N8d 37.178’ W83d 28.560’”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The GPS coordinates are of the office; they have 6m accuracy.

We loved Danta Lodge. Other than game camps in Botswana, it’s probably the coolest place we’ve ever stayed. Titi cabin is like being completely alone in the jungle.

The “outdoor” bathrooms are a delight – they’re part of the cabin but the walls are open at the top and you can see the jungle while showering. But you’ll want to keep the door to the main part of the cabin closed – especially if it’s night and the light’s on in the bathroom. It’s the rainforest; there are bugs here.

There are miles of trails to explore on your own around the property. Pay attention, though; some of the signs are a bit vague. It gets dark very quickly.

The mangrove tour is fun but avoid the double kayak. It’s really hard to paddle and to steer. The single kayaks are lots better.

The zip line (canopy tour) recommended by Danta is an easy introduction to other canopy tours in Costa Rica. It’s fun and easy and includes a few nice walks through the forest with a guide. The guides are very safety-conscious; there was never a moment when I was not clipped to something. Make sure you look down as you’re sailing over the canopy. Take your camera(s) and let the guides take pictures of you.

Danta Lodge’s first appearance when you drive into the parking area belies how nice it is.

Do the night walk with a guide. He’ll find things you’ll walk right by.

Go to Los Patos Ranger Station (GPS = N8d 34.363’ W83d 30.59’) with a guide; let him drive. The “road” is down the river bed and involves numerous water crossings. Swim in the waterfall.

Danta provides rubber boots but you’ll be happier with your own hiking boots. A pair of water shoes or well-fitting flip flops are nice to have to protect your tender gringo feet when wading the streams on the Los Patos trip.

The unbelievably loud bird – the first one you’ll hear in the morning – is a spotted wood quail. Listen here:
http://www.xeno-canto.org/sounds/uploaded/CDTGHVBGZP/Wood-quail2009-3-22-1part1.mp3

Room Tip: The bungalows give the impression of being entirely alone in the jungle -- we loved Titi. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed here with a group for 3 nights. The staff are so courteous and helpful and remembered all the names in my group of 14! Merlin the owner talked to our group about the history and his passion for sustainability. You will be amazed by all the wood work and creative furniture and the wooden snake on the path to the dining area == looks so real! This place is a slice of paradise. The individual rooms are so creative and you feel as if you are truly in the rainforst. Don't miss a hike on the trails or seeing the great documentary "Cracking the Golden Egg" about responsible tourism in Costa Rica. This place is pure "pura vida!"

Room Tip: Every room has its own charm and individuality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Danta lodge is a beautiful place, clearly built by creative people. The surroundings are superb (not only rainforest nearby, also beach and mangrove forest!!). With our young kids (6, 8 and 11 years) we decided not to go for a daytrip into the National Park. But we enjoyed the Danta own forest. And we went on a kayakking trip with a guide into the Mangrove forest. This was really great and so was the night tour at the lodge with guide Andre. We saw many animals during the 3 days that we stayed at the lodge (frogs, snakes, caiman, turtle, monkeys, sloth, etc). Prices for lodge, food and tours are relatively high.
We stayed at one of the bungalows in the forest. Really unique and with a true rainforest experience. For the children, the nights were a bit stressful: dark, many noices, but mostly the big spiders in the bungalow. They came through the holes in the wall (via a rotten pillar). Not dangerous, but huge!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Unfortunately, my experience was quite unlike these reviews. Yes, the ambience was wonderful and the cabins truly unique. The staff were excellent and most helpful. However, the owner did not even bother to greet me but just called over one of the staff when I showed up at the reception desk. I was there for 5 days and only did Merlyn bother to even acknowledge my existence and that was only because the reception attendant at the time did not speak enough English or me enough Spanish to be understood. I was the only guest the entire time so one would think he could have extended himself a little. The food was outrageously expensive with prices comparable to prices in the US. No where else in Costa Rica did a local beer cost $3.50. Lunch was $11.00 and dinner was $16.00. Since that was far too expensive for my pocketbook I took a taxi to a small store a few miles away and bought some non-perishable items to eat separately. Then I would eat the gratis breakfast and skip lunch and dinner at the lodge. Eating at the lodge was not very pleasant in any case since there was some construction going on was extremely loud. Even in my bungalow I could hear all the noise of hammering, sawing, and pressure washing so a quiet jungle experience was not to be had. Since I was solo was forced to pay double for any of the tours. This meant I only took the two least expensive since I was paying so much for them. I did enjoy the night tour and the guide was extremely knowleable. I was fortunate in that there eas an independent tour guide on the Osa shuttle from San Jose to the lodge so I was able to get onto one of his tours for less than it would have cost me for a regular double tour price ($65.00 versus $98.00) at the lodge.

If you have lots of money to spend on food then by all means stay here. Otherwise, find somewhere else since there is nothing else to eat anywhere close by. Be sure you are not solo or plan on paying over $180.00 for a single tour.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

If you're going to the Osa Peninsula in Costa Rica, this is a must. Friendly, wonderfully helpful staff and guides. Teresa's food is delicious and plentiful. Oh, the coffee! All served on the charming covered, open air deck. My favorite spot - one of the hammocks hanging just a few yards from the stream.
The rooms are clean and cute. We stayed in a separate bungalow. Loved the open air outdoor bathroom.
There's several miles of great trails to hike. We saw toucans, blue crowned mot mots, laughing falcon, & so much more! and they offer night tours of the property to see wildlife, and 2-3 day tours into Corcovado National Park as well.
This is not the place for everyone. This part of the country is VERY hot and humid. It's for hikers, birders, wildlife nerds and nature lovers. There is no a/c or hot water (trust me, you won't want any). There's no nightlife. They have cold beer and a full service bar.
WE LOVED IT.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011 via mobile

A delightful jungle experience 

Danta lodge is unique place. The design of the lodge & bungalows are amazing. The use of wood/bamboo & coconut shells for light fittings, taps, to toilet seats & bed canopies is so original. We loved our open airy & private 'bungalow'. No door??? why would you need one??? It was spotlessly clean quite luxurious & spacious. We loved the semi open bathroom.  Lying in bed listening to the Howler monkeys & the scarlet  macaws will be a lasting memory. 
The staff were all excellent. They were friendly, helpful & informative. Spending time here is so relaxing & calm. 
Tours are available but we saw Squirrel monkeys, anteaters, toucans, macaws, various birds, butterflies  & lizards around the lodge. 
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

What a wonderful and unique eco lodge! Great value for the rate all the way! The service, the food, etc... nothing to complain about! The bungalow was impeccable and charming. Quite an incredible experience in the rainforest, waking to the sound of the birds and the howling monkeys, hiking the trails, not being bored at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Danta Corcovado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danta Corcovado Lodge

Address: La Palma, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danta Corcovado Lodge is a uniquely designed lodge with Costa Rican flair and a concern for the rain forest. Nothing goes to waste because Merlyn is the wizard of creativity and design. step into a world of tranquility, and be amazed by all of the natural touches of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Danta Corcovado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danta Corcovado Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danta Corcovado Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.