We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving at the Bosque del Rio Tigre - A Pure Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bosque del Rio Tigre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bosque del Rio Tigre
Save
You added Bosque del Rio Tigre to your Saves list
300 m SE de Escuela Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving at the Bosque del Rio Tigre - A Pure Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

I spent four nights at the Bosque del Rio Tigre on a birding trip over the Thanksgiving Holiday and was quite pleased. Abraham the bird guide and chef at the lodge is quite awesome. I booked during the pre-high season, and lucked out as I was the only one at the lodge during this time period, so I had the run of the place. Abraham is an excellent guide who does not use tapes and has quite an ear for the birds of the area. I signed up for the unlimited guiding and used it to the most including a day trip to the Rincon area. Had excellent looks at several species of Endangered and Regional Endemic birds, and always a good dinner when relaxing in the evening. Elizabeth seems to pretty much run the day to day maintenance and upkeep of the lodge, and amazing job when you think about it.
When I checked out this lodge I thought the price seemed a little high, but after the experince of my own private bird guide, excellent food and good company the price did not seem high at all. This lodge is not for everyone since it is quite small (4 upstairs bedrooms with a shared bath. The showers are outside (but they are great - excellent showers) for cooling off after a hot humid day. If you are traveling alone or with a small group and are into bird watching or seeking to be near (actually right on top of) the rainforest this is for you. There is no big fancy pool or beach setting, just pure tropical rainforest,,,ahhhhhhh the joy! Remember this lodge is open to the forest and is not enclosed. the rooms all have mosquito netting over the beds....
Would I go back? - No question, of couse - even if only to feast on the excellent dinners that Abraham cooks and to lounge in the hammocks while listening to Elizabeth tell of the local goings ons..........A PURE TREAT!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MA,USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Getting to Bosque del Rio Tigre was half the fun, as the road got rougher and one had to cross a river three times to reach the lodge. Upon walking into this place, I can only use the word classy. It could have been overly rustic so far away from modern infrastructure, but the finish look is swanky yet chill. The beds are comfortable, the food is gourmet with candlelight, the staff professional, and the proximity to nature simply couldn't be any closer.
In the heat of the day the hammocks and shade of the building and the river just nearby were comforting. Being in the rainforest, the heat would dissipate in the evening and would take a while in the morning to come to bear on us. The guides were phenomenal, the owners were fascinating and their stories about this outpost that they built. I gave big tips to the staff. I mean at 4:45am you could see one of the young women walking down a trail with a flashlight and then crossing a log in the dark to get to the lodge, and then be absolutely quiet as they prepare gourmet coffee with banana bread.
What a place! And the wildlife viewing was memorable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

I can't say enough about this place. If you are a birder, it's a MUST in Costa Rica. The owners are outstanding hosts, superb cooks, and extraordinary birders. The lodge is small and perfect, with every comfort anyone could want in the middle of the rainforest. Above all, the birds abound on the property. You will see many lifers. It is well worth the plane trip to Puerto Jimenez.

  • Liked — Liz and Abraham have made a birder's haven in a birding heaven.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Everything in their website is accurately represented and we were the only guests during our stay. The lodge can sleep 8 and a cabin 2 more. The showers are in an outbuilding, but have plenty of hot water. To conserve solar electricity, candles are used at dawn and dusk, adding to a very comfortable and friendly place. The food is FANTASTIC. Local women are preparing the very freshest fruits and vegetables for 3 meals that were plentiful and very tasty. Our dinner entrees were tuna, chicken and mahi. Full beakfasts and lunches renourished you between 2-3 hour birding walks am and pm. Even in the rainy season, we did almost 13 hours in 3 days. They are strenuous walks uphill and through rivers-not for the faint of heart, but we are active seniors and were able to pace ourselves quite well, asleep by 8pm and up by 5:30 each day. This is a very clean and well run place, but make sure you are comfortable being so remote. Only thing I would do is pack clothing items in plastic bags so you can put on a dry shirt once in a while-if you ever get to Puerto Jimenez, make sure you ask for Andy the cab driver-speaks English, German and Spanish and is most pleasant and protective.

  • Liked — excellent guide, food and service
  • Disliked — remote location if there was an emergency
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed at Bosque del Rio Tigre for 3 nights in January. We found Liz and Abraham excellent hosts and the small number of guests makes for a nice, intimate atmosphere. The food was great and the accommodation comfortable. We opted for the cabana, as we prefer a private bathroom, but the rooms in the main house also looked very inviting.

Abraham is an excellent bird guide and the number of species to be found at and around the property is very high. Liz has great local knowledge which made our stay all the more interesting. We combined our visit with 2 nights at Bosque del Cabo which made a nice contrast.

Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I visited this lodge on the Osa Peninsula on New Year's Eve with little notice. The lodge is elegant and simple with few distractions from the scenery and birds. The hosts are welcoming and the food is first rate. The hosts are also accomplished birding and nature guides who provide individual attention to their guests.

In my short time there I was able to see many wonderful birds, including Scarlet Macaw, many hummingbirds and tanagers. The lodge has many feeding stations to encourage the birds to venture close for viewing and photographs.

My only complaint was that we did not have more time to spend at this wonderful retreat. I plan to remedy that on a future trip.

  • Liked — very focused on nature and birding activities
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to say about the experience or the accomodations.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

My family of 4 (2 kids, 2 adults) stayed here in December 2007. We stayed for 3 nights - as a part of a 2 week Costa Rica trip. This place was simply the best place we've ever stayed in - period. Our one regret in the whole CR trip was that we did not stay the 5 nights we'd initially planned - at BDRT.
Abraham and Liz are wonderful hosts. The lodge is beautifully constructed - environmentally sensitive and beautifully designed. High beams, no walls, local materials - all in a dreamy setting. Right in Corcovado National Forest. The food was delectable, beautifully served. The place is absolutely spotless and comfortable (beautiful hammocks everywhere, hummingbird feeders, on the banks of the Rio Tigre - and the crowning glory - a beautiful waterfall right on the property). We did many guided hikes everyday with Abraham and Luis (a student who does some guiding here). Abraham is a fantastic guide - and even after we left BDRT to Puerto Jimenez, Abraham took us on a trip to Cabo Matapalo. His knowledge is incredible and he is just a wonderful person. Liz goes out of her way to make the stay a memorable one. I really did not want to leave.
Note: This lodge is hardly for birders only. We saw in this area, over 100 species of both animals and birds. Yes - there were plenty of birds - but there were other animals too - sloths, monkeys, pizotes, various kinds of lizards, snakes (Viper/Boas, etc). Abraham is also an expert on frogs - we saw 2 varieties of poison dart frogs (on hikes) - as well as about 8 other kinds. During the night time hike - we even saw a cicada coming out of its exo-skeleton (this is rare - I know - but I guess we lucked out).
We all (kids too) loved this place and everything about it (leaf cutter ants everywhere on the property, yummy deserts, the bed with it's netting, the hammocks - just everything). It set a very high bar for the rest of our CR trip.

  • Liked — Location, Ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing at all - loved the place
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosque del Rio Tigre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Rio Tigre

Address: 300 m SE de Escuela Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very small specialty rainforest lodge oriented towards nature observation and birding. We provide very personal attention,excellent meal service and guiding. The lodge is situated outside a small village on the Rio Tigre and is completely surrounded by the forest. We have a maximum capacity for 12 guests. All 4 upstairs rooms and the two cabins are designed for nature viewing and open to the forest on 1 or more sides. Upstairs rooms have shared baths and the cabins have private baths. Cleanliness and guest's comfort are our goals. You will have access to many kilometers of trails both on our 13 hectare forested property and on the properties of our partners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Rio Tigre Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosque del Rio Tigre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.