We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Lodge

Save Saved
You added Iguana Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iguana Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Calle a Calle Platanares, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Congratulations to Toby and Lauren for the Iguana Lodge - they have done a remarkable job. The amenities are terrific (it IS the tropics, folks, so bear in mind bugs, humidity, occasionally uppity hot water supply). It IS the tropics - so take advantage of the chance to birdwatch from the pool, and get out-shouted by howler monkeys. Food is great. They take good care of you - go and enjoy.

Room Tip: We were a group of 6 so we took the villa - a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    39
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
55
101
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Spent four nights this January at the Iguana Lodge and found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Lauren and Toby are fabulous hosts and the staff that they employ are first class.
Saw howlers, toucans, macaws etc right from my cabina.
The breakfasts are great......really enjoyed the fish tacos,the Caprese salad and beverages at the Pearl.
Don't miss dining at the Iguana Rancho.....Chef Jose is very talented....my mouth is still watering weeks later when I think of his Indian chicken dish and chocolate banana creme pie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My brother, sister-in-law and I stayed at Iguana Lodge for five days in early January, 2013. They had one of the casitas, while I stayed in a room over the restaurant.The lodge grounds are beautiful, and there are many opportunities to see birds and even mammals (they have a wild, resident sloth!), as monkeys move through the property on occasion. It is also just close enough to Puerto Jimenez to be very convenient, so you can have a tropical eco-lodge experience without being hours away from everything, or jolting your back for hours on bad roads. The owners and staff were awesome, and the food was excellent. We ate breakfast and dinner on the property and were never disappointed. The chef in the lodge dining room prepares wonderful meals. Have at least one gourmet meal there, or sign up for the meal plan as we did.
Now, I do have to say something about the heat. I was there the same time AlisonEve, another reviewer, was. And it was HOT while we were there, and as she said, the rooms do not have A/C. However, the staff does put multiple electric floor fans in, and there is also an overhead fan. So I do say that while I was not always comfortable, the staff were doing the best they could. I love this place, and hope to go back again in the not too distant future. And while my room was fine, and less expensive, next time I will try the casitas.

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Traveled early in the season and we were one of three guests at the lodge. There with small children and they loved the animals and beach. my 70 + yr old inlaws also joined. and gound activities to meet everyone's pace. Meals were fantastic. Did a boat and hiking tour with Sydnar, the naturalist - both we're great with lots to see and learn.

Expect humid weather and bugs. Since the rooms are all open air so your clothes never really dry.

Two disappointments: Pool had been flooded out by the rain and was murky gross water. Construction of a private home on the adjoining property made it loud all day long.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glorialauren, Owner at Iguana Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you note, Iguana Lodge makes great efforts to meet the needs of all its guest no matter their age. Sidnar, our naturalist, is one of the best on the Osa.

You have every right to complain about the noise and the condition of the pool when you were this fall - the Good News is that our neighbor's construction is over and the pool is back to beautifully blue. No matter, the fact that it affected your trip adversely is truly unfortunate. We understand how important great vacations are, and are always saddened when our Guest have less than an optimal experience.

The noise, as you noted, was from construction at our neighbors. We actually complained multiple times but unfortunately the noise never seemed to abate. We actually shut down our rooms closest to the construction and put our guest as far away as possible to minimize the impact. Fortunately the construction and more importantly the noise is now over. We apologize for the inconvenience.

The pool was a mess when you were here. The pool currently and normally is crystal clear and blue. However just before you arrived we had some unusual flooding from the nearby river. While there is local flooding almost every year, in 14 years of living here we have never had the river flood through our property. This we believe is also due to our neighbor and his construction activities. We are in the process of resolving this is so it will not happen again. Unfortunately with all the mud that settled in the pool it takes a long time to get the pool back to its crystal clear blue. We did everything we possibly could to get it clean quickly but as we were all made aware with Hurricane Sandy in the northeast, it takes time to recover from these type of events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichullo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Iguana lodge is lovingly run by Laura and Toby, the owners
They have excellent staff
Kathrine and Gabriel were awesome (sorry if I spelled your names wrong) thank you for your attention and kindness
The grounds are beautiful, as is the beach and pool area
The casita we rented was very clean and nice
Loved the resident dogs, especially Spike
Kudos to the chef
Every meal was excellent, best food we had in all of Costa Rica
I would definitely return
It was hot and humid, very. Even the locals said it was intense. We may try September next time.
Scarlett macaws, and three species of monkeys from the pool

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights and loved the gorgeous grounds. The buildings are spread along paths fronting the beach and while the waves there were a little rough for us for swimming, we enjoyed walking on the beach and swimming in the new pool. A highlight was the Tuesday night barbecue and bonfire on the beach. Also, the staff was very friendly and we got to know some of them while we were there, and they remembered us and went out of their way to accommodate my cilantro allergy and to return my husbands lost GPS. Another highlight was the Matapalo walking tour with Sidnar, the resident naturalist, which was an easy but beautiful hike and Sidnar found lots of animals for us to watch. We stayed in a club room which was over the restaurant and included breakfast. The room was cozy, spotless, and the bed was very comfortable. We had one complaint which was that there is little privacy since the only windows are onto the main walkway/hallway and over the restaurant, and since there's no glass you can hear everything going on outside (and they can hear you). It was also very hot while we were there--in the 90s, and our room stayed very hot until well into the evening as there's no AC. Of you like the heat it's great, but it was a little much for us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glorialauren, Owner at Iguana Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review about Iguana Lodge. We are happy that you had a great time and appreciate your comments about the heat.

Dealing with the heat is a bit of a conundrum for us. Iguana Lodge prides itself in working towards environmentally sustainable solutions and appreciating the natural environment. We have chosen to avoid using air conditioning as it is not sustainable, and one loses the gentle breezes and the sounds of the tropics. So it is a trade-off, and fortunately most of our guests love the warmth of the tropics. We do provide multiple fans for people who don't enjoy the heat quite as much as they expected too, and are at this very moment, painting the roofs with a special solar reflective paint. The change is dramatic and reduces the radiated heat by minimum of 15 degrees. We think this will make a big difference in comfort levels.

Iguana Lodge only gets better through comments such as this. Again thank you for taking the time to from your busy day to give us this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What else can i tell you, but we come to Iguana Lodge every single year for Christmas and wish were still coming back every August as well. We are lucky to stay in the fabulous Casa, with three bedrooms, on three floors with fabulous views of the jungle. white face monkeys, howlers and Sloths are all visible from the third floor stone shower that hangs out over the house.

The overall Lodge is a friendly place with great service, unbelievable meals both at the Rancho and at the Perla, But one of the best things is the long stretch of beach with warm tropical waters to laze in - although occaisionally the surf can be very high and provide fantastic viewing of the local surfers off the beach.

If you are looking for a great escape and not the intercontinental or some 45 star air conditioned rooms which look alike no matter where you are than this is a special place... and you will always encounter an interesting blend of guests.

Room Tip: The rooms all depend on what you are looking for. If you have a large family- consider the house. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Lodge

Address: Calle a Calle Platanares, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iguana Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Lodge is the Osa Peninsula's premier beach eco-resort. Established over eleven years ago, Iguana Lodge is founded on the principles of sustainable tourism, personalized service, joy, health, and well-being. Located on the most beautiful beach on the Osa (no kidding), Iguana Lodge is a contemporary, lushly landscaped resort with a 20 meter lap pool and Jacuzzi, two yoga decks and complimentary yoga classes*, a deluxe spa, a fabulous Tico staff, award winning fresh, healthy meals at our two restaurants, our own naturalist, and excellent jungle and ocean adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Iguana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Iguana Resort Puerto Jimenez
Iguana Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.