We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive lil slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Jimenez
Save
You added Cabinas Jimenez to your Saves list
on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inexpensive lil slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Recommended by a friend that lives just a little outside of town. The rooms are spacious and clean. The one we had, I'm sorry I can't remember the number, had a tiny refrigerator in it. Great for purchasing out own fruits and yogurts for the morning breakfast. It also had a coffee maker in it.
All the rooms surrounding the pool which over looks the ocean. Super friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    128
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
81
189
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful location with a cozy, personal, unique touch to each room. I think the hotel is UNDER-PRICED.... GREAT STAFF!!! I got to know each of them on a first name basis. Very friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The dolphin tour on the "La Sirena" was amazing. Highly recommend going on that tour with Osa Wildlife Sanctuary added on. Walking distance to everything. Free kayaks and bikes... Great A/C, flat-screen TV and very comfortable beds. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Families, couples, singles, etc.

Room Tip: Water front cabinas are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Overpriced for the quality of rooms and customer service was poor. Often nobody was at the front desk and more than once we rang the bell with nobody showing up. The most frustrating part was the photos displayed of people riding on whale sharks at the front desk, which is not legal in Costa Rica. The manager admitted they allow people to do that as well as allowing people to swim with the dolphins, which also isn't allowed.

I won't be staying at this place again or bringing my groups of travelers there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
As far as being overpriced, where can you stay at a clean,Waterfront Hotel, with hot water, A.C., coffee makers, T.V., WiFi, a swimming pool and the free use of Kayaks and Bikes for $ 50 a night, for two persons.? My Manager and I do not encourage people to swim with Whale sharks or Dolphins. And yes, it is illegal, to do so, in Costa Rica. But how can it be legal to capture and keep in captivity, Dolphins let alone , to kill them for food.? John owner of Cabinas Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed the rugged countryside of the Osa Peninsula area and the warm hospitality we received at Cabinas jimenez, right on the water, a couple of blocks from the center of town. Great modern accommodations with A/C and a big satelite flat screen TV, comfortable bed, kayaks to borrow, and cute little pool to paddle around in, and walking distance to some excellent seafood restaurants, check out the local ceviche, just walk down the beach. Interesting just to sit on your huge balcony and watch the goings on on the ocean out front, highly recommended.

Room Tip: They all looked pretty nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Super service. The owner is incredibly nice, helped us get to the airport after our taxi failed to arrive on time. Super place for birding, awesome view of the beach (PLUS: FREE bikes and kayaks! $$$value). CLEAN. And there are super cute puppies to brighten your sunny day. :-)

5+/5, easily

Room Tip: The balcony room has an EXCELLENT view of Jimenez bay. Sometimes scarlet macaws fly right up to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We just got back from Costa Rica. We stayed at Cabinas Jimenez for two weeks and just loved it. It is the 5th or 6th time we have been there over a ten year period. John the owner just keeps making it better and better. The swimming pool was new to us and it was great. Our room had a kitchen and it was real nice not having to go out for breakfast every morning. But the best is the view. If you want a $500 a night view for about $100 a night this is the place for you. John's less expensive rooms are a great deal but his ocean front units are a steal. The staff is great. Everything is immaculate. The boat tours with Tom and John are breathtaking and informative. We didn't rent a car we had Ronnie drive us when we needed to go somewhere by car, and that was smart decision. We will be going back in about 6-7 months. This truly is a 5 star botique lodge at 2 star prices. I have no idea how he could improve it anymore. Capt Cal & Dinah

Room Tip: Go with a beachfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our welcome was a drunk owner.
Rooms on the street side are like a cage. Price is too high.
If you are going there take a room close to the pool or the beach.
Bad experience but the location is beautiful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
To my "bad stay" review. To say the least.... I am upset and offened by your review. My staff and I do the best we can, to make our guest stay, at Cabinas Jimenez wonderful. As far as the " price is too high" , for $ 50, a night for 2 persons, which is what you paid , you can have a nice, clean room with hot water, air conditioning , WiFi and a swimming pool. And also, the free use of kayaks and bikes. I truly believe you are mistaken, where you had stayed in Puerto Jimenez.... By the way, I was in the United States, visiting my family, when you stayed at Cabinas Jimenez. Have a nice day. John owner of Cabinas Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Jimenez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.