We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really glad we found this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Bay Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parrot Bay Village
Save
You added Parrot Bay Village to your Saves list
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Bloomfield, New York
2 reviews
“Really glad we found this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We tried to find a place to spend two nights and stayed in another hotel on the water that we did not like. We were told about parrot bay village and for $20 more than the other hotel we had a very nice loft cabin with plenty of room, outdoor sitting area, and nice garden landscaping. The location was private and we had a beautiful view of the beach. Perfect for relaxing and spending time swimming in the calm warm waters of the gulf. The restaurant was not open during our stay (we spent two nights) but the town was a short drive and several places along the waterfront were within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A little bit outside the bustling town centre, we were lucky to run into Parrot Bay Village. Extremely nice reception, good cottage, good value, an accurately tended garden; just at the beach. The almond tree ensures visits from the great Scarlet Macaws.
Restaurants can be easily reached on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there for three nights and after the exhausting days arround corcovado we could relax in the great bed. the rooms are clean and big. the bed was the vest in costa rica so far. king size!
diana and the staff are helpfull and friendly. its worth to pay this extra 20.- bugs a night for this.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We found Parrot Bay Village by chance as Puerto Jimenez was the place we needed to stop (sun going down) for the night. Parrots were coming in to roost for the night in pairs, which was a nice touch to the evening. We drove around town looking at the various accommodations, and none of them looked very inviting- of course harder to say in the dark- but we found a long, dark path that lead to Parrot Bay Village and, though it seemed deserted we found a couple of guys working in the restaurant who showed us some of the rooms that were available. The rooms were charming, lots of wood and fresh flowers, with balconies. The guys, whom we came to know as Kerly (Kayr-r-ly) and Christian, got us settled into a very nice room, and then made us some snacks and drinks at the bar. They are very friendly and warm and made us feel immediately at home. Later, the kids found a nature trail near the parking lot (marked with a sign) which lead into a swamp. With flashlights we saw several fat crocodiles and about 100 roosting egrets all clacking and chattering at our arrival. That night we slept like kings in very comfortable beds, and awoke at dawn to the sounds of mackaws and parrots circling overhead. Breakfast (included in price) was delicious, and once again we had the pleasure of Christian and Kerly's company. Fruit-loaded feeders are set up around the open air restaurant to attract many species of birds. The grounds of Parrot Bay village feature numerous fruiting and flowering plants which attract birds and butterflies. The bay is only 100 or so feet from the porch of the restaurant, so you can beach comb while your food is being prepared, or watch the fishing boats go out for the morning. Our girls (10 and 14) picked a coconut from a tree and Kerly took extra time after his shift to open it for them. The atmosphere of this hotel could be described as "comfortable and relaxed friendliness". Mary, the day manager, is also warm and cheerful. We would love to visit this place again.

  • Liked — The food, the location, the birds, the plants and trees, the bay, the view, the staff, the room
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

The hotel sits in a fabulously landscaped, serene oasis a few minutes from town. You can lie in a hammock and read a book, kayak around the bay or arrange for a guided adventure. Mary and Chad are dedicated to ensuring that you have a wonderful stay. The food was great and reasonably priced.The bartender and cook excelled at customer service. I would highly recommend staying in the roomy, nicely decorated and clean cabins. The overall experience was an A plus !!!! Mary
Seattle,Wa

  • Liked — friendly,helpful staff
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

My most recent stay at Parrot Bay was just two weeks ago. I had a business trip to Central America and added two days of fishing. This was my 7 th visit to Parrot Bay and every one has been a great experience. Chad and Mary are very friendly. Chris does a great job in the kitchen and Curley and Helen are wonderful at the bar and resturant. Joanna takes care of everything in the office and does a fine job.

The best part of my stay their was getting to fish with a fine set of captains and mates. Javier and Oliver both captains during the high season worked hard to find fish and we had some success. May is not prime time for offshore billfish, but we had fun on inshore species. I have fished with Javier before and he is always doing whatever he can to find and catch fish. If the fish aren't cooperating he will change up techniques, locations, baits and even stop a shrimp boat to trade beer and water for shrimp. We even managed to catch about 40 lbs for shrimp. Chris turned the fresh catch of snapper and shrimp into a fantastic dinner from the kitchen.

In summary, I would not hesitate to recommend Parrot Bay to anyone interested in visiting the Osa for either fishing or sightseeing. It is a great little place with top class people.

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Disliked — Rain
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed here several nights this February and I still haven't decided what I think of it overall. Maybe that this place is trying to be a fishing lodge and you should think twice about staying with them if that's not the purpose of your trip.

First the good things:
Large room with beautiful details and comfortable bed.
Overhead fan and working air conditioning (which we used a couple of afternoons).
Good breakfast with that wonderful white Osa pineapple.
Super service from the local guy running the restuarant.
No glitches checking in or out, cheerful adjustment of our fishing price when we switched (at their suggestion) to a cheaper option.
Nice (but short) path along a lagoon opposite the lodge with lots of birds and large reptiles.
We had good fishing on a nice boat with a really 1st rate crew.

Now the iffy things:
The lodge grounds are very small and all the cabinas cluster around the open air bar. This means that you can't escape hearing guys brag about their fishing by going to your room. Unless you close windows and turn on the ac, it's like sharing your room with a bunch of loud and sometimes offensive men out on their own. (They were probably perfectly nice people in mixed groups, but on all guy fishing trips they just had to brag and do the whole one-up-on-you thing - at length.) But since they were serious fishermen they didn't stay up late - I think things wound down before 9 pm.

The activity prices were pretty much as advertised in advance - except that they included very steep transportation fees. Taxi rides were really steep for what they involved. That could be avoided by having a rental car, but there's no way to avoid the very expensive boat rides required for some things, that weren't included in the activity price. That should have been pointed out in advance. Also, some of the activities offered in the room brochure are no longer offered. They haven't been removed from the packages, indicating a slightly disorganized office staff.

I got the impression from talking to other guests that very little of our pricey fishing trip cost was passed along to the captain and mate. Apparently they're expected to make their money off tips and selling the day's catch. If we do this again, we won't use the lodge to set up our fishing trip, but will go with an independant captain/guide.

The management staff has changed very recently and there's a slightly disorganized feel to the entire place. Maybe that will improve as time goes on.

  • Liked — Large nice rooms
  • Disliked — Noise from bar
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parrot Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Bay Village

Address: Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Parrot Bay Village Hotel
Parrot Bay Village Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.