We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Bay Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parrot Bay Village
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there for three nights and after the exhausting days arround corcovado we could relax in the great bed. the rooms are clean and big. the bed was the vest in costa rica so far. king size!
diana and the staff are helpfull and friendly. its worth to pay this extra 20.- bugs a night for this.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We found Parrot Bay Village by chance as Puerto Jimenez was the place we needed to stop (sun going down) for the night. Parrots were coming in to roost for the night in pairs, which was a nice touch to the evening. We drove around town looking at the various accommodations, and none of them looked very inviting- of course harder to say in the dark- but we found a long, dark path that lead to Parrot Bay Village and, though it seemed deserted we found a couple of guys working in the restaurant who showed us some of the rooms that were available. The rooms were charming, lots of wood and fresh flowers, with balconies. The guys, whom we came to know as Kerly (Kayr-r-ly) and Christian, got us settled into a very nice room, and then made us some snacks and drinks at the bar. They are very friendly and warm and made us feel immediately at home. Later, the kids found a nature trail near the parking lot (marked with a sign) which lead into a swamp. With flashlights we saw several fat crocodiles and about 100 roosting egrets all clacking and chattering at our arrival. That night we slept like kings in very comfortable beds, and awoke at dawn to the sounds of mackaws and parrots circling overhead. Breakfast (included in price) was delicious, and once again we had the pleasure of Christian and Kerly's company. Fruit-loaded feeders are set up around the open air restaurant to attract many species of birds. The grounds of Parrot Bay village feature numerous fruiting and flowering plants which attract birds and butterflies. The bay is only 100 or so feet from the porch of the restaurant, so you can beach comb while your food is being prepared, or watch the fishing boats go out for the morning. Our girls (10 and 14) picked a coconut from a tree and Kerly took extra time after his shift to open it for them. The atmosphere of this hotel could be described as "comfortable and relaxed friendliness". Mary, the day manager, is also warm and cheerful. We would love to visit this place again.

  • Liked — The food, the location, the birds, the plants and trees, the bay, the view, the staff, the room
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

The hotel sits in a fabulously landscaped, serene oasis a few minutes from town. You can lie in a hammock and read a book, kayak around the bay or arrange for a guided adventure. Mary and Chad are dedicated to ensuring that you have a wonderful stay. The food was great and reasonably priced.The bartender and cook excelled at customer service. I would highly recommend staying in the roomy, nicely decorated and clean cabins. The overall experience was an A plus !!!! Mary
Seattle,Wa

  • Liked — friendly,helpful staff
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

My most recent stay at Parrot Bay was just two weeks ago. I had a business trip to Central America and added two days of fishing. This was my 7 th visit to Parrot Bay and every one has been a great experience. Chad and Mary are very friendly. Chris does a great job in the kitchen and Curley and Helen are wonderful at the bar and resturant. Joanna takes care of everything in the office and does a fine job.

The best part of my stay their was getting to fish with a fine set of captains and mates. Javier and Oliver both captains during the high season worked hard to find fish and we had some success. May is not prime time for offshore billfish, but we had fun on inshore species. I have fished with Javier before and he is always doing whatever he can to find and catch fish. If the fish aren't cooperating he will change up techniques, locations, baits and even stop a shrimp boat to trade beer and water for shrimp. We even managed to catch about 40 lbs for shrimp. Chris turned the fresh catch of snapper and shrimp into a fantastic dinner from the kitchen.

In summary, I would not hesitate to recommend Parrot Bay to anyone interested in visiting the Osa for either fishing or sightseeing. It is a great little place with top class people.

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Disliked — Rain
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed here several nights this February and I still haven't decided what I think of it overall. Maybe that this place is trying to be a fishing lodge and you should think twice about staying with them if that's not the purpose of your trip.

First the good things:
Large room with beautiful details and comfortable bed.
Overhead fan and working air conditioning (which we used a couple of afternoons).
Good breakfast with that wonderful white Osa pineapple.
Super service from the local guy running the restuarant.
No glitches checking in or out, cheerful adjustment of our fishing price when we switched (at their suggestion) to a cheaper option.
Nice (but short) path along a lagoon opposite the lodge with lots of birds and large reptiles.
We had good fishing on a nice boat with a really 1st rate crew.

Now the iffy things:
The lodge grounds are very small and all the cabinas cluster around the open air bar. This means that you can't escape hearing guys brag about their fishing by going to your room. Unless you close windows and turn on the ac, it's like sharing your room with a bunch of loud and sometimes offensive men out on their own. (They were probably perfectly nice people in mixed groups, but on all guy fishing trips they just had to brag and do the whole one-up-on-you thing - at length.) But since they were serious fishermen they didn't stay up late - I think things wound down before 9 pm.

The activity prices were pretty much as advertised in advance - except that they included very steep transportation fees. Taxi rides were really steep for what they involved. That could be avoided by having a rental car, but there's no way to avoid the very expensive boat rides required for some things, that weren't included in the activity price. That should have been pointed out in advance. Also, some of the activities offered in the room brochure are no longer offered. They haven't been removed from the packages, indicating a slightly disorganized office staff.

I got the impression from talking to other guests that very little of our pricey fishing trip cost was passed along to the captain and mate. Apparently they're expected to make their money off tips and selling the day's catch. If we do this again, we won't use the lodge to set up our fishing trip, but will go with an independant captain/guide.

The management staff has changed very recently and there's a slightly disorganized feel to the entire place. Maybe that will improve as time goes on.

  • Liked — Large nice rooms
  • Disliked — Noise from bar
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

Parrot bay was a very charming resort. The rooms were comforatable and well decorated. The resort itself was beautiful. The nicest place we stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. The staff were very nice and catered to all of our needs. I would recommend this hotel, but consider the following:

Few minor gripes:

1) The showers have instant hot water heaters and it was hard to get a comfortable shower. The water was either scalding hot or very cold. There was no middle ground. We complained about it and the reply was "what do you expect, this is Costa Rica"

2) The tour we were recommened by the hotel to Mato Palo was nice, but we thought the tour guide did a poor job for the money we paid. The guys name was Juan Carlo or Juan Castro or something like that. I would recommend finding someone else.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — the showers
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Just wanted to share my experience of Parrott Bay in the form of a letter I wrote to them - but despite having e-mailed it a few times and faxing it as well, I have not even received a reply!
Good Afternoon,
We have now returned from Costa Rica and I would like to express how unhappy
we are at the 'service' we received at your hotel.
We were picked up as arranged from the airport, but instead of the Welcome Drink the rate was supposed to include, on arrival we were told that we
would not be getting breakfast, as the restaurant would be closed. This also meant that instead of eating our other meals at the restaurant, as we had
planned to do, we would be forced to go out for our meals.
Although a small rebate was offered to compensate for the breakfast, this was decidedly nsatisfactory, but worse was to come. It was then mentioned that the bar was closed too, so no chance of a cold beer. The young lady then added that maintenance men were working on the cabins, but she would ask them to stop
when we were in our cabin so it would not be too noisy and moreover, she was just about to leave the premises in the next hour, so if we could let her
know within the next 30 minutes of any tours we may want, otherwise she would not be there!
At this point I asked if any other guests were staying, and she said no. I asked if anyone was at the hotel if we needed anything, and she mentioned
that the maintenance men were about.
To sum up then, no restaurant, no bar, no staff, no guests, maintenance being carried out-in effect, and she had to agree with this, you were closed, but you did not have the courtesy to advise us of this before our arrival.
Your web site states-
Parrot Bay Village is full service, soup to nuts.
Why Choose Parrot Bay Village as your place to stay and explore Costa Rica?
Personalized service possible due to our size, not too big and not too small. The first class Parrot Bay Village service starts when you land..
Our beautifully appointed private accommodations (cabinas), and great food
This is not what we experienced, but it was what we were led to believe, and
you happily took our credit card details despite non of the above being
available.
That, however was not the end-
We asked the lady in the office to find us alternative accommodation, and she rang around, but it seemed that most places were either closed (and
declared themselves closed) or full. We had been up since 05.00 am to catch our early flight to Puerto Jimenez, and had envisaged that by now we would
be sitting in the gardens, relaxing with a cold drink, and instead we found we had nowhere to stay. The lady eventually said she could get us into Black
Turtle Lodge and put us into a taxi.
On arrival at Black Turtle Lodge, the owner looked surprised to see us, and when I explained that we had been sent over from Parrot Bay Village, she
said she had told the girl there that she had no rooms available! We could not believe that we had been deliberately misled, presumably so that we
would no longer be the responsibility of Parrot Bay.
In the end, tired and frustrated, we managed to extend our stay at Bosque Del Cabo, where we had planned to stay after our 2 nights at Parrot
Bay-thankfully they managed to accommodate us for the 2 earlier nights as well. ''
I had hoped they would acknowledge our e-mail and at least apologise, but I have heard nothing. This was sent on 27th November 2007.

  • Disliked — didn't get a chance to see it as they were closed
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.0 mi away
La Choza del Manglar
La Choza del Manglar
#14 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#3 of 7 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Bay Village

Address: Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Parrot Bay Village Hotel
Parrot Bay Village Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parrot Bay Village to your Saves list