We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can almost Guarantee you that you "Will Be Back"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crocodile Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Crocodile Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crocodile Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Airport Road, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Valrico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I can almost Guarantee you that you "Will Be Back"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I am not sure how to thank everyone a Crocodile Bay for a " Fantastic Trip . " Hopefully you can forward this message on to the appropriate individuals. Bo, Todd, Anthony, German and the gang were great! Everything went of like clock work. The fishing was everything that one could ask for and more. My daughter caught a 50 lb Rooster, and I came in second not far behind with a 45-pound Rooster, and we split the duty on a 40-pound Rooster. I did manage to bet her out with a 25 lb red snapper and my 57 " Barracuda. All of which will be seen in future article.

Sandy, Kree and I want to thank everyone for one of our most enjoyable vacations to date. I personally am looking forward to returning again and hopefully not in thirteen years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
30
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The staff, the accommodations, the food, the service, the fishing, the tours, the wildlife, the atmosphere, the scenery; it's all amazing! The staff make you feel very welcome the moment you walk in, and make your stay a true vacation! The food was delicious, every meal of the day! Their attention to details is unmatched and amazing. The tour guides are extremely knowledgeable and a lot of fun! Our boat captains were so friendly and helped us catch more fish than we could have imagined! This has to be the best place on Earth! We recommend Crocodile Bay for anyone looking to have a great experience with friends, family, or coworkers. Don't miss this!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have better views of the surrounding wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had such a great time, it was like having another family. Beau and all the staff couldn't do more for us. We will be going back for sure. THANX for a great stay. If you can stay in a villa it's great...

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, I was in a villa, even better!!! The spa is FANTASTIC!!! Oh yeah the fishi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leck57
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The staff at this resort made us feel more welcome than anywhere i've travelled. We went for a week in february. The weather was perfect, and while the fishing wasn't fantastic, the crews worked hard and customized each day based on what we felt like fishing for. The activities/excursions were awesome as well. We did the ziplining and man grove kayaking. We also had one day where the staff took us to the beach. The arranged for drop off and pick up and packed a FULL cooler for us. The food and service were also fantastic - although we wish they had opened up the outside grill buffet for at least one of our nights.

Just a tip: There was a power outage every night so if you are getting up early to fish, set your phone alarm, bring a battery powered travel clock or set up a wake up call.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have returned from our stay w Crocodile Bay and struggle returning to work. The staff did a remarkable job. Todd Staley ran the fishing services superbly. Boat captains and deck hands were hard working and commited to ensuring our enjoyment. Our requests were promptly attended too. Captain Edwin and deck hand Saul met all of our expectations. The fishing wasn't particularly strong for the week fleet wide. Eco guides Dennis, Diego, Mateo were very knowledgeable and accomodating. Wait staff of Ronny, Floribeth, Helen and Marie were outstanding and we so enjoyed their personalities. Our driver to and from the PJ airport was so helpful. I'm struggling with sharing how wonderful CB is for one of the greatest charm is the remoteness and under developness of the Osa Penn. We will be back. Thanks to all for giving us a perfect vacation. Greetings to all and Pura Vida. Barry Broman

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

First and foremost, the staff was phenomenal! Olimpia, Diego, Helen, Mateo, Carlos, & the entire staff outstanding!!! Beautiful scenery, perfect weather, although we did not have a plentiful fishing experience, the others who accompanied us did! The incects and spiders were a bit overwhelming especially in our room. Was not comfortable due to
the large spiders sharing my room. The Eco tours were amazing!!! Can't say enough!!!!! Was a truly unforgettable experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Crocodile Bay for a 5-night getaway in mid-January. What a great experience!

The reservation specialist who helped me was very professional and responsive. He made sure both of our travel itineraries was in order and we felt secure in knowing a resort representative would be there to help us through our travels.

Upon arrival at the resort we were warmly greeted and any questions we had were answered. The accommodation we had was spacious and well maintained. Room service did a nice job on a daily basis. Air conditioningf worked great.

We fished for 4 days straight and were not disappointed once. Fishing was better on some days then others, but hey, that's fishing! We caught our share of fish including roosters, yellowtail snapper and a nice sailfish that put on quite a show! The captain and mate worked hard all day to make sure we had our share of opportunities. We also saw a humpback whale fully breech out of the water a few times!

Meals and their accompanied service were first class. The staff was so friendly and eager to help. The pool on property was lovely and the swim-up bar a nice touch. Wifi was great in the lobby, restaurant and bar and they had 2 computers for guests with high-speed Internet.

On our 4th day I went out fishing while my girlfriend took in a spa day. She said the spa technicians were first-rate and the services were just what the doctor ordered after 3 days of fishing hard and soaking up the sun.

Upon departure we wished we had a few more days, but that's why we'll be back! Thank you again Crocodile Bay for memories that will last a lifetime!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be well equiped. No TV's or wifi in rooms (no big deal), but bring a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crocodile Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodile Bay Resort

Address: Airport Road, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crocodile Bay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive packages for World-class Billfishing offshore or Roosterfish, Snapper, & Dorado inshore. Kids love our 24 exclusive Ecotours - Corcovado Rainforest, Zipline, Mangrove Kayaking, & Moms love our luxurious state-of-the-art Spa with a full complement of 30+ Spa massages, facials and full body treatments. Set on 44 lush tropical acres in the bio-diverse Osa Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Crocodile Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodile Bay Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Crocodile Bay Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crocodile Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.