We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging, exhilarating and educational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everyday Adventures Day Tours

Everyday Adventures Day Tours
Apartado Postal #15, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
011 506 8 353 8619
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Challenging, exhilarating and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is by far the best adventure tour I have done in Costa Rica. Andy was an amazing host who shared his lovely ocean side property with us before and after our excursion. He is an extremely knowledgeable biologist who taught us about the flaura and fauna of the rainforest and introduced us to the delicacy of eating termites along our way to the 60' Banyan tree we climbed. He was extremely patient with everyone attempting to climb the tree from a six year old child to the adults ranging in sizes and abilities. He was able to encourage those to succeed even when they were contemplating giving up to find their own way to reach the top and ring the bell where you could lookout over the ocean on the other side. He made you feel very safe even for those afraid of heights as you made that final leap of faith jumping out of the tree and belaying back down while performing any kind of acrobatic or yoga pose on the rope you desired. Our second activity then included rappelling down a water canyon. He and his staff were very efficient at getting us all safely through the day in a safe and fun manner. This is a "must do" activity for anyone visiting in the Corcovado, Peurto Jimenez area!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVRYFKNDY, Owner at Everyday Adventures Day Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
I am just now writing to the overwhelmingly positive reviews from our past guests. It is such great fortune to have an occupation which educates others about tropical ecology and empowers them to reach levels of confidence in avenues they might not have explored previous. In truth, me and my guides feed off the stoke of our clients and love what we do! Pura Vida... Todo Los Dias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Outstanding jungle hike and tree climb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Take a day hike in the jungle and a tree climb with Andy. He is my favorite kind of guide/teacher--- deeply passionate about the things he knows as a wildlife biologist, engaging as a guide, super-knowledgeable, very personable to make everyone in your group at ease and having fun in the jungle, even while the more adventurous amongst you hold a baby boa constrictor and eat termites from a hive and let baby crawfish nibble your toes in a giant waterfall pool. We climbed a 60' Banyan tree while Andy expertly belayed us up the tree and leapt like Tarzan out and belayed slowly back down. A good time was had by all, and I can't recommend his tour highly enough for your time on the Osa Peninsula.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Exhilarating and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spent a week at a nearby yoga retreat, working hard. This was pure fun and what a great afternoon it was! Our guide was Michael and we enjoyed hiking through the jungle, spotting wildlife, learning about the ecology, scampering up a stream and of course, climbing the huge strangler fig and jumping off into the canopy. I would recommend this outing to anyone!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
“Highlight of Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent half a day exploring the rain forest, waterfalls and tree climbing with Everyday Adventures. We were so fortunate to have Andy as our guide. He was outstanding - extremely knowledgeable, entertaining and personable from the minute we arrived. We would highly recommend the experience to anyone visiting the Puerto Jimenez area! Frank and Deb

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the best experience of Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We took the tree climbing tour.

We were staying in Puerto Jimenez (about 5.5 hrs drive from San Jose) -- south west of San Jose. South west is one of the beautiful areas of Costa Rica. This is the place if you want to take day or multi-day trekking tour in Corcovado National Park (Rain forest),

Anyways, tree clibming tour is located in Cabo Matapalo. It is about 20km (an hour drive from Puerto Jimenez) on the way to Corcovado Nation Park. It is beautify rustic drive -- gravel road with some creeks on the way. You need a 4 wheel drive to cross these creeks. They will give you directions when you sign up. Also, you can use GPS (which is a must if you are driving in Costa Rica).

Andy (owner) was our guide. He is a walking encyclopedia when it comes to flora and fauna. Also, he is very humorous person. You will definitely get impressed with his knowledge. It is a nice walk to the fig tree which is about 70 ft high to climb. You will get an harness for safety. There are a couple or more different ways to climb depending upon your stamina/agility. When you climb up there, you will get nice panoramic gulf coast view. After you catch a little breath (if you happened to take difficult roots to climb), you can jump to about mid way and then swing like Tarzan for while. And then, you will be gradually descended to ground.

Also, there is nice stream and waterfall on the way. There is also an option for Water rappelling if you have time/interest in combination with tree climbing.

On the whole it was a fresh and memorable experience. In case, if you are going with family and one of you decided not to take tree climb, you can do so. It is still worth it as the trek itself is beautiful.

I strongly recommend it for both kids and adults alike.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everyday Adventures Day Tours also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Everyday Adventures Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everyday Adventures Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.