We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating termites on Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everyday Adventures Day Tours

Everyday Adventures Day Tours
Apartado Postal #15, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
011 506 8 353 8619
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eating termites on Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My nephew and I started our two week stay in Costa Rica spending a couple of nights in Andy and Terry's chaming beach guest house. You thought you were in a tropical paradise. On Christmas we did the jungle hike, tree climbing and waterfall rappelling tour with Andy who was a great and enthusiastic guide. He was very knowledgeable about the jungle habitat and animals. At the end of the tour we sampled some live termites which actually weren't bad. The next day they arranged surfing lessons for us. We purchased food ahead of time and cooked all of our meals. Cabo Matapalo is off the beaten path and you certainly need a 4wheel drive vehicle as the 18k drive from Puerto Jimenez is pretty bad but the end result is worth it. It was a great way to start our trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tarzan Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our group signed up for just the tree climb, and it was great. The hike to the tree is pretty exhilarating on its own as you hike across, through and then up a river to a waterfall. Our guide, Scrappy, was great, helping us in and out of our harnesses and then up and down the tree. This is a Costa Rican experience you will not soon forget!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I wish I had this in my backyard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nothing compares. This is the best adventure in Costa Rica, hands down. One of the only guided tours I would do again. Andy, the guide, is hilarious and full of interesting information about the jungle. Do it at the beginning of your trip so you can use your learned material throughout your remaining time in Matapalo. The tree climb gives you a feel of what it's like to be a monkey and the water repel is well, exhilarating to say the least! Do it, go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everyday Adventures August 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

During our stay at Casa Dos Rios, near Matapalo on the Osa Peninsula, we booked a tour with Andy. We started with a wonderful hike and climb up the river canyon, where we were able to spot a fer-de-lance and poison dart tree frog right on the riverbank. Monkeys and agoutis were also abundant during the tour. He also took us to the giant strangler fig tree above King Louie's waterfall. To our surprise, because we hadn't requested it, he hooked us up to his climbing harnesses, and we climbed that tree and then jumped from the top and swung! What a thrill! Andy was incredibly knowledgable about the local fauna and their relationships to each other, and was very patient with our kids and their questions. He was also very open, inviting us at the end of the hike to join him and his family at his beautiful home on the beach. We couldn't have been more impressed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip to the Osa Peninsula!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

During our trip to the Osa Peninsula in January 2012, my husband and I had such a great time doing the tree climb, waterfall rappel, and nature hike with Andy from Everyday Adventures in Matapalo. Of our five days in the Osa, this was definitely our favorite activity and we cannot recommend the tour enough! We saw a ton of animals, learned a lot about the ecosystem, and had so much fun exploring Matapalo with Andy and his assistant, Eddie. We even rescued a baby agouti who had fallen into the rapids somehow. Andy is super cool, very nice, and extremely knowledgeable -- we had such a great time spending the day with him and he made sure our experience was fun, positive, and exciting.

My husband and I are in decent shape, but we are by no means athletes or above average in strength, and we were able to complete the tour with no problems. The hike, tree climb, and waterfall rappelling do require some energy, so if you are looking for a casual walk through the jungle, this tour probably isn't for you. However, if you are looking for a truly memorable, fun, and adrenaline filled experience, you should definitely put this on your list as a must-do. My favorite part was the waterfall rappel - it is something you will never forget doing and such a cool experience.

We also took some amazing pictures during this trip, so don't be afraid to bring your camera! We brought our Canon DSLR and our Canon point & shoot, and they were not damaged at all (Andy provides a water-proof bag). Just make sure you bring a backpack with you to carry your gear when you are not going over the waterfalls. We got some great shots of poison dart frogs, birds, a jesus christ lizard, the baby agouti, and of course the amazing scenery!

To sum things up, we can't recommend this tour enough and it was definitely our favorite activity while visiting the Osa. Definitely check out this tour - you won't regret it and you'll make some unforgettable memories!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everyday Adventures Day Tours also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Everyday Adventures Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everyday Adventures Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.