We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CABINAS to be recommended ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Tropicales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Tropicales
Save
You added Cabinas Tropicales to your Saves list
Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“CABINAS to be recommended ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a very quiet and pleasant place to stay before and after your trip to Corcovado. Mark is very friendly and helpful ( he is a fisherman guide also ) The bedroom are basic, comfortable, clean and have airco and the outside living space is very nice. Very good for value.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
43
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at Cabinas Tropicales for three nights and it was one of the best accommodations we had during our stay in Costa Rica. Our room was very comfortable and very clean.
Besides the private room(s) there is a common garden (outdoor) area where all the guests are able to cook, to relax, to plan any trips or to get in contact with other travelers. This area made our stay even more comfortable.
Further, the center is quite close - you can either walk there or ride the bike. And if you are not sure what exactly you want to do in Puerto Jimenez or its surrounding, I am sure Mark (the owner) will give you some helpful advice.
However, I can just recommend this place - irrespective of whether you are traveling alone, as a couple, with friends or your family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Cabinas Tropicales for 2 nights when visiting the Corcovado National Park during our 3 week trip through Costa Rica. We stayed in a lot of hotels ranging from roughly 20 to 200 USD per night during our time there, but this one was by far the best value for money option. The rooms are nice, the garden is amazingly beautiful and the location is just perfect - in a quite neighbourhood just a 5 min walk from both the center and the sea.
The best thing though is the owner, an incredibly nice and helpful guy, who lives on the property as well. He has been living in Puerto Jimenez for quite some time and has a lot of experiences to share and good advice to give - which he is happy to do if you ask him. All in all it feels more like staying over at a friend's house than at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Mark Corns B&B. He was helpful with planning our trip into the rain Forrest . Our room was clean and comfortable, and his place has a good location. We were able to do all the things we had planned because of his reasonable rates and great location. We enjoyed his outdoor kitchen and shower, and the relaxed friendly atmosphere. We would highly recommend his place. Also, I would like to mention the guide Mark got for us for the rain Forrest . His name is, Enrique. He is by far the best guide ever! We will never forget him. He made our experience in the Forrest 1st. rate. He is very knowledgeable of the Forrest and is extremely friendly and easy to spend time with. Thank-You again Enrique! Your the Greatest! Thank-You Mark Corn for your help and lovely visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have been at the Cabinas Tropical in April and it was just a perfect stay. Our plan was to stay just one night but instead we stayed 3 nights. We did one day the corcovado national park, one day kayaking and really enjoyed it. We had a spacious room for 3 persons. The room and the bathroom was very clean. We have been travelling a lot but the Cabinas Tropical have been one of the best hotel we have ever been. The garden is a little paradise with all the flowers and the hammocks. Mark was a really good host, friendly and very helpful. It was just like home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Mark assisted us in a very clean and nice room. We also went fishing with a world class fisherman Bobby Mcginnis. Mark set all this up for us. He has not seen the last of me. The fresh fish and fruit were unbelievable. So close to the airport was a big plus we were able to walk to the cabinas as well as going into the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed last month and had a great time. For the price and amenities, its a great deal. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Loved the outdoor shower. We made a lot of use of the kitchen which helped to cut cost and enjoy the fresh fruit and veggies of Costa Rica. Having a bike to ride around, made available for free, was also great. We took them several times to the beach. We would definitely stay again! And, of course, Marc was most willing to give advice anytime we needed it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropicales

Address: Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Tropicales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.