We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay. Felt like home. Owner is great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Tropicales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Tropicales
Save Saved
You added Cabinas Tropicales to your Saves list
Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay. Felt like home. Owner is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 10 nights here and loved it.

Positives:
Our room was large (the deluxe room) and had air con,
The communal kitchen was very well stocked and clean (Fridge, gas stoves, pots, pans, utensils plates, etc.). It was nice to talk with other travellers here each night/day,
The bed was comfortable,
The owner was great, friendly and very helpful in organising tours etc.
You can visit Corcovado from here.
Good location - in town but not on the main streets so it's quiet. 5 min walk to the big supermarket and the bay. The airplanes were really a bother.

negatives:
The only thing that could be improved was the cleaning of the room. It only got cleaned once during our stay. No biggy though.
Be prepared to wake up early because noise travels well in the main part of the cabinas so when someone is awake and talking it feels like they are in your room yelling at you.

Neutrals:
The beach is 40min bike ride away. But we didn't like the beach very much anyway. It's a black sand beach so the sand is scorching hot and when we went the waves were rough and there were stinging jellyfish. We would choose to stay in the town again.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe room because it was big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
40
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Rooms: Good sized rooms that are pretty basic (no tv) but are very clean, have A/C, and include a dresser/wardrobe (we traveled through Costa Rica and you'd be surprised but many hotels don't even have basic furniture in the room to put your stuff or hang your clothes on at this price point). Bathrooms are also clean and include hot water. I'd recommend you request a room with an outdoor shower if available. Nice experience and no issues of privacy. We paid $40/night for two people in January 2013.

Owner: Mark is very hospitable and a great guy to chat with. Ask him for recommendations and he will happily oblige. He provides guests with a map of the area. We stayed 1 night before we headed out to Corcovado National Park for 2 nights and returned to Cabinas Tropicales for another 2 nights. Mark was kind enough to store our luggage for free while we were away.

Property: Mark has done a terrific job of turning the grounds into a small tropical paradise. Nice layout - when you walk through the front door, you come into the kitchen/dining area. Guests are allowed use of the fully equipped kitchen. There is room in the refrigerator and in the pantry for your groceries. He has flowers and plants running all along the perimeter of the property. Birds come to feed on fruit in the kitchen area.

Location: The hotel is literally right next to the regional airport so it's very convenient if you're flying Sansa or Nature Air. In terms of the main "town," it's about a 600 meter walk so not super close but a relatively short walk. But there are a couple of seafood restaurants that are close by.

Bottom line: While we were on a budget for this trip, we didn't want to sacrifice some basic luxuries, such as A/C and hot water. We were so happy we stayed at Cabinas Tropicales. It's probably the best value for your money in this area.

Room Tip: Request a room with an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussersihl, Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We read about 'Cabinas Tropicales' and felt compelled to see for ourselves. Truth be told, it's better. The garden is amazing, the rooms are super tidy and roomy. The area is quiet and very down to earth. The kitchen is an absolute plus and meeting point! All that for 35-45$. i've spent some nights in some very shabby places for that kind of money. Plus the owner Marc is very friendly and forthcoming. we felt right at home from the beginning! So much, that we stayed longer than we anticipated! Absolutely recommended! Tnx Marc!

Room Tip: Deluxe for 45$...unbeatable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great place to stay in Puerto Jim. Mark was helpful with organizing our trip, storing our baggage when we went into the park overnight, and a great host while we were there. The shared outdoor kitchen is well-equipped and has storage space for guests' food. Rooms large, clean, and bright, with quiet air conditioning. Lovely courtyard with hammocks and full of plants and birds. I'll stay there next time for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesilla, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Rode in from San Jose on DRZ-400s and ended up staying at Marcos' very nice cabinas. Hot water, super clean, spacious, friendly ... everything you want. Located more towards the beach, and more importantly than that, close to Delphine's restaurant. Together, Delphine's and Cabinas Tropicales can take care of all your eating and sleeping needs. Highly recommend both. Stayed there in late December, 2012.

Room Tip: Marcos will put you in a good room, don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice place with a great outdoor kitchen to allow you to cook your own meals. A great place to meet people sitting around the kitchen area. Mark was a great source of information on what to do and where to go. The rooms are basic but comfortable and have air conditioning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The owner was very accommodating and friendly. There were some last minute additions to the hotel and he gave up his personal room for them to stay in. We had the room with the outdoor shower and it was awesome. The air worked well and the courtyard area was a cool place to hang up.
The neighborhood is a little rough looking, but everyone is very friendly and it is very safe. It is a short walk to the beach bar, to "downtown" with the collectivos, and right next to the airport. It is also incredibly affordable for what you get.
Puerto Jimenez seems a little rough around the edges at first, but it grows on you and is one of my favorite places in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropicales

Address: Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Tropicales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.