We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good operator” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surcos Tours

Surcos Tours
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
8603 23 87
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hello dear friends, thanks for reading our reviews written by tourists and now our friends who have booked tours with us.Surcos Tours is a small tour operator specialized in hiking Corcovado National Park and the Osa Peninsula. We are friends group of local guides with great passion for our work and nature.Our main goal is to make the stay of tourists in the park an unforgettable experience.Thanks for supporting local businesses.PURA VIDANito
Senggigi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What pleased us the most is that all our questions were clearly answered, and we had a lot. All was done by Ute, without having to hassle with passports and stuff.
Pricewise she will be on average or maybe a little above, but of course that comes with the service. If you do all yourself it is always cheaper...
We were very happy to have worked with Ute, thanks again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience with Surcos Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Thanks to Surcos Tours we had an amazing experience hiking in Corcovado National Park! Estella set up everything for us, answered our many questions and even made it possible for two friends to join our already booked tour two days before we set out. Our guide was Bolivar, who is a really nice, knowledgeable and caring person. He made sure that we were doing fine and the pace was suitable for all of us. He spotted so many animals - we would have never seen them without him. Once we arrived at Sirena Ranger Station he helped us set up mosquito nets, matrasses etc. for the night and we had a great evening with him. The next day he lead us safely back to Carate. Thanks so much!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorite experiences of Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Surco Tours provided us with an excellent guide for our Corcovado Tour, Roger. Because of him, we saw so many magnificent animals, frogs, and frogs. Couldn't have had a better guide. Thank you Estela for all your help setting up our tour arrangements.
Pura VidA!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

By accident we got in touch with the owner, Nito. We were looking for a day hike into Corcovado. Unfortunately he didn't have time, since he was fully booked - but he called a fellow guide and a pilot to see if he could arrange something. In the end we flew from Puerto Jimenez into Corcovado - Sirena, and hiked the 16km back to Carate. It was an extraordinary trip, and we had a wonderful guide (Louis Daniel). I suggest you call Nito a couple of days before you head out to this area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Knowledgable, Helpful, Friendly Guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We used Surcos tours for our early December trip through Corcovado. We booked with Surcos based upon the good reviews, and we were not disappointed. Estelle set up our trip for us, and she was very helpful with the planning aspect. She answered e-mails very quickly, and provided us with all of the information we needed. Our guide was Steven, and he was awesome. He’s a local who has lived in Puerto Jimenez for many years, and his English was perfect. He met us at our hotel the night before our trip and went over some last minute details. He told us that he keeps several mosquito nets at La Sirena, and we were glad to be able to leave ours behind and have a little extra space in our packs (we just brought daypacks since we had paid for 2 of 3 meals each day at Sirena). We had initially planned to hike from Los Patos to La Sirena, and then out to Carate. However, Steven suggested we got the opposite way due to the amount of rain that fell the previous days, which affected the water level of the rivers as well as the trail conditions. This worked out really well. Steven arranged for a taxi to take us to Carate and pick us up near Los Patos, so all we had to do was pack our backpacks and meet them outside our hotel the next morning.

Our Corcovado experience would not have been as good without a guide as good as Steven. Our sole purpose in hiring a guide was to be able to see as much wildlife as possible. Steven’s ability to find various species of animals was remarkable. Nobody can guarantee any sightings of a particular animal, but if an animal was in the same area that we were, Steven was sure to find it. He used his knowledge about the animals’ behaviors and habits as well as visual, audio, and olfactory clues in order to show us an amazing amount and variety of wildlife. The highlight of the trip for us was the two pumas we saw. The pumas were hidden under some thick bushes and we would have just walked right past without knowing they were there, but Steven used his knowledge of monkey behavior (a group was screaming, which Steven said was their “danger” call, and determined that the danger was a current and/or very recent danger) and went looking for potential predators. Within a few minutes he found two pumas dining on a monkey that they had recently caught. Because the pumas were occupied with their lunch, we were able to stand and watch them for a long time. Steven explained that they were brother and sister, and fairly young pumas. He kept an eye out for us in case mama was nearby! There were several other guides on the trail that day, but we were the only group that saw the pumas! Another highlight of the trip was seeing two tapirs right around sunset. Again, Steven had to really search for the tapirs, as we had seen several tapir tracks that day but no tapirs. Steven knew all of the spots that the tapirs liked to frequent, and eventually he brought us to a spot where we saw two tapirs. He also showed us a ton of other animals, including a tamandua, coati, tayras, owls, capybaras, crocs (baby and adult), lizards, a fer-de-lance, a sea turtle nest & eggshells, and various species of birds and insects. We even saw a jaguar track on the Los Patos trail, which I thought was really cool seeing as how rare an actual jaguar sighting is. Steven carried his scope around all day on the second day, which allowed us to get a great view of some of the animals. Steven also had a lot of knowledge about the plants in the park, although we were slightly less interested in the plants than the wildlife.

We wanted to do a quick hike out on the Los Patos trail, as we left fairly late since we waited to eat breakfast at La Sirena and were also concerned about not having enough water (we carried about 5L for two of us). Steven respected our wish and led us on a fast hike out, which was much appreciated. Steven had talked to the taxi driver the night before and our timing was perfect, as we reached the pickup spot just as the taxi was arriving. Steven had arranged for the driver to bring us ice-cold sodas and a couple of sandwiches, which were a nice surprise (after hiking all day, those sandwiches were some of the best I have ever tasted!). Our taxi driver was great, too- besides being nice enough to bring some snacks and ice cold drinks for us, he was kind enough to return to our hotel and return a water bottle that we had forgotten to take with us!

We were really happy that we had booked Surcos for our trip. They were really helpful during the planning stages of our trip, and provided a knowledgeable, friendly guide for us. I also thought their prices were really reasonable for the guiding services. We had an amazing Corcovado experience thanks to Surcos!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surcos Tours also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Surcos Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surcos Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.