We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding with Nito in La Tarde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surcos Tours

Surcos Tours
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
8603 23 87
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hello dear friends, thanks for reading our reviews written by tourists and now our friends who have booked tours with us.Surcos Tours is a small tour operator specialized in hiking Corcovado National Park and the Osa Peninsula. We are friends group of local guides with great passion for our work and nature.Our main goal is to make the stay of tourists in the park an unforgettable experience.Thanks for supporting local businesses.PURA VIDANito
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Birding with Nito in La Tarde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two days just outside Corcovado National Park at La Tarde with Nito from Surcos Tours. Our focus was birds and Nito did not disappoint as an excellent birding guide. We identified over 120 species in two days with Nito's help. He also provided us a list of birds we should be on the lookout during the five days we spent in the National Park.

Highlights include orange-collared manakins at a lek, laughing falcon over a beautiful lagoon, crested owl on a night hike, and slate-tailed trogons. If you are a birder looking for an excellent guide on the Osa Peninsula, look no further than Nito!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    11
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went for 3 days to Corcovado Park in January 2013 with Natu from Surcos Tours. The day before we started we met Natu in Puerto Jiménez to talk about what to expect, what to bring (or leave at home!)

From beginning till end we enjoyed Corcovado Park a lot! (even the road between Puerto Jiménez and Carate :-) ) No wonder why National Geographic calls it "the most biologically intense place on Earth in terms of biodiversity”. In those 3 days we walked more or less 50 km over beaches, rocks, through little rivers and ofcourse mainly through the tropical rainforest and saw a lot of animals!

Natu is an excellent guide. His passion and knowledge about the animals and plants are great and besides that, he is a nice person to be with. During the entire walk he made sure we were doing fine and also at the ranger station he is there for every question you have. The last day we started at 03.00 am from the Sirena station and around 06.00 we sat front row at the beach for a magical sunrise. We could ‘check’ a lot of animals from the list, but not yet the puma. Just a good reason to come back one day!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure Nito and Surcos Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our 5th week in Costa Rica and by far the best. We found Nito from an online trip report and he certainly didn't let us down - he was by far the best guide, and there were many that seemed really good. From him putting mattress covers and mosquito nets on our bunks at Sirena to his unique knowledge and understanding of animal behavior he made our 3 day hike an exceptional experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent a wonderful three days in Corcovado with an awesome guide named Nito. He has been doing tours around Osa Peninsula for many years and Surcos Tours is made up of guides who have all known each other for a long time. So you can be sure that any guide from Surcos will be good.

We saw a lot of wildlife in Corcovado and we would have missed a lot of it without a guide. The birds, sloths, and poison dart frogs are especially difficult to find if you don't have a guide who knows where to look. All of the guides in Corcovado exchange information when they pass by each other so that they all know where to look for interesting things to see. We saw lots of monkeys, tapirs, wild peccaries, anteaters, coati, and even pumas, which is rare and not something you should expect to see.

Spending three days in Corcovado is definitely recommended, if you want enough time to be able to see as much as possible. If you're looking for a great guide, contact Surcos Tours!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“trip to corcovado-sirena station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

It was an amazing adventure thanks to Nito, a wonderful and knowledgable guide.
We visited Corcovado for 3 days/2 nights and during the visit saw many wild animals. Nito is very gifted in spotting animals, things that we would have never spotted on our own. When comparing it to the rest of our trip, Corcovado was definitely the highlight, and Nito had a huge part in it.

Nadav and Inbal

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surcos Tours also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Surcos Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surcos Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.