We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osa Wildlife Sanctuary

Osa Wildlife Sanctuary
Fundacion Santuario Silvestre de Osa Apdo, Puerto Jimenez 48-8203, Costa Rica
506 861 1309
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as the Santuario Silvestre de Osa . Owned by Carol Crews. $25 admission/donation. All proceeds go into the sanctuary.
Toronto Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The animal sanctuary was an amazing experience. All the animals there have been rescued, some recuperate and are released back into the wild and the ones who can't be released have a great home with lots of love. You can get up close and personal with some of the monkeys and parrots, meet a kinkajou and lots of other animals that I don't even know the name of. It's quite an experience that restored my faith in humanity.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    15
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Not for Wimps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The two hour bus ride from Puerto Jimenez was actually a truck with benches in the back. I thought I was back in Haiti. The reason for the truck is that we had to ford a number of rivers to get out to Crarte. The 6 hour hike into Sirena Ranger station was partly on the soft sand of the beach and part up and down cliffs and part of the time up and down steep ravines. We forded a number of creeks and rivers - one up to my waist. To find the trail as it went from the beach up to the jungle and then back to the beach would have been difficult with out a guide. And with out a guide I would not have seen one tenth of the wildlife that I did see. You don't need expensive hiking boots. My $18 Walmart boot did just find including hiking all day with them in the water. When it was raining, even the jungle trails were rivers. The $10 Walmart FrogToggs rain poncho was the best money I ever spent. I'm turning 70 this year and made the trip without any problems. However, there are guides and then there are guides. Mine was the best as he knew where to find the animals. Other guides knew the trail but that was about it. It was an incredible trip. If you are not up to the hike physically, then you take the boat from Drake Bay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience for Children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I went here with a school group and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. Teacher Carol was very good with young children and the Spider Monkey was absolutely hilarious having the kids scratch her back. It was also a very educational tour for adults and children alike. Carol made sure to provide information right on level with the children's understanding and made it real for them.

I would absolutely recommend this experience to anyone visiting the Osa!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

liked: monkeys especially Sweetie, how the animals aren't trapped like in most places, nice tour guide, the outdoorsy
disliked: nothing

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Owner Carol provides an important service to these animals. Learning about capuchin abuse was heart wrenching. Feeding sloths was heart warming. Meeting Sweetie, the friendly spider monkey who was rescued from poachers as a baby, was unforgettable. Did you know a Macaw can easily bite off your thumb? This was a good visit. The best part is getting there by boat on the beautiful Golfo Dulce.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osa Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Osa Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osa Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.