We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Wimps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osa Wildlife Sanctuary

Osa Wildlife Sanctuary
Fundacion Santuario Silvestre de Osa Apdo, Puerto Jimenez 48-8203, Costa Rica
506 861 1309
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as the Santuario Silvestre de Osa . Owned by Carol Crews. $25 admission/donation. All proceeds go into the sanctuary.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Not for Wimps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The two hour bus ride from Puerto Jimenez was actually a truck with benches in the back. I thought I was back in Haiti. The reason for the truck is that we had to ford a number of rivers to get out to Crarte. The 6 hour hike into Sirena Ranger station was partly on the soft sand of the beach and part up and down cliffs and part of the time up and down steep ravines. We forded a number of creeks and rivers - one up to my waist. To find the trail as it went from the beach up to the jungle and then back to the beach would have been difficult with out a guide. And with out a guide I would not have seen one tenth of the wildlife that I did see. You don't need expensive hiking boots. My $18 Walmart boot did just find including hiking all day with them in the water. When it was raining, even the jungle trails were rivers. The $10 Walmart FrogToggs rain poncho was the best money I ever spent. I'm turning 70 this year and made the trip without any problems. However, there are guides and then there are guides. Mine was the best as he knew where to find the animals. Other guides knew the trail but that was about it. It was an incredible trip. If you are not up to the hike physically, then you take the boat from Drake Bay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    18
    13
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience for Children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I went here with a school group and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. Teacher Carol was very good with young children and the Spider Monkey was absolutely hilarious having the kids scratch her back. It was also a very educational tour for adults and children alike. Carol made sure to provide information right on level with the children's understanding and made it real for them.

I would absolutely recommend this experience to anyone visiting the Osa!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

liked: monkeys especially Sweetie, how the animals aren't trapped like in most places, nice tour guide, the outdoorsy
disliked: nothing

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Owner Carol provides an important service to these animals. Learning about capuchin abuse was heart wrenching. Feeding sloths was heart warming. Meeting Sweetie, the friendly spider monkey who was rescued from poachers as a baby, was unforgettable. Did you know a Macaw can easily bite off your thumb? This was a good visit. The best part is getting there by boat on the beautiful Golfo Dulce.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inspiring, educational, and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a remarkable visit to the Osa Wildlife Sanctuary, featuring an in-depth tour from Carol (the director) and a lot of input from Sweetie Bear the Spider Monkey. Carol and the staff do remarkable work, rehabilitating injured or displaced animals for reintroduction to the wild, and she is clearly committed to the mission and puts the interests of the animals first and foremost. But not all of the animals can be returned to the wild, and visitors have opportunities to see and engage with these animals in appropriate ways. Both kids and adults were enthralled with the up-close experiences with birds and mammals, especially the monkeys and sloths. The visit to the Wildlife Sanctuary was a highlight of our visit to the Osa, an experience none of us will forget.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osa Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Osa Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osa Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.