We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Educational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osa Wildlife Sanctuary

Osa Wildlife Sanctuary
Fundacion Santuario Silvestre de Osa Apdo, Puerto Jimenez 48-8203, Costa Rica
506 861 1309
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as the Santuario Silvestre de Osa . Owned by Carol Crews. $25 admission/donation. All proceeds go into the sanctuary.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you have children or even if you don't this is a great experience! We got to learn about the animals and hang out with Monkeys, which included an up close and personal touchy relationship with the animals.

Visited March 2013
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Educational and helpful to the environment...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have now been twice to the Osa Wildlife Sanctuary, led by Carol. I am blown away by the amazing care of the animals and also what we easily learn on the guided tour. Carol is extremely conversational in how she educates and makes it fun. The children involved seem to have a great time and you have a monkey, "Sweetie", that tags along giving many of us a first hand experience of touching a monkey and seeing one up close. Unlike a zoo, the Sanctuary will rehabilitate and release what animals can go back into the jungle and what animals can not go back have a great life there. I enjoyed it very much and plan to go back with a group next holiday season. I think they do a tremendous job and $25 dollar donation is reasonable for such an amazing adventure!

Visited December 2012
Thank evapistola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Monkey business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The lady who runs it was a bit eccentric and moody. Didn't get to see many animals. The monkey were adorable, especially Sweetie.

Visited February 2013
1 Thank dervishgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A "Must See" Tour For Animal Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This sanctuary is located on a beach about 25 minutes from Puerto Jimenez and houses many injured or abandoned animals. This is a rare opportunity to see some exotic animals in a caring environment. It's worth the boat ride to get there.

Visited March 2013
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great animal immersion experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I cannot express in words the wonder and awe that describes my experiences at the Osa Wildlife Sanctuary. The Sloths warmed my heart, the McCaws so colorful and chatty, and the Spider Monkeys, (oh the Spider Monkeys!), touched my heart literally and figuratively.

This was a return visit for us, which we plan to repeat many, many times. Where we can witness the developments of the Sanctuary, and the healing of the animals who were lucky to have been brought there to recover from whatever trauma led them there in the first place.

This is definitely something for your bucket list, for those visiting the Southern Zone. Be sure to make a big donation to the Sanctuary - you have no idea how costly it is to strengthen these animals, in order to return them to the wild. Each individual creature is different. Some need support for a few days, weeks, months and some for years. The Santuary accepts all animals - most regain their health and thrive, not just survive.

My only dissapointment was missing Earl Crews' tour, who co-founded of the Sanctuary with his wife, but we always learn a lot with each guide that we have had to date.

Keep up the GREAT work! We thank you for all that you do.

Visited February 2013
Thank Wonder4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osa Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula

Been to Osa Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing