We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Save Saved
You added Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Detroit, MI
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I had been planning my trip to Blue Osa for quite some time. Having never been to Costa Rica, I was very excited to see the country and to see the developments at Blue Osa as I had been following the construction and anticipating the opening.

Blue Osa is a highly sophisticated and intimate venue in a setting quite like no other.
The attention to detail and decoration is stellar. The rooms combine comfort and color One can truly tell that it was a priority to keep the setting ecologically and environmentally sound. It sits on a quiet part of the peninsula where you are able to see the sun rise each morning and watch the pelicans fly throughout the sky. The water is warm and the beaches are clean. It's easy to walk a great distance and run into very few people.

Most importantly, the staff is amazing and very personable. They are generous with their time, accomodating and always willing to go the extra mile to help out. You feel as if you are a part of their family and, by the end of the trip, I was truly sad to say goodbye! I feel like I made some good friends who will remember me each time I return.

We went with a yoga group and the yoga studio was amazing. If you are considering a visit by yourself our are interested in bringing a yoga group - Blue Osa is top on my list!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    18
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
61
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The first thing you notice is the warmth with which you are welcomed when you arrive. After a 'travel-day' to get there, you really appreciate warm welcome. Ok you say. Doesn't everybody? Well, here the warmth doesn't depreciate with time. You are really welcome. And there lies the starting point for the best of the rest. The staff is bend-over-backwards accommodating for requests (they drove me into town to purchase postcards and stamps, with Mary (who everybody in town knows) handling the Spanish no less), and yet they manage to be 'out of the way' so you can enjoy your space. Within this acceptance, you begin to actually unwind. This is not a fast paced environment. I actually doubt you could turn in into one, but why would you want to? Once you finally come to terms with relaxation, boy, do you!!

The staff cooks up a storm. A menu that for us, was a combination of different cultures (sort of a not to strict daily geographic theme), lots of vegetables (local ones, fresh) and often chicken or freshly caught fish. But the preparation was the key. A mixture of seasonings/spices went into this that was amazing. I have never eaten so many astounding meals, ever. And amazingly enough, despite the quantity and frequency of the meals, I actually weighed 2 pounds less after. So, this food is good, healthy stuff, for sure. They really need to publish a cookbook. If you have any dietary restrictions, they are accommodated, and so subtly that you don't realize they've done it. The eating area is outside, in kind of a very fancy garden cafe environment. There are no flying insects competing for your food. It is very well done.

There are activity 'tours' for which Blue Osa has made prearrangements with the locals who do them, and they will call for you, transport you, and put the fee on a tab for the week, which you pay when you leave. There are numerous kinds, personally, I kayaked, and went on a waterfall hike, others went ziplining over the forest canopy, surfing, horseback riding. As you are in a remote part of Costa Rica, the activities are low keyed, and very personal. No huge crowds to fight, no lines to stand in, just peacefulness.

There is a spa area, where different treatments can be provided. The practitioners are local, and excellent. The spa wraps of all kinds, massage, acupuncture, manicures, etc are on the menu. And it is the request it, put it on the tab system, too.

I was on a Yoga retreat, so we did a yoga practice every morning. This is not a requirement for staying here, but if yoga is your thing, you can't find a better setting in which to practice than the second floor studio, with windows all around, overlooking the bay. It is beautifully done. And note, 'windows' are really openings, no glass, no screens. You get the breeze, the natural nature sounds -- it is amazing.

The location, in the jungle, and right on the coast of Golfo Dulce (a bay off the pacific ocean), is the best part. You hear the waves all the time. You just must go for a walk on the beach, which is basically deserted (a couple of local fishermen, and nobody in the evening), so you can walk the coastline in the morning or evening in peace. If you want company, the local 'canine-crew' will tag along. If you want solitude, you can tell them to go back, and they amazingly do...

In my mind, I see the sunrise, and a walk on the beach in peace. It is a lasting image, still useful for busting life's stressful moments.

It's simple. Go.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is the right place for a peaceful yoga retreat.
In addition you enjoy personalized service and comfort in this remote place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I traveled to Blue Osa for a yoga retreat, and thus was expecting to practice austerities. True, we did arise before dawn to sit in stillness for an hour, but doing so also meant that we watched the sun rise over the Golfo Dulce through the east-facing windows of the yoga studio. A light breakfast of fruit and delicious Costa Rican coffee prepared us for the longer, more strenuous practice that took up most of the morning. Then we repaired to the dining area for brunch, always expertly cooked and served with a flourish. "Light lunch" was presented around 2 p.m.--usually soup, salad, sandwiches, gallo pinto. Cocktail hour arrived around 6, with a fabulous dinner following. One night we had ceviche de corvina using fish that had been caught on the beach in front of the resort that very morning. If you let Stephen, the ever-upbeat and positive office manager, know your desires, he will arrange for whatever adventure or excursion you want to participate in, including transportation. One of the best parts of the week was simply walking barefoot on the beach, watching the fishermen competing with the pelicans, and always the waves were rolling in, the tide rising and falling. Home seemed so quiet after a week of listening to the waves.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

From the moment I cast eyes on the new Blue Osa Resort, I knew I had found a little bit of paradise. The magnificent setting setting surrounded by jungle and open water, the beautifully designed and comfortable sturctures, the lap pool, the endless beach -- these were just the start, What makes Blue Osa even more special is the warm and energetic staff who ensure that every minute of your stay is time well spent. At check-in you are taken for a tour of the facility. At each delicious meal the energetic and creative chef describes each dish in detail. The masseur and accupucturist take time to get to know you and understand your needs. The yoga sessions are rejuvenating as you face the water from the second storey structure and watch the pelicans dive for fish. You have your choice of tours: zip lining, horesback riding, kayaking, surfing, and nature walks. Blue Osa has thought of everything.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Although it’s been over a week since I visited Blue Osa, I can still take my mind back to the serenity and beauty from my experience there. This tropical beachfront resort was the perfect getaway from the winter of 2010! First impression are everything and upon my arrival, I could tell Blue Osa this was built with a high end design taste and passion while exuding comfort and intimacy that’s important to me. The staff immediately made me feel like I was an old friend who they were happy to see and please.
There were so many highlights from this trip including daily yoga, delicious food, luxurious spa, lush jungle beach, exciting excursions.
The yoga classes were challenging, educational and fulfilling. I learned so much more about my practice, poses, daily mediation – all with personal attention and assistance that was purposeful, but not intimidating.
There were 4 daily meals that were prepared in the open-air kitchen by a dedicated and talented staff. We enjoyed a wonderful array of fresh ethnic foods including Mexican, Italian, Indian, and Japanese – all with lots of options for vegetarians or carnavores alike! The cold soups and homemade desserts were so unique and creative; the resort should publish a recipe book!
The jungle surroundings blended perfect with the beachfront surf and was alive with exotic wildlife.
I enjoyed several experiences in the on site spa including acupuncture, the coffee body scrub and deep tissue massage. All the treatments were blissful and a perfect compliment to the physical elements of my trip.
The optional off site excursions were fun getaways and included the canopy tour (fantastic!), surfing (make sure there are waves!), and waterfall hike (go on your own).
I met some wonderful people from across the globe at Blue Osa and made some terrific friends who will remain “for good.”
As life’s daily stresses return after vacation, my experience here has given me the capability to return to the serenity, peace and mindfulness of Blue Osa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Way off the beaten path about 30 minutes outside Puerto Jimenez, the Blue Osa resort is a perfect spot to get away from civilization. The resort is small - just 11 guest rooms - which prevents it from feeling overcrowded, while providing amenities (spa treatment rooms, lap pool) that you wouldn't expect in a facility of its size. The quality of the accommodations is definitely a step above the others found in the immediate area, while still retaining a rustic simplicity that one would expect in the rain forest location. Food service is included, and features fresh, local produce - Marie, Angus and the rest of the kitchen staff do an outstanding job. The resort staff will set up spa treatments, nature hikes, zip lining, horseback riding - and will consolidate all activities on a single bill (including taxi service and any gratuities) that you can pay at the end of your stay. Best of all, you're just steps from the beach, and can hear the sounds of the waves as you lay in bed at night...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.