We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a magnificent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Save Saved
You added Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly a magnificent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Blue Osa is one of the most beautiful resorts I have been to. You will find the ground immaculate, there is wildlife galore, the views of the beach and the jungle are out of this world. The staff (Especially the chef, Marie) will amaze you with their hospitality and outstanding service. I could write an entire review on just the food, everything is fresh, homemade & delicious. I agree with the rest of the reviews, this isn't a place for you if you are looking for 5 star pampered vacation. Although the spa treatments left me feeling MORE than pampered!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    19
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
61
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hard to beat the tranquility of Blue Osa along with the VERY personal service of its terrific staff as well as its owner, Aaron Star. This is NOT a place for you if you want Ritz Carlton rooms (e.g., there is no AC) but it IS THE PLACE to be for a centerdness to the land and the ocean in a space that provides FIRST CLASS meals, opportunities for yoga and spa services, as well as a VERY nice lap pool. If you would like more info about the owner, visit a recent article at

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The measure of a place is: would you go back, at full price? IN A FLASH!
I'd probably be repeating what most have written- beautiful location, lovely architecture, ridiculously amazing food, thoughtful and generous staff... So READ them. Even the minor kvetching, while at times accurate, is part of what you need to know.

This is not a Diva Boutique Resort - and you know who you are - so don't come here looking for that. Do go if you want to relax, refresh and indulge in the world around you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Blue Osa in August 2012 and had a most wonderful time. We loved the grounds of Blue Osa, the magical pool, our room, and the folks and doggies. And don't get me started about the food! Marie and her cooking staff did not disappoint! I mean honestly, I would go there for the food alone! Everything was just perfect and we loved the Osa peninsula. This was our second visit to Costa Rica in 6 months so we have stayed in a number of places throughout CR. Blue Osa stood out and we hope to return one day.

You can choose to rest or participate in a wealth of activities. We went on the Matapalo hike/bike tour and had a wonderful time. Our guide was so accommodating and knowledgable. We also had lots of beach walking time with the dogs which was a lot of fun. I highly recommend Blue Osa if you are the type of traveler who is looking for peace, relaxation, great food, kind people, lots of wildlife, and enjoy a natural oriented time away. Great for couples who want to escape and spend romantic time together. Also great for the adventurer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great food (Thanks Marie!) Great location (close to lots of nature/beach) Get on a bike and ride to the Waterfalls!
Great Pool/Grounds. Lots of beach time! We were under the yoga studio which was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was part of this year's Yoga Teachers Retreat. What a great concept to allow teachers to take some time off and immerse in great yoga practices led by a group of really talented yogis. Aaron and his staff, more like a family, have created a wonderful space so you can relax and let go. Sunrise in the Osa Peninsula is totally worth waking up early, so are the long walks on the beach joined by Pete and Steve, their new chocolate lab puppies. Our rooms were very comfortable and the shower was my favorite place. Sleeping with the windows open allows for a true connection with nature. Packing light is encouraged and totally worth it, you will not be wearing much since you will be at the beach, in the pool, getting a massage (Marcela has great hands) or just enjoying a yummy snack with great Costa Rican coffee in the dinning area overlooking the ocean. Keep an open mind, you are in the middle of the jungle, in front of the ocean at an eco-friendly resort. Marie is a very special person and an amazing chef, the one you want to bring home back with you, enough said. We took the zip lining tour and had a blast, very professional and kind group that treated us to fresh pineapple and bottled water at the end. I can sit here and write forever about this place. I'll be back, that I know for sure. Pictures are very faithful but nothing like experiencing that piece of paradise in person. Thanks to Aaron, Marie, Jose and all the teachers that shared this experience. See you soon!!!

Room Tip: Sleep quality is great if you enjoy sounds of nature, which I do. There is no actual fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Blue Osa is an exceptional facility for a yoga Retreat. The food prepared by Marie and her top notch staff was awesome!The Yoga Studio overlooking the Golfo Dulce was the best possible environment for deepening a practice.If you stay there opt for the penthouse. It's worth the extra cost. Overall I had a very positive experience.

Room Tip: Be prepared for an interesting trip down a very bumpy road from Puerto Jimenez
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.