We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Food!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Save Saved
You added Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location & Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great food (Thanks Marie!) Great location (close to lots of nature/beach) Get on a bike and ride to the Waterfalls!
Great Pool/Grounds. Lots of beach time! We were under the yoga studio which was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    18
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
61
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was part of this year's Yoga Teachers Retreat. What a great concept to allow teachers to take some time off and immerse in great yoga practices led by a group of really talented yogis. Aaron and his staff, more like a family, have created a wonderful space so you can relax and let go. Sunrise in the Osa Peninsula is totally worth waking up early, so are the long walks on the beach joined by Pete and Steve, their new chocolate lab puppies. Our rooms were very comfortable and the shower was my favorite place. Sleeping with the windows open allows for a true connection with nature. Packing light is encouraged and totally worth it, you will not be wearing much since you will be at the beach, in the pool, getting a massage (Marcela has great hands) or just enjoying a yummy snack with great Costa Rican coffee in the dinning area overlooking the ocean. Keep an open mind, you are in the middle of the jungle, in front of the ocean at an eco-friendly resort. Marie is a very special person and an amazing chef, the one you want to bring home back with you, enough said. We took the zip lining tour and had a blast, very professional and kind group that treated us to fresh pineapple and bottled water at the end. I can sit here and write forever about this place. I'll be back, that I know for sure. Pictures are very faithful but nothing like experiencing that piece of paradise in person. Thanks to Aaron, Marie, Jose and all the teachers that shared this experience. See you soon!!!

Room Tip: Sleep quality is great if you enjoy sounds of nature, which I do. There is no actual fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Blue Osa is an exceptional facility for a yoga Retreat. The food prepared by Marie and her top notch staff was awesome!The Yoga Studio overlooking the Golfo Dulce was the best possible environment for deepening a practice.If you stay there opt for the penthouse. It's worth the extra cost. Overall I had a very positive experience.

Room Tip: Be prepared for an interesting trip down a very bumpy road from Puerto Jimenez
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 6 nights (June 28-July 4 2012) at Blue Osa using a Groupon promotion. It was a trip of a lifetime. First off, my fiance proposed to me the 1st morning we woke up there to a beautiful sunrise on the beach. I have wanted to visit Costa Rica for years and this exceeded my expectations. At Blue Osa we enjoyed several of the activities and tours available. The staff was wonderful and friendly. There was a yoga retreat for instructors the week we were there and they allowed me and my fiance to join in their sessions. The massages were great, we were with young woman whose name has slipped my mind. We went on the Corcovado day trip (saw amazing wildlife), on the Rainforest Bike and Hike (saw more amazing wildlife and a small waterfall that flows into a nice sized pool), and we also did the Waterfall Rapelling. The Waterfall rapelling was awesome!!! The weather was hot but the rain in the late afternoon or evenings cooled it off for bedtime.
There isn't even a strong enough word for how great the food is at Blue Osa! The food is fresh, delicious and unique. Maria and her staff were great. Since we all eat together, we ate with Yoga group and some had restrictions in their diets so we all ate the restricted diets but it didn't stop them from delivering the same quality meals.
It was a wonderful trip where we were able to relax in a peaceful atmosphere in the middle of a jungle with a beach and without all the chaos and technology that distracts us in our normal routines.
The only thing that I would say is not to go in with super high expectations on the rooms. The rooms were nice enough, but remember you are in the middle of the jungle and it is hot and there is no air conditioning. It is more of a camping type feel but that is part of the unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Blue Osa is beautiful, the food tasted wonderful, everyone who works there is so helpful and knowledgable, and the yoga and messages were very relaxing. I showed up a stressed out, anxious creature and left as a new woman, relaxed and finally at peace with myself.

This was a great place to be part of nature, yet still have wonderful facilities and amenities within reach. A very safe location, with all sorts of fun activities and tours to do, or just relax and let your mind finally wander into pure happiness.

I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Blue Osa using a Groupon promotion. It was fun, friendly and relaxing...there are activities/tours available or you can just veg....great massage by Jesus, excellent food at every meal, informative and helpful guides. Flights across the country were fine. People in general in Costa Rica were great. Points of note: because of the heat/humidity, activities at Blue Osa can start early (yes, like 5:30 a.m.) and once the sun goes down (which happens fast at the equator), people generally go to bed. No blow dryers and short showers, which was fine since you're generally drenched anyway and so is everyone else. Lovely lap pool. Everyone gets to know everyone else since you're eating 3 meals a day together. If you need something going on all the time, or need shopping or nightlife on a vacation, this might not be a good fit. If you need to recharge and get close to nature in a fairly luxurious setting, this is a lovely spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was the perfect end of a very enjoyable exploration of Costa Rica. Blue Ossa is remote, beautiful, and very rejuvenating. The staff is wonderful and engaging without being obsequious. It felt more like a loose “family” than a “resort”. The food was delicious, and the deep tissue massage was the best I have ever had! In addition to the tranquility, there are tours (hikes, walks, kayaking, etc.) into the jungle and on the bay that add the right touch of interest and excitement. I particularly recommend the “Bike and Hike” to the waterfalls, where you can find many animals, including poisonous frogs, four types of monkeys, countless types of birds, and many other animals large and small. The cool swim at the base of a delightful waterfall was very fun and refreshing on a hot day and one of the many highlights of the day! The in-house tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Another real pleasure is talking with Marie about cooking, or discussing her history and experiences on the Ossa peninsula. One last thing not to be missed: There is a nearby local outdoor restaurant/bar that on Friday nights throws an energetic “party” with music, good drinks, and food. It is THE event for the local singles and families, and for those tourists that have the good fortune to hear about it! -- Pura Vida

Room Tip: The Penthouse room was enormous and very pleasant, but really, we stayed outside on the grounds for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.