We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wonderful 12 days at The Blue Osa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa to your Saves list
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
New York City, New York
1 review
“My wonderful 12 days at The Blue Osa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My first time in the country Costa Rica of Blue Osa was spent at The Blue Osa. Very much looking forward to my next time at The Blue Osa, already planned for next year. The Blue Osa, low key and informal but still with class and style. I have traveled all around the world and there is nothing negative I have shared with anyone about the Blue Osa. Right on the ocean, with a beach great for swimming and strolling. Not always the case I have discovered at some luxurious resorts. The weather was perfect and the grounds are beautiful. For you pool lovers, the pool and surrounding area is even more gorgeous then the pictures. Food is served buffet style, but dietary issues are gladly accommodated. Every meal was delicious served in a beautiful open air dining area. Many activities in the area that Blue Osa can arrange, but never leaving the grounds of the hotel is a great way to spend a few days. Could go on and on. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, only difference is the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueosa, Owner at Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Christopher, what a treat to have you and the group come to Blue Osa in February. Wow. One of the largest groups we have had yet. What a week.

From someone has travelled so much, your comments and insights were very appreciated. And Marie still talks about the chicken you made one night.

Blessings
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
62
81
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Every detail of my stay at the Blue Osa was exquisite. The staff treats you warmly, like family that they want to be around, and the atmosphere is balanced between the beauty of the natural surroundings and the way the buildings and furnishings are carved around it. Adam and Michael were fabulous hosts who genuinely care for every guest. And don't get me started on the food -- delicious and nutritious! My co-workers keep telling me that I am walking on air since I returned from my Blue Osa experience. I cannot insist enough how deserving a 5 star plus vacation destination Blue Osa is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

Blue Osa blew my mind away. Everything combined to make my stay there an experience like no other. The grounds are immaculate, the open architecture, the rooms are well appointed and decorated in a very simple but elegant way, not to mention the secluded beach.. However, the true magic came from its staff. Aaron is such a gracious & friendly host, not to mention a terrific yoga instructor. The kitchen staff led by Marie kept me and the rest of the group well fed and in good spirits. The same goes for the housekeeping and groundkeeping staff. One of my best experiences was getting to know them. I spent an extra day at Blue Osa with very few guests. Most of the students in my retreat group had left and a new group was arriving later so I had the entire place for myself for a good portion of a day. I was treated like family, everyone constantly checking in on me, making sure I was confortable and enjoying my day. That same day I had the pleasure of having lunch with Adam (Aaron's business partner), Marie, Michael (manager) and other staff members at their table. They made me feel like part of their family, happy to see me and to share their table with me. That alone was the icing on an otherwise perfect cake. I spent my birthday at Blue Osa, surrounded by people that until that week I had never met. I have to say, this was one of the best birthdays I have ever had.
I am looking forward to my next visit, which I hope will be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Everyone's reviews of Blue Osa are right on--Marie's fresh and healthy cooking was such a treat, the location is perfect, Aaron and Paul were so nice, and they'll help you figure out what--if any--activities you want to do, and you don't have to plan ahead. So we did a few of them--kayaking, nature walk, animal sanctuary, and climbed an 80-foot tree. We mixed that in with a couple days of rest, and it was a perfect blend. We really enjoyed the other guests who were there when we were--either we really lucked out, or Blue Osa just attracts good and kind people. We had hot water and electricity, no problem. Just know to bring a good selection of shoes (hiking, walking, teva types, even Crocs). Bring bug spray, for sure (although they have lovely mosquito nets over the beds), and you gotta be able to live without a flatiron or hairdryer (oh, that was soooo hard for me!). Their pool is spectacularly gorgeous and clean, and we definitely recommend getting the most unique massage of your life from Jesus! If leaving your dogs at home makes you sad, they have three sweet dogs on the property, and most often when you start walking to the beach, a couple of them might join you! We would recommend Blue Osa to our friends and family, without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I spent a sublime week at Blue Osa -- the location, the more or less private beach, the excellent food and the friendly staff-- made it a truly memorable experience. The hotel website gives you a good intro to what's in store. They are very eco-conscious, and if you are going for yoga, this is certainly the place for you. If, however, you are looking for somewhere to replicate your urban consumerist life in a tropical setting, this will not be to your taste. At Blue Osa you truly can un-plug and leave as small a 21st century footprint as possible while relaxing and taking in the beauty of the surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just spent a week there on a yoga retreat and had an exceptional experience. I love nature and Blue Osa is right in the middle of it all - jungle, beach, wildlife. There are beautiful birds everywhere, and you may be awoken at dawn by the sound of howler monkeys (although I didn't spot any directly on the grounds). The yoga practice studio overlooks the beach and is beautiful. The food was excellent and the staff exceptionally friendly. There were many day trips and excursions that could be arranged. The pool is gorgeous. I can't wait to go back to the Blue Osa.
Mike L, NY, NY

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Blue Osa Changed my life! Secluded black sand beaches, neat architecture, Amazing dinners and the best yoga instruction I have ever had doesn't even describe my life-changing experience! This was such an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.