We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved location, owner and environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osa Resort Club

Osa Resort Club
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osa Resort Club
Save Saved
You added Osa Resort Club to your Saves list
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Hopland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved location, owner and environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

On our budget friendly trip my friend and I stayed here for five days. We were overcome with gratitude for the owner Carol. She was so fun, helpful and thoughtful. She gladly arranged our excursions and pointed us in the direction of great activities, restaurants and beaches. We had such an amazing stay.

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madison wi
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

when we talked with the osa resort rep she said the beach was within walking distance. it was actually 2-3 mi away. you can't even see the ocean from what they described as a resort. there were 8 tiny cabins the the size of a shed. we had the curtains closed the entire time because there was nothing to see and the cabins were within 5 ft of each other.
the staff were excellent and treated us very well. the owners or managers were always trying to sell time shares to there new resort. i think the whole operation is very questionable. in the ads it shows a new resort (not the one in we stayed at) which is only on the drawing board. i think it is very misrepresentative to show a lodge or resort that doesn't even exist.
if you are going to fish, this place might be a good option. otherwise, i would strongly recommend you avoid it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

And this has nothing to do with our wedding on our last day at the OSA, but rather with the place and the people.....
From the moment we arrived in San Jose and were greeted, as promised, by representatives from OSA vacations, we knew we were in for the trip of a lifetime!
Though our first night in Golfito was at a wonderful hotel (arranged by OSA - the Casa Roland), it was not until we arrived at OSA Resort Club the following day that we truly got what we anticipated. Tucked away into the tropical rainforest was the most quaint, romantic, and charming cluster of cottages (7 total) awaiting our stay. Like a previous reviewer, I too wonder if others writing reviews truly knew where they were going, as OSA Resort met - and surpassed all of our expectations and wishes! We enjoyed being away from tourism centers and masses of 'vacationers' so that we could take in the beauty of the country and it's offerings. Each morning we were greeted by scarlet macaws, parrots and monkeys in the trees surrounding the resort - a very surreal experience!
Being active people, we were lured by all of the eco-adventure excursion options - all of which were truly incredible (snorkeling/dolphin watching, kayak fishing, bird watching, chocolate/coffee farm). All of our guides and drivers were the most wonderful, welcoming and competent people. Staff at the resort were warm and accommodating individuals - making us feel right at home from the start. The daily Creations of Chef Marlon were amazing and afforded us the opportunity to enjoy authentic Costa Rican cuisine. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the grounds well-tended to. We enjoyed access to boogie-boards, kayaks and about-town bikes to get around with. Though the resort is not directly on the water, we enjoyed the short bike ride to Playa Precioso, the nearest beach, which was absolutely beautiful and the one we chose to be married on. Despite being on the bay, waves were ocean-like and reached 5-7 feet.
We can not thank resort partner, Bob & Debbie Dowell enough for agreeing to be witnesses at our wedding - as well as Jessica and the guys who made an amazingly beautiful trellis for us to be married under. We are truly indebted to their kindness and creativity. We will remember that day forever. And to Ronald, our OSA driver in San Jose, we truly enjoyed your company and perspective.
If someone asked us to return to OSA Resort tomorrow - there would be no hestiation. Costa Rica is a beautiful country, it's people warm and welcoming - and it's sunshine intense!
Pura Vida!
Beth & Andy, Costa Rica newlyweds

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

After reading some of the poor reviews . . . we just can't believe these people stayed at the same place we so greatly enjoyed. Everything far exceeded our expectations. We have traveled world-wide and have stayed in some of the most wonderful places. We are rating Osa as our #1 trip to date!!! The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. Can't say enough about Chef Marlo. There was no reason to ever eat off property as the food was simply that delicious. The amount of things to do is mind blowing and the staff is able to arrange anything that you'd like. We were not disappointed with any of our excursions and we took many. We felt we were treated more like friends and not like guests and this holds true for the resort and the town as a whole. The beaches close to the resort are amazing. This is one place we will back to for sure. Kudos to the entire staff . . . we can't wait to see you again. Tony & Kim (New England)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East End L.I. , N.Y.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

"Osa vacations" planned our itinerary and couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. Ronald handled all our transfers in San Jose (he was right there waiting when our flight arrived from Atlanta at 4 a.m. - due to storms). Osa vac. arranged our stay at the Alta Hotel - each room has a magnificent view & balcony. The lobby and promenade should be featured in a magazine as should the interior of its La Luz restaurant. While a bit pricey - a salad, soup or appetizer is really needed to compliment the adequate but modest entree portion - I'm VERY glad we treated ourselves to La Luz on the last night of our trip. At least we had room for desserts- which were not over priced - and were yummy.
We spent a night at Casa Roland in Golfito. Gorgeous - Mahogany and granite, GREAT food - great value, fabulous pool with fabulous lounge chaises & umbrellas, fabulous gym, free computers with internet, will definetly go back to just enjoy pool and food. The town of Golfito seems very spread out - not too conducive to exploring/shopping.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We came here for fishing which was excellent for tuna , dorado, and sailfish. Our boat was a 33' wellcraft express with twin Yanmars with a 25 knot cruising speed. The resort has a small office in front and 6 or 7 2 room cabins arranged in an arc. Next to the cabins is a small pool which is beside the main open air lodge where you eat, meet people, and relax. The grounds are well maintained and the cabins cleaned daily. They also have a free laundry service. The food at the lodge is excellent. The chef is young and very eager to please. I can't say enough about their staff. They were the best. I wish I could take them to my business, their attitude was that good. The price was less than other outfits in this area which was an added bonus. We are hoping to return

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont,MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We were treated great from our driver in SJO, arrival in Gifito, pick up by boat for snorkeling,back to Puerto Jimenez. Our stay there at OSA club was very nice, staff great,tour to the tip of the OSA was fun and interesting with Juan Carlos. The guides who took us out in two person kyakes fun. We wish we had spoken more spanish at times.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osa Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Resort Club

Address: Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Sport Fishing / Eco-Tourism Capital of the World” The Osa is a rugged natural paradise that is home to Costa Rica's most rare and endangered animal species, including the Puma, Jaguar, Harpy Eagle and Scarlet Macaw. Noted by National Geographic Magazine to be “One of the Most Biologically Intense places on Earth”The Osa, as it is known to locals and residents, is Costa Rica's southernmost peninsula, a large expanse of which is dedicated to Corcovado National Park. It is the single largest expanse of a lowland tropical rainforest in Central America and is “One of the Tallest Rainforests in the entire World”, including the largest single tree in all of Central America, standing at seventy-seven meters tall. The best way to enter the park is via the town of Puerto Jimenez, located on the inland side of the park, where there is a ranger station and where an extensive network of trails converges. The fishing waters off the Osa Peninsula are a Mecca for Sport Fishing, not just for Costa Rica but for all of Central America. With over 100 World Records, the Osa Peninsula is the “Destination of Choice” for the Serious Sport Fishing Enthusiasts. Offering Marlin, Sailfish, Wahoo, Tuna, Snapper, Grouper, Dorado, Snook and the famed Rooster Fish. It is common to catch 10-15 Sailfish a day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Osa Resort Club Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osa Resort Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.