We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Islas Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Las Islas Lodge to your Saves list
Las Islas Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km North of Puerto Jimenez down town or 1 km before arriving at Puerto Jimenez on the main road, Puerto Jimenez 90-8203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“June 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at Las Islas from June 1 through June 30, 2014. This was a surfing trip but I also was joined for a weekend by a friend from San Jose. She is a Tica and enjoys the area. Also a friend from Texas came for a week of free surfing lessons. As usual it was a wonderful experience. There seems to have been some improvements in the electrical infrastructure in the Pt Jimenez area. There were only 2 power outages that lasted more than an hour, despite several evening thunderstorms that caused outages on other trips. On this trip I finally saw the howler monkeys that I have heard on every other trip. Usually I hear them every morning and evening there. They were in the trees right in front of cabin 5.

The friend from Texas reported something that surprised me and needs explanation. She thought the AC was noisy! Actually they are very quiet by Costa Rica standards where the typical AC sounds like an 18 wheeler idling in your room. At Las Islas the AC compressor is located outside the bathroom window. That window is just screened not double pane glass. If you use the AC just close the bathroom door then you won't be cooling the jungle and noise will be reduced substantially.

There were several events in the area that I didn't expect. On this trip the restaurant next door had a Costa Rican rodeo in their corrida one night. This was different than a US rodeo. Young guys rode bulls while other people stood inside the corrida dodging the bull. Another day there was a Tope. I wasn't able to get an explanation of what that was celebrating, but it involved a large parade of hundreds on horseback. One weekend there was an open water swimming race (5K and 1.5K). This brought people from all over Costa Rica and filled up the hotels for one weekend.

Room Tip: All are quiet but the quietest rooms are those furthest from the road. The parrots and monkeys make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Las Islas Lodge was a great place to spend our two nights. Helen, who runs the hotel, does so with a constant smile and great customer service and the rooms, spread around the woodland setting, are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The lodge is only a short drive from many activities such as a chocolate plantation tour, zip wire, coastal kayaking etc. Also close to restaurants and the local town. OReally recommended.

Room Tip: Choose bungalows towards the rear of the property as we stayed these and they were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice, decent place with spacious rooms, equiped with air conditioning, fridge, very clean. Has nice teraces to sit outside, especially the houses at the back - a lot of privacy. However, the atmosphere is of a motel by the road; well, it is by the road though not significantly loud. Stayed 1 night only and did not require staffs help.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very nice property just outside of Puerto Jimenez. I had one of the cabins in the back, away from the road- very quiet and relaxing. Had a huge toad greet me on my porch in the evening, and had a friendly tiny little frog inside the cabin, both of whom were welcome guests. Didn't get a chance to sample their food, as I was heading off very early in the morning for a three-day Corcovado trek, and they don't serve dinner. But it was very easy and inexpensive to have the owner place a delivery order for pizzamail.it from in town- also excellent by the way. And, Ms. Maria Fernanda also prepared for me a few basic sandwiches (PB&J and jamon y queso) the night before for my upcoming trek. Had a howler monkey in the tree outside my cabin in the morning. Also, Hellen was absolutely fantastic- went above and beyond in making some calls for me and providing very useful advice for planning part of the remainder of my trip. I wanted to stay at Las Islas again following my Corcovado adventure, but unfortunately they were booked so I had to stay elsewhere in PJ (which they helped me to arrange). Special thanks to Hellen- you were great! (note to readers of this review: never underestimate the value of having a knowledgeable local help you with trip planning advice in the region, it is invaluable).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very well laid out luxury cabins in maintained gardens. This is by far the best organized and cared for place we stayed at in CR. The staff is bi lingual, friendly and super helpful. Obviously the manager spend some time thinking about the concept and it works. No mold, no wires, no bugs, plenty of hot water and awesome breakfast. Yes it is close to the road but you do not hear it much as the cabins are build away from it. Big comfy bed and no noises to disturb your sleep...our laundry was done quick and cheap. We had no car but rented some bikes in town for 10$ a day, to go to beach and meals. The pool area is bit simple no place to dwell but has a great outdoor shower. Definitely recommend his place, will be back!

Room Tip: Take a cabin at the end of the road away from pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We only stayed one night at Las Tortugas Lodge before starting our treking to Corcovado National Park but we would have stayed longer if we have had more days in Costa Rica. Clean, spacious and well maintained bungalows, and clean restroom. The management takes good care of their property and is very helpful: they took care of our luggage when we were at the park and let us take a shower and use the swiming pool to cool off after visiting the park even though we didn´t stay overnight after our trek. The lodge is around 1 km from Puerto Jimenez, and it is a bit more expensive than the bungalows in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed just one night at Las Isla Lodge during our travels around Costa Rica. Helen was fantastic. We could not get connected to the wifi so she turned on tethering on her phone. Room was clean and comfortable. AC worked fine. The breakfast was very good as well. Will stay again when we get back to spend more time on the Osa Peninsula.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Islas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Islas Lodge

Address: 1 km North of Puerto Jimenez down town or 1 km before arriving at Puerto Jimenez on the main road, Puerto Jimenez 90-8203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Islas Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Note: Rates in Green Season do not includes Breakfast. Breakfast just includes in high season. Las Islas Lodge is a newly built and recently inaugurated full-service Hotel with top-shelf accommodations just two minutes from the entrance to Puerto Jimenez. Ten bungalows are distributed across manicured gardens and feature air-conditioning, private bathrooms, hot water, vaulted ceilings, tropical hardwood accents, queen-sized beds, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Las Islas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Islas Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Islas Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.