We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those travelling through PJ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina's

Carolina's
Main Street, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for those travelling through PJ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I came here a couple of times when visiting PJ. The food is good & you can relax & use the WiFi to email home.

I was in Costa Rica on a field project with Frontier & so came to town for a couple of hours for resupply. Carolinas was great as could have a good quick meal & an ice cold coke. Perfect.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    44
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food at good prices in downtown PJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My brother, sister-in-law and I ate here by chance. The starter on our aircraft for the Sansa flight back to San Jose forced us to spend an extra, and not entirely welcome, night in Puerto Jimenez at the airline's expense. The best part of the evening for me was our meal at Carolina's, in downtoThe wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The food was very good, and was reasonably priced. (Food prices have gone up all over Costa Rica in recent years.) This is the happening place in town. I recommend Carolina's highly, and would not hesitate to come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here a couple of times during our three days in Puerto Jimenez. This was some of the best food we had in Costa Rica. I especially liked the chicken tacos.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stopped here to eat. Food was really good and customer service is great. If we came back to Costa Rica. I would come back here to eat. I recommend that you stop and eat here. Right in the middle of the city. Prices or reasonably.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Carolina's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We always stop and eat at Carolina's when we drive thru Puerto Jimenez on our way to Playa Matapalo. The meals have always been very good, well preportioned and priced reasonably. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina's also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Carolina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.