We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely consider this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Gaia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villas Gaia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Gaia
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Playa Tortuga Costa Rica, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely consider this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am only now getting around to writing this... and quite surprised at the negative experience Riah M had... since we a) loved it; b) thought it matched the website expectations; c) stayed for 8 days.

Staff, particularly in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, were friendly, helpful and attentive. Food was outstanding; fruit and coffee at breakfast were standouts, although the crepes were delicious as well. We had dinner twice, and drinks/appetizers nearly every night before heading out for dinner elsewhere (Ojochal has a surplus of good restaurants, most a very short drive or long walk away). Service and quality of food was outstanding. Edgar looked out for us, and we felt cared for.

As to the room, I think it is perspective. Yes, the Casitas are not "luxury" -- this is an ecohotel. But clean, and cool, and except for the highway noise (an issue for all the coastal hotels) a delight. We actually liked the bed for the firmness, so much we're shopping for the equivalent for our home in the U.S.!

We enjoyed the "small" pool, and the distant view of the ocean. But our interests are modest, and we thought the price was great, and so we'll be back. Howler monkeys at dawn and morning, off in the distance. Fabulous sunsets. Great staff. Fair price. Good food.

We're happy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita closest to the road, and that is the loudest from the highway, so ask for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    16
    13
    4
See reviews for
28
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed three nights at Villas Gaia. The room was nice and very clean. We had a great view into the rainforest and saw both capuchin monkeys and iguanas on our first morning. The staff is really friendly and helpful in all respects. The hotel offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and free wifi in the restaurant.
Playa Tortuga is in walking distance but for accessing Ballena or other interesting points, a car or a booked trip are necessary.
Ballena is really worth going. We did a four-hour whale watching tour which was amazing and the beaches there are among the most beautiful we have seen in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villas Gaia for 2 nights in February and were very happy with our casita. In addition, we received great service and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We spent a lot of time in the pool and really enjoyed the setting. We especially enjoyed seeing white-faced capuchins by the pool one morning. They were shy but stayed in the area for an hour or so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

It's ok not to give extra for the price you paid, but if they promise somethig to give an then they just take it back after you pay it's not good at all, everything else was not really bad. So If you are looking something cheap, basic salks, dont care about service... you wont have any problem here.....
BTW DON'T GO TO VILLAS LORENS. THEY HAVE A PARTERSHIP to get to the beach. They will say that you are not in any obligation to eat there, but it's true.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Villas Gaia is perfect for those who want the very basics....like a bed and shower. Ours did not have air conditioning. However, if you're out for the experience of the forest setting you'll love the Villas Gaia. I must admit the folks here are quite helpful and very pleasant. The food is very good and reasonably priced. No internet in the casitas....just in the restaurant and bar area.

Room Tip: Get one with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

did not stay here but the lunch and terrace was lovely! The chicken in curry and pineapple was delicious- the service and cleanliness quite high by CR standards. We did not stay here but had a look at the pool...looked like a nice place to stay near Playa Tortuga

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On our most recent stop @ Villas Gaia we finally got lucky; they had a vacancy. As we knew it is a beautiful setting and the food is excellent, including breakfast (included in the room rate). Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately there was construction on the driveway, which woke us up earlier than we would have liked, & the mattress & linens were not up to US standards of rooms similarly priced. (But that's hard to find in Costa Rica). They offer interesting tours, have a great pool, grounds as well as rooms are impeccable clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villas Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Address: Playa Tortuga Costa Rica, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Tortuga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Caño Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 12 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Gaia Costa Rica/Playa Tortuga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Gaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.