We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casita in the jungle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Gaia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villas Gaia to your Saves list
Hotel Villas Gaia
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Rimbey, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice casita in the jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villas Gaia for 2 nights in February and were very happy with our casita. In addition, we received great service and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We spent a lot of time in the pool and really enjoyed the setting. We especially enjoyed seeing white-faced capuchins by the pool one morning. They were shy but stayed in the area for an hour or so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
67
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

It's ok not to give extra for the price you paid, but if they promise somethig to give an then they just take it back after you pay it's not good at all, everything else was not really bad. So If you are looking something cheap, basic salks, dont care about service... you wont have any problem here.....
BTW DON'T GO TO VILLAS LORENS. THEY HAVE A PARTERSHIP to get to the beach. They will say that you are not in any obligation to eat there, but it's true.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Villas Gaia is perfect for those who want the very basics....like a bed and shower. Ours did not have air conditioning. However, if you're out for the experience of the forest setting you'll love the Villas Gaia. I must admit the folks here are quite helpful and very pleasant. The food is very good and reasonably priced. No internet in the casitas....just in the restaurant and bar area.

Room Tip: Get one with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

did not stay here but the lunch and terrace was lovely! The chicken in curry and pineapple was delicious- the service and cleanliness quite high by CR standards. We did not stay here but had a look at the pool...looked like a nice place to stay near Playa Tortuga

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On our most recent stop @ Villas Gaia we finally got lucky; they had a vacancy. As we knew it is a beautiful setting and the food is excellent, including breakfast (included in the room rate). Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately there was construction on the driveway, which woke us up earlier than we would have liked, & the mattress & linens were not up to US standards of rooms similarly priced. (But that's hard to find in Costa Rica). They offer interesting tours, have a great pool, grounds as well as rooms are impeccable clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Lovely cabinas set in a small but lush garden. Pool at the crest of a hill with views over the canopy and down to the coast. Pretty much in the middle of no where on a highway with occasional trucks passing but very nice and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomira, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's been a couple of years but it seems like yesterday.
We talk about it so often.
We had such a fine time here.
It was our first time out of our home country, we were humbled in so many ways. We couldn't talk spanish, but we were fortunate enough there was always someone that talked english on our trip. Had all we needed. Hot water, clean rooms, comfortable beds, laundry, AC, pool, fantastic food, fair prices. Library of area plants, animals, and things to do,
Gardener will show you the jungle on the grounds and a staff that answered all your questions. The staff and owners are friendly and funny. We felt safe.
We miss them, they were so patient and forgiving with us through our fears, and our spoiled american sides that got frustrated quickly when things weren't just what we thought.
It's a good base camp if you are venturing about that part of the country.
You won't be disappointed. Enjoy.........

Room Tip: Cabanas up by the pool are farther from the rode noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villas Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Address: Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Tortuga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Cano Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 14 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Gaia Costa Rica/Playa Tortuga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Gaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.