We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in the jungle, but very primitive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sirena Ranger Station

Sirena Ranger Station
Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
Budel, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Living in the jungle, but very primitive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked a 3-day jungle trip and stayed for 2 nights in the Sirena ranger station. The lodge is in the middle of the jungle and you can do short hikes from here and see a lot of nature and animals.
The lodge is very primitive: there is no hot water, the electricity is till 8pm, after that there is no light. The toilets are dirty and I saw a cockroach. Also there is nothing to do apart from hiking; there are just a couple of uncomfortable chairs and that's it, no games or magazines or anything else to do instead of hiking.

We slept under a mosquito net in the building, that was okay. I think it was much better than the dorms or in a tent because it was very hot and humid. Please don't forget your DEET (bug repellent) and ear plugs!

About our trip; we started from Puerto Jiminez and with our guide William Mora we drove in our hired car to Carate. Then we walked about 20 km through the jungle and beaches and we arrived at the lodge. The hike was very heavy, but we saw a lot of animals and we made the most beautiful pictures! In the evening the guide cooked a delicious meal for us. The next day we also got breakfast, lunch and dinner from our guide and we did a short hike. The third day we went back to Carate to the parkingplace and we survived Corcovado!

I would definitely recommend you to go to Corcovado and do a least a 2 day jungle trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    35
    7
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer,AK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best part of Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

La Sirena Range Station is by far the best of Costa Rica. Our guide Kenneth Mora was awesome! My husband and I stayed a night at the station in a tent, it was hot, but so worth it. We saw tapir, monkeys, tucans (by the ranger station) an eye lash viper, many birds, ants, crocodile and got to experience Costa Rica at its best. The terrain may be a little rough for people with bad joints as there are many spots where you have to step -up very high, but do not let this distract you from coming to the station.Where good shoes, bug repellant (we used OFF Deep Woods), sunscreen and be ready to get wet. I´ve been to other parks in Costa Rica and Corcovado is by far the very best that Costa Rica has to offer.
Nicole and RJ June 2013

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful station set in the jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful spot with plenty of beautiful 2-4 hour hikes. Walked there and back from Carate which was lovely - lots of wildlife. Pretty basic accommodations - dorms or a platform. Stayed on the platform under a bugnet - I think that was a good choice as the dorms or a full tent would have been too hot. Decent cooking facilities.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A True Jungle Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Park in the Southern Zone of Costa RIca offers the adventurer fantastic exposure to everything you want to see in a jungle. Birds, Monkeys, Snakes, Flora and Fauna is in abundance in this bio-diverse land. The hiking enthusiast will find miles of trails to explore through jungle and see sights only available to see here. With over 800 species of Birds, a bird watcher can spend hours or days documenting special camera shots and photographing a wonderful experience. Beautiful Macaws, Parrots, Toucans, and so many more will be scene. Making the effort to travel here is well worth it and many will never invest the time so it is a very special place. Enjoy !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island, Lk. Superior
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Serious jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We left Drake Bay by boat and an hour later we landed on the beach at high tide which was relatively painless. However we left at low tide which means we had to wade much further out over an uneven rock bottom that was barely visible. The breakers were very rough. I fell before I got to the boat but the crew was very helpful getting me up and boarded. In those conditions the degree of difficulty was significant with my bad knee. No one else fell but -just sayin' my word of caution. The rest of the park was the most jungle I've ever been in. The trails were easy but you must watch that you don't trip on protruding roots. Loads of monkeys, tapirs, birds, peccaries, etc. Definitely worth having a good guide. The hike was mostly in the shade but still very hot.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sirena Ranger Station also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Sirena Ranger Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirena Ranger Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.