We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corcovado Tent Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corcovado National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp
Save
You added Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp to your Saves list
3 miles northeast from Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Grand Rapids, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Corcovado Tent Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed at the Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp for five nights. They took wonderful care of us, which was good because this place is really in the middle of nowhere with no stores, restaurants, etc. nearby. I highly recommend this spot for adventurous types who don't mind the heat. It was very hot every day, although you can always shower or jump in the ocean to cool off. The trails behind the camp lead up into mature rain forest which is awesome. Corcovado National Park is just a 15 minute walk down the beach, and the trail through the park is along the ocean the whole time (unless you do more than a day hike). Lots of people saw pumas while we were there but we didn't see one. We did see a "tyra," an anteater, tapir tracks, coatis, a boa, and a billion birds, butterflies, lizards, toads, and crabs. Our guide said the rainy season is better for seeing wildlife, and the most incredible and endangered wildlife can only be seen by taking an overnight hike into the heart of the national park by the lagoon. But the diversity is still incredible year-round and hiking was an adventure every day. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed eating meals with people from all over the world. The meals were "all-you-can-eat" with a variety of food available so don't worry about going hungry. The food was fabulous but we recommend bringing some Immodium just in case something new in the food/water doesn't quite agree with you. Also bring lots of sunscreen, sleeveless shirts, and a flashlight and washcloth. Towels, shampoo, and soap are provided. Snorkeling is not available, there are constant big waves in the ocean here. I was surprised that we had no mosquitos although we did have a few little ticks that were easily removed. We took a little flight from Quepos which was easy and fun. We felt sorry for the people who drove their silly rental cars for hours and hours to get there. We saved a lot of money and sanity by not renting a car during our 2-week trip to Costa Rica! Anyway, we highly recommend the tent camp, it was awesome!

  • Liked — ocean view, hot weather, hiking trails
  • Disliked — single beds
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

What a magical and heavenly place!!! Highly recommend. The staff were so welcoming. The food was great. The views are beautiful. The tents were beautiful. Definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Liked — Beautiful tents
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

I stayed two nights in a beachfront tent and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Just flying in the small six-seater plane to Carate and walking along the beach to the tent was an experience in itself.

Both the staff and other guests were so friendly and the food was delicious. The camp itself and the shared showers/bathrooms were always scrupulously clean. I took both the night walk and the canopy tour and spend some significant time just relaxing.

Don't forget your flashlight! The generator shuts off at 9 pm and it's DARK.


  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2005

We were a group of eight that met up at the Corcovado Tent lodge camp. This was our starting point for our hike. We didn't do any of the day activities that they offered there like bird watching, horseback riding or hiking. We stayed for three nights and relaxed before the start of our three day hike through Corcovado National park. This place was great. The setting was amazing. We arrived by truck to the little town and I mean little...it is just a store where we had made previous arrangements to have our luggage picked up so we could walk up the beach to the camp. This is well worth the effort though it is an easy beach walk if you decide not to do this. We were amazed at the scarlet macaws flying out of the trees as we walked along the beach. We could hear the howler monkies off in the jungle. The beach was amazing and deserted. How could some place so beautiful be so isolated. Once at the camp the staff was very accomodating and helpful. I don't think they liked that we did not do any of the guiding activities but we were there to relax before our hike into the park. There are day hikes around the camp, lots of birds to see, lots of interesting people to talk to. There was never a dull moment there. The food was good but sometimes small portions especially for the men. We found if you sat at the seats closest to the kitchen you could get a little bit more food than the seats further away from the kitchen. Bathrooms and showers were communal but I never had to wait. The cold showers were a welcome relieve from the humidity believe me. Summer, the hotel manager was very friendly and helpful. She is from the states and hopes to open her own lodge camp one day. The actual tents are really all you need. You are off the ground and dry. I am not a bug person and was happy to not see anything in my tent. Lights are out by 9 but you can stay up in the lounge area for awhile longer or read by candle light in your tent. This really was a beautiful spot to go to if you want to see alot of wildlife, do some hiking or just relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2004

This was the best place we stayed at during our trip to Costa Rica. The food was very delicious and the accomodations (though basic) were comfortable and more importantly, insect free! Great location right next to the National Park. Our guides were very accomodating and very knowledgable. A great place to get away from it all and do absolutely nothing. Even though we flew into Puerto Jiminez and had to drive an hour to the lodge, the drive was nice as we stopped frequently to admire all the local wildlife. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2004

They have a great location for those wanting to visit Corcovado National Park other than by backpacking in. There are some definite positives and some definite negatives. On the good side, if you can get a beach front tent (they won't guarantee), you have a great view and location. The lodge itself has lots of wildlife nearby and the guided hike (guide Fillo is excellent) was the highlight of our trip. The common dining area and bar made for some interesting conversation and the food was good and plentiful.
On the downside, even though we paid for 3 meals per day, they refused our kids snacks (other than packaged crackers) to make it between lunch and the 7:30pm dinner which was an uncomfortable stretch for them. Our sons tent was infested with ants, which we reported and asked to have it cleaned extra well. This was not done and the same mess was there the next night. The biggest problem was not being informed of or offered the option to fly into Carate. Do not accept being flown in Puerto Jimenez! Riding in the back of a pick up truck for close to 2 hours each way was unnecessary, since most other guests were flown into Carate. On our departure,they dropped us off at the Puerto Jimenez airstrip 2 hours early and there is no terminal of any sort. You are left to stand with your bags in the hot sun! We walked through town with our luggage until we found someone who would let us take shelter! Flying into Carate means just a 20 minute hike to lodge, which we actually enjoyed with scarlet macaws overhead.
I wrote to them in early April and as of May 9, have only been told that they will (someday!) get back to me! We felt ripped off that most other guests flew into Carate and we had much more hassle getting there.
Again, this is a place you should choose only if your main interest is getting into the National Park. There's wildlife all over the penninsula and many real resorts if that's what you're looking for. We're used to backpacking and camping so the accomodations were not a problem for us, but we certainly didn't appreciate spending hours of our precious vacation time in unnecessary travel.
Their follow-up on customer service has been terrible, which is not a good reflection on the company.
Their motto is 'legendary service". I don't think so!

Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp

Address: 3 miles northeast from Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Corcovado National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 tents between the pounding surf and the living wall of the jungle. All the comforts of home, if home is a 10 sq. foot tent and you have to walk 20 yards to the bathroom. If you love truly remote wild and beautiful places, Corcovado is for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp Hotel Corcovado National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcovado Lodge Tent Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.