We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great food, won't go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lapa Rios

Lapa Rios
Osa Peninsula, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
506-2735-5130
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Description: Enjoy gourmet meals in the middle of a rainforest with a window to the wild at Lapa Rios Ecolodge. Since its beginning the multi-award winning resort offers gastronomical delights that greatly enhance the enjoyment of their guests. The lodge’s restaurant Brisa Azul specializes in freshly-cooked international cuisine infused with a hint of the tropics and offers breathtaking vistas and an experience of the rainforest.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great food, won't go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lapa Rios is the fanciest place we visited on the Osa. The food is delicious and the views are amazing, but it does not feel so welcoming to folks just dropping in for lunch. Staff was polite but a bit too clear that most of the area was off-limits to us as non-guests. We were also disappointed to see a variety of short-cuts being employed in what is supposedly an eco-resort (non-natural materials, unnecessary fossil fuel use, etc.) We're glad we dropped by for lunch but won't prioritize returning.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Caryn,

We are sorry that you did not have the best service experience at Lapa Rios. We do our best to thrive and to take care of all of our clients (registered guests, restaurant guests and staff and community members). We will review our procedures with our staff to make sure that everybody is attended with great service in the future. Regarding our sustainability practices, we would like to invite you to come back and take our "Twigs, Pigs and Garbage" tour. It is a tour that takes you to the "back of our house" where you can learn and see all that we do towards sustainability. We are also trying our best in this regard to make sure that we leave a minimal footprint behind us. Again, we are sorry you did not have a great experience and we hope you do change your mind and come do the tour with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Superb views, good food, slightly pricey but heh...it represents value when you think where you are on the planet.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

the fresh blackberry juice was delicious. the mood is a little bit stuffy, but the food was great

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Vermont
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner for ten”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a few meals at Lapa Rios but did not stay. We rented a home down the road on the beach. We were told that we might enjoy having a meal and we were warned that the prices were not typical for Costa Rica. So my wife and two young children decided to take a hike to the nearby falls and then have lunch at Lapa Rios. Great hike, great lunch with many choices in a beautiful location and really not too expensive at $68 with drinks for my wife and I. So with this positive experience we thought we would try out dinner with our friends and their kids, a group of 4 adults and 6 kids. We called to make reservations and were accomodated at a slightly earlier hour which was fine with the kids. The dinner menu is totally different than the lunch with only 3 entree choices and nothing geared for little people. Ok, no problem they could do some simple noodles and cheese for the three youngest kids and the rest of us picked from the 3 choices. There are no prices on the menu which didn't really worry us since there were no prices on the lunch menu and everything worked out great. We had a couple of beers and the kids had fruit smoothies. For whatever reason the food was less than inspired. Can't really figure out why the lunch menu is so much better. Anyway, the real shock and the reason for this review was the bill, it came in at $568 us dollars. Our first question, is there a mistake here? They gave us the noodles at a reduced rate which is a good thing since a regular plate is $45 and one of the menu choices is noodles with beans for $45. We had a total of 6 grown up drinks and the rest were fruit drinks. No wine or anything else that might boost a price. They were not remotely apologetic for the price and on a certain level condesending toward us for even questioning. It is totally our fault for not asking up front but you would think an establishment with any integrity would inform their guests what the costs might be before providing a service. It takes the eco snobbery to a new level. Casual diners beware!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestserviceLR, Manager at Lapa Rios, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Schemerhorn,
Thank you for your recent feedback on your meal at our lodge. While we were happy to hear that you had a great lunch experience and enjoyed the location, we are sorry to hear that dinner was not what you expected. That evening, the lodge was completely booked and we made a mistake in taking on such a big group as yours and therefore the food did not come out as we would have wished and you did not receive the value that you were looking for. We are a “meals included” Ecolodge and not that well equipped to receive diners that do not stay at the lodge. We learned our lesson. Please accept our apologies. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lapa Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapa Rios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.