We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote location = perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Leona Eco Lodge

Save Saved
You added La Leona Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Leona Eco Lodge
Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Remote location = perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved the La Leona lodge. Getting there is an adventure. It's about 45km drive from Puerto Jiminez to Carate and the road isn't great, we definitely needed our 4x4, wouldn't attempt it in a regular car. There are also fairly deep rivers to ford on the way. Then it's a 3km hike along the hot beach to La Leona.

We were greeted by dozens of Scarlet Macaws flying overhead and landing in trees near us. Amazing!

The staff at La Leona were lovely, and the chef was fantastic. Seriously, I would hire him if I owned a restaurant. He produced the best food I'd eaten in Costa Rica so far!

The tents are nice, we had an ocean view with a private bathroom. The tent does get extremely hot at night. I would recommend bringing more clothes than you think you will need, because you'll want to change quite a lot as it's so sticky. There are comfy hammocks on the grounds, and a path at the back of the property to explore.

The entrance to Corcovado is just along the beach. We did a 5 hour hike without a guide and saw absolutely loads. I wished we'd had more time (and clean clothes!) so we could've stayed longer and seen even more. One day I'd like to return, perhaps it isn't as hot at other times of year?!

All in all, fantastic remote place. No kids, hardly any people. Heaven.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
63
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

From Puerto Jimenez, hire an open truck to take you to Carate'. From Carate', hire a horse & buggy to the first Ranger Station, La Leona. There are three Ranger Stations, but this was our favorite! This is NOT for the faint-hearted! There are MANY wild animals everywhere, you can wake up to a monkey sitting right next to you trying to eat your toothpaste & brush his hair. We stayed for a week, everyday we would hike thru the jungle. I have NEVER seen so many animals in my life, and some of these animals I've never seen before! I saw a tiny, toy red monkey...he sat there watching me forever. We had 20 capuchin monkeys chasing us down the beach, they were mad at me because I took just one photo too much of them! Roberto took us to the Indian Burial Grounds, we didn't even know that we had arrived, he told us to sit, there we saw under the red-leafed plants were wooden crosses. Also, there was one grave that was cement, it was for the California family that had run their sailboat aground. The only survivor was a red-headed little boy, that has married an indian & speaks only spanish. Roberto took us to Stinky River, a sacred place the indians went for healing. National Geo was there on the trails filming mushrooms, they couldn't keep up with us. This place is incredible!!!! Wildlife everywhere!!! I was born & raised in the swamp, I've seen my fair-share of wildlife, however the Peninsula de Osa gets the #1 prize! The Ranger Station is basic & open to the elements/animals, it is in NO WAY accessible to handicap. We saw many serpents, & the Black Mamba is lethal, only for extreme adventurers! Most important: BRING THE BEST HIKING BOOTS AVAILABLE!!! Shoes bought down there won't last a mile on these roads!

Room Tip: Be patient & kind...they choose your room. Show up singing (like we did) & you'll get FI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived at La Leona after a hot hike along the beach, carrying all of our gear, on our second day of the trip. As promised, we were greeted with a cold, refreshing drink upon arrival. It was perfect. We were only able to squeeze in 2 nights here (3 would be better), but during that time we packed in a guided night walk, a 1/2 day Corcovado hike, and also explored the lodge's trail and beach. If there was ever a dull moment, a hammock was never far. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly, and the tents very appropriate for the location, as well as comfortable. It was a little "warm" at night without a fan, but it is an eco-lodge after all...in the jungle. A quick rinse in the sweet outdoor shower helps for cooling off, and the sounds of the surf are amazing to fall asleep to. If you are heading to Corcovado via Carate, La Leona is a perfect place to base your adventure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just returned from 11 days in Costa Rica and La Leona was definitely the highlight. We saw lots of wildlife, swam in the Pacific, and enjoyed surprisingly excellent food by Chef Paul. The people at La Leona were also great. One group was returning and jammed with Paulo after dinner. Very fun. The platform tents were very comfortable and the bathrooms excellent, especially the outdoor shower. The only thing I would change is providing a fan in the tents (no electricity); it did get hot at night. We would definitely return to La Leona!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Located within the forest, excellent food, nice atmosphere, great nature walks offered. .... and, by the way, Corcovado is the highlight for wildlife watching in Costa Rica.

If you head for Costa Rica, are interested in nature, incorporate this lodge into your travel plan with at least 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We hiked three days in the park and stayed at the Sirena ranger station for two nights. After a ten mile beach hike from Sirena, the frozen pineapple welcome drink was about the best tasting thing ever. The service is top notch and gracious, the food by Chef Paul was unusually diverse, delicious and well-presented, and the grounds are well-kept and attractive. The tents have awesome views of the ocean and are really nice-- they are far more substantial than that term implies. More impressive is that they have their own private baths-- really nice for a tent! One minor problem with our tent was the inabillty to completely seal the velcro tent "doors," which despite our best effort remained open at certain points. This made it possible for mosquitos to enter, though it was not a major problem when we were there. Overall a great experience, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We travelled around Costa Rica staying in various lodges but this was definitely the highlight of the trip. The accommodation was simple but very comfortable - a lovely outdoor 'coconut ' shower, private toilet, great beds. The view was stunning and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore was a fantastic backdrop to the hot and steamy nights. There was plenty of wildlife to be seen just by staying on the camp but the night walk and hike into the Corcovado National Park were special. As another reviewer says, the staff were brilliant - laid back and unfussy, but helpful and knowledgeable at the same time. The food was absolutely first class - like very very good home cooking without any pretentious fancy bits (and if you are lucky Paulo the chef will sing you song too!), and there was always plenty of it. The fact that meals were eaten family style, meant that here we met and became instant friends with some great folk - something that didn't really happen at any other place. We loved it and would like to be there right now. We even enjoyed the hot walk along the beach (glad the horse and cart took our bags though and that we were given umbrellas to shade us from the sun). We thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Some tents are higher up the hillside so you need to be up for a climb if you have one of those - ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Leona Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Leona Eco Lodge

Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the entrance of Corcovado National Park, on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica, nestled in the most beautiful, primary rainforest and surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Come and see for yourself what paradise looks like, and enjoy all the attention and accommodations of a lavish stay in the wild! Prepare yourself to embark on the journey of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Leona Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Leona Eco Hotel Corcovado National Park
La Leona Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Leona Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.